DIY Aquarium Touchscreen Controller - Page 5
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > DIY


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-10-2012, 11:07 AM   #61
Mike in MD
Algae Grower
 
Mike in MD's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 80
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by boxhead1990 View Post
that looks exactly like the one i bought and i can get it to do all those blink things and stuff in examples


i just have no idea why i cant get it to load programes like everyone else
i mean i shoulnt have so many issues getting this jarduino stuff to simply just work
Exactly, that is why I am leading towards the mainboard being bad or having other issues. You should have not had any issues loading any of the examples. I got the Jarduino sketch to load up my first try.
If you look at the upper left hand corner of my board, you will see "Made in Italy" This is the real Arduino board, anything else is a knockoff and you are taking a chance with it. I ordered my mainboard off of Amazon.com.

Edit: It could be a firmware issue also
__________________

65 Gallon Tall with Cascade 1000, Wet/Dry and Fluidized bed filter, 3 media reactors, CO2 with CarbonDoser EXT5000 reactor, DIY 36 LED light with Typhon controller. In the works..DIY Touchscreen Aquarium Controller
Mike in MD is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-10-2012, 11:20 AM   #62
boxhead1990
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: australia
Posts: 325
Default

yeah mine doesnt have made in itally on it its about the only diffwerance i can find with it


maybe it is a firmware issue how the hell do i change the firmware ????
boxhead1990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 11:23 AM   #63
Mike in MD
Algae Grower
 
Mike in MD's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 80
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by boxhead1990 View Post
yeah mine doesnt have made in itally on it its about the only diffwerance i can find with it


maybe it is a firmware issue how the hell do i change the firmware ????
You would have to check the manufactures website, and download it from there. As far as uploading it, I have no clue.....
__________________

65 Gallon Tall with Cascade 1000, Wet/Dry and Fluidized bed filter, 3 media reactors, CO2 with CarbonDoser EXT5000 reactor, DIY 36 LED light with Typhon controller. In the works..DIY Touchscreen Aquarium Controller
Mike in MD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 12:07 PM   #64
boxhead1990
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: australia
Posts: 325
Default

Il have a look into it tomorow see what i can turn up

Sent from my GT-S5830 using Tapatalk 2
boxhead1990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 01:20 PM   #65
mistergreen
No more Bow ties
 
mistergreen's Avatar
 
PTrader: (13/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 13,961
Default

Try loading a sample sketch to see if its a defective arduino.
mistergreen is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 01:26 PM   #66
boxhead1990
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: australia
Posts: 325
Default

it does load the blink and one of the screen test's which displays a blue box that moves across the screen
boxhead1990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 01:36 PM   #67
mistergreen
No more Bow ties
 
mistergreen's Avatar
 
PTrader: (13/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 13,961
Default

Here you go
http://arduino.cc/en/Hacking/DFUProgramming8U2
mistergreen is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 02:02 PM   #68
boxhead1990
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: australia
Posts: 325
Default

cheers
boxhead1990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 06:03 AM   #69
Drowki
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Hoboken, NJ
Posts: 260
Send a message via AIM to Drowki
Default

hey bud, my parts came in and I put the three pieces together. I followed the instructions for the Aquarium Controller. Now I am stuck, all I am getting is a white LCD screen. I tried various examples and they all do not work.

Anything I could be doing possibly wrong?
Drowki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 07:10 AM   #70
boxhead1990
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: australia
Posts: 325
Default

Above there's a link that you can try, it has a lot of usegfull info too

Sent from my MZ601 using Tapatalk 2
boxhead1990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 07:31 AM   #71
Mike in MD
Algae Grower
 
Mike in MD's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 80
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drowki View Post
hey bud, my parts came in and I put the three pieces together. I followed the instructions for the Aquarium Controller. Now I am stuck, all I am getting is a white LCD screen. I tried various examples and they all do not work.

Anything I could be doing possibly wrong?
What parts did you order? Depending on shield/lcd combo you need to make sure the sketch is modified for them. Ill be away from my computer today, ill try to post tonite what lines need modified.

Sent from my SGH-T679 using Tapatalk 2
__________________

65 Gallon Tall with Cascade 1000, Wet/Dry and Fluidized bed filter, 3 media reactors, CO2 with CarbonDoser EXT5000 reactor, DIY 36 LED light with Typhon controller. In the works..DIY Touchscreen Aquarium Controller
Mike in MD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 02:20 PM   #72
Drowki
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Hoboken, NJ
Posts: 260
Send a message via AIM to Drowki
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike in MD View Post
What parts did you order? Depending on shield/lcd combo you need to make sure the sketch is modified for them. Ill be away from my computer today, ill try to post tonite what lines need modified.

Sent from my SGH-T679 using Tapatalk 2

Hehheh the ones you told me:

Arduino Mega 2560 R3 (Amazon.com)
ITDB02 Arduino MEGA Shield
ITDB02-3.2S
Drowki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 04:03 PM   #73
Darkblade48
Moderator
 
Darkblade48's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 9,189
Default

I assume all the coding compiles fine?

If so, then it might be a hardware issue. Check to make sure you have everything plugged in, etc (the basics).

Some things to consider:

Is the sample code made for an older version of the Arduino coding software (i.e. 0023)?

Did you update your libraries?

If anything, I would check the sample code to see if it was made with an older version, and if it was, compile and upload to try that instead.
__________________
Anthony

A Primer to Pressurized CO2 and A Primer to Planted Tanks
Eheim Pimp #362 - Eheim 2213 x2, Eheim 2028, Eheim 2217, Eheim surface skimmer and Eheim autofeeder.
Victor Pimp #33 - HPT272-125-350-4M
Darkblade48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 10:14 AM   #74
Mike in MD
Algae Grower
 
Mike in MD's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 80
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drowki View Post
Hehheh the ones you told me:

Arduino Mega 2560 R3 (Amazon.com)
ITDB02 Arduino MEGA Shield
ITDB02-3.2S
Ooops I forgot LOL!!!!
Did you download and install Arduino 0023???
__________________

65 Gallon Tall with Cascade 1000, Wet/Dry and Fluidized bed filter, 3 media reactors, CO2 with CarbonDoser EXT5000 reactor, DIY 36 LED light with Typhon controller. In the works..DIY Touchscreen Aquarium Controller
Mike in MD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 01:29 PM   #75
mistergreen
No more Bow ties
 
mistergreen's Avatar
 
PTrader: (13/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 13,961
Default

Make sure to select the correct board in the arduino app under /tools/board
mistergreen is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012