help losing shimp
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Shrimp & Other Invertebrates


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-17-2012, 05:28 PM   #1
tunatime
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: LA
Posts: 104
Default

help losing shimp


Ok so i woke up to my tank having cludy water so bad ita harf to see though. If was clear last night when i did a wc and cleaned my pefilter to my canister. I tested the water and had 0 ammonia 0 nitrite nitrites 15. Even my octs died im down to a hand full rcs and the only thing not dying is my Malawa shrimp. I did a 75/wc and the water is still cludy. Wth casued the cludy water over night and what do i do? This is a 20g btw
tunatime is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-17-2012, 05:34 PM   #2
Soothing Shrimp
Planted Tank Guru
 
Soothing Shrimp's Avatar
 
PTrader: (131/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Illinois
Posts: 6,606
Default

Sounds like bacteria bloom. (?)

How new is the canister?
__________________
RAOK Club and BBRR Club! My thinking has been invert-ed!
Soothing Shrimp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 06:04 PM   #3
GeToChKn
Planted Tank Guru
 
GeToChKn's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,116
Default

A bacteria bloom shouldn't kill shrimp, it's simply a build up of excess of one of the two nitrifying bacteria and it will stabilize itself out. Doing huge water changes doesn't nothing for it and will only stress the shrimp more than letting the bacteria bloom ride itself it and correct itself.
__________________
20g platy, , 2 x 10g shrimp, 3 x 20g shrimp, 7.5g shrimp and 1 great dane/mastiff puppy.

Sump Pimp #2

My Tanks and my shrimps
GeToChKn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 06:58 PM   #4
tunatime
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: LA
Posts: 104
Default

The tank/filter has been up for about 5 months. Well some thing is killing stuff in my tank . And since i did the big wc today some shrimp are starting to swim around again. But some thing happened last night after i did a 25% wc every thing went to hell i uesed aged tap water whit prime like i allways do.
tunatime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 07:09 PM   #5
wicca27
Planted Tank Guru
 
wicca27's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Dewey
Posts: 4,811
Send a message via Yahoo to wicca27
Default

do you use a dechlor in your water? is it ro water? what temp was the new water and old water? could something you used to fill the tank had some kind of chemical/soap on it?
wicca27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 08:32 PM   #6
tunatime
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: LA
Posts: 104
Default

I ues prime and its tap water that i put in a 5gal buckt for a day and put some prime in it. The temp of the water was probly around 70ish and my tank is 73-75. I dont think any thing got in to the tank its the same buckt i ues every time. Another rcs died so im down to 3left now its only the rcs and my octos dyeing. I added an air stone to the tank to see if that helps i do npt have a tds meter or any thing could my water copeny have put something in my water? Should i go buy some jugs of water?
tunatime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 08:34 PM   #7
Soothing Shrimp
Planted Tank Guru
 
Soothing Shrimp's Avatar
 
PTrader: (131/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Illinois
Posts: 6,606
Default

RO never hurts, but you would have to remineralize it. Either way- tap or RO- a TDS meter is a very handy tool with shrimp.
__________________
RAOK Club and BBRR Club! My thinking has been invert-ed!
Soothing Shrimp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 04:42 AM   #8
tunatime
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: LA
Posts: 104
Default

does any one know of a good TDS meter that is cheepish?
tunatime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 05:50 AM   #9
shrimpzoo
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
shrimpzoo's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 698
Default

You might find one in a home improvement store :/

My GF managed to find a TDS meter for pretty much $11.26 CAD at http://www.homedepot.ca/product/inte...-tester/982504

Whereas, I got mine at a petstore (Big Al's) for like $54.99 CAD ugh...
shrimpzoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 07:34 AM   #10
sayurasem
SCAPEr
 
sayurasem's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Loma Linda, CA
Posts: 2,558
Default

eBay item number 270730169264
is what I use. Stylish too.
sayurasem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 08:01 AM   #11
FreedPenguin
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
FreedPenguin's Avatar
 
PTrader: (65/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 697
Default

Check for infection
__________________
OK copper, you got me!

RAOK Club #15
FreedPenguin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 08:04 AM   #12
tunatime
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: LA
Posts: 104
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FreedPenguin View Post
Check for infection
How?
tunatime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 09:10 AM   #13
acitydweller
ओं मणिपद्मे हूं
 
acitydweller's Avatar
 
PTrader: (174/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 7,686
Default

sounds like the water parameters are out of wack. what are your parameters... all of them...
__________________
"I am Groot", the faithful protector
acitydweller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2012, 04:51 AM   #14
tunatime
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: LA
Posts: 104
Default

wow so my tds meter came in and i checked my tank water and i have 295tds in it! i checked my tap water and i have 275 coming out the tap. im thinking my water company changed something as i have cloudy water coming out my tap to, and its ph is at over 8 when it used to be at 7ihs. so what is a good ro unit that wont cost and arm and a leg?
tunatime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2012, 04:59 AM   #15
Rob in Puyallup
Opae Ula Crazed.
 
Rob in Puyallup's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Puyallup, WA
Posts: 1,400
Default

Until you can get an RO unit you might want to buy either RO or distilled water from your grocer.

I live in an apt and can't plumb a unit in, so that's my only option.

Remineralizing either RO or distilled water will be necessary, though.

Sent from my Samsung Galaxy S III using Tapatalk 2
Rob in Puyallup is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012