CRS and TDS
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Shrimp & Other Invertebrates


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-24-2012, 02:12 AM   #1
Sherminator
Algae Grower
 
Sherminator's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Charlestown, MD
Posts: 104
Default

CRS and TDS


Whats too high of TDS for CRS? My tank is at 175 TDS with a PH of 6.4. I've been doing a weekly water change of about 3 gallons (in a 8 gallon tank) with RO water remineralized Fluvia Shrimp and some Azoo Vita and Mineral Plus, but my TDS levels haven't been changing with doing this.

My CRS seem to be doing ok...the large adult survivor I got in the spring (I killed off the other 9 Shrimp I got...oops) is doing well and I got another 10 CRS last month and they seem to be doing ok also from what I can tell...Am I worrying over nothing or should I change what I'm doing?
Sherminator is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-24-2012, 02:14 AM   #2
acitydweller
ओं मणिपद्मे हूं
 
acitydweller's Avatar
 
PTrader: (174/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 7,660
Default

anything above 200ppm tds would be high.

What are your other parameters? you should be testing for gh/kh as well as ph.
__________________
acitydweller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 02:17 AM   #3
Sherminator
Algae Grower
 
Sherminator's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Charlestown, MD
Posts: 104
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by acitydweller View Post
What are your other parameters? you should be testing for gh/kh as well as ph.
Haven't checked it lately, but I think the last time I did it was 4 gh...I was having a hell of a time finding a test set that would work.
Sherminator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 02:19 AM   #4
acitydweller
ओं मणिपद्मे हूं
 
acitydweller's Avatar
 
PTrader: (174/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 7,660
Default

kh?

these are actually the more important parameters for inverts.
__________________
acitydweller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 02:35 AM   #5
Sherminator
Algae Grower
 
Sherminator's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Charlestown, MD
Posts: 104
Default

Thought I had a kh tester....don't...I just ordered an Azoo one on Ebay...they where the only gh tester I got that actually worked for me.
Sherminator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 11:54 PM   #6
Sherminator
Algae Grower
 
Sherminator's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Charlestown, MD
Posts: 104
Default

Finally Got my KH tester from Ebay today....I got a KH reading of 1 or 2...it didn't really change color, but I tested water from another aquarium I got and it works ok.

My GH reading was 4....

The Shrimp I got seem to be doing fine, they are almost adult size after 3-4 weeks of having them and doing fine from what I can tell.
Sherminator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 12:04 AM   #7
ravensgate
Planted Tank Guru
 
ravensgate's Avatar
 
PTrader: (64/100%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 3,107
Default

Every time you are remineralizing your water you are adding TDS to it. Drop the amount of remineralizer down, test the TDS on the RO water before you put it in the tank. I'm also going to guess 'Mineral plus' is shooting your TDS up too but I've never used it. I've been trying to drop the GH/KH and TDS on a tank of mine so I've been doing .5 ml of Fluval Shrimp Minerals to one gallon of RO. Gives me a TDS of about 60 and a GH of 2 (KH 0). I've done 3-20% changes in the last week and a half and it's gotten my GH down to 7 from 10, KH down to 4 from 6, and TDS down from 180 to 147. I've added straight RO to the tank by 1 gallon (it's a 12 gallon tank) with no remineralizer to drop levels and all the shrimp have been fine and the levels come down of course faster by doing that. I wouldn't do large amounts like that personally, that's less than 10% of my water volume.
ravensgate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 01:39 AM   #8
plamski
Wannabe Guru
 
plamski's Avatar
 
PTrader: (59/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Boca Raton,FL
Posts: 1,063
Default

3 gal for 8gal tank is too much.1.5gal should be OK.What filtration?
You can buy slow water pump to do slow WC.They have it at anmazon for $15
plamski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 03:58 AM   #9
Lkittredge
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Carrollton/Lewisville TX
Posts: 78
Default

Not trying to thread jack, but what specifically would I need to search for on ebay for the slow water pump. Could not find it initially. Thanks
Lkittredge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 12:53 PM   #10
somewhatshocked
Obsessed? Maybe
 
somewhatshocked's Avatar
 
PTrader: (424/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 11,251
Default

There are all kinds of pumps you can use. Tom's Aqua Lifter is a good one, though slow.

Or you can get a submersible pump to attach tubing to.
somewhatshocked is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 02:07 PM   #11
plamski
Wannabe Guru
 
plamski's Avatar
 
PTrader: (59/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Boca Raton,FL
Posts: 1,063
Default

Exactly What I mean.You can try APT instruments too,but they cost $100+

Quote:
Originally Posted by somewhatshocked View Post
There are all kinds of pumps you can use. Tom's Aqua Lifter is a good one, though slow.

Or you can get a submersible pump to attach tubing to.
plamski is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012