Migration from Coralife to Finnex Ray II
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Lighting


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-18-2012, 12:11 AM   #1
ronaldvalente
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: NC
Posts: 241
Question

Migration from Coralife to Finnex Ray II


Currently I have this light on my 75G tank.
Coralife 48" Compact Flourescent

Is the migration to a Finnex Ray II a good upgrade with equivalent or better light?

Thanks!
ronaldvalente is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-18-2012, 12:16 AM   #2
ronaldvalente
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: NC
Posts: 241
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ronaldvalente View Post
Currently I have this light on my 75G tank.
Coralife 48" Compact Flourescent

Is the migration to a Finnex Ray II a good upgrade with equivalent or better light?

Thanks!
It is that light but with the 6700K bulbs on it.
ronaldvalente is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 12:56 AM   #3
ronaldvalente
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: NC
Posts: 241
Default

Based on the PAR charts posted on this forum...

Finnex Ray II is 70 PAR (at 20")

My PC is unknown... it is a 48" 4x 65.
I am guessing it is somewhere in the 40-60 PAR range (at 20")

Seems like trading the bulb replacements as well as reducing my wattage from 260 to 39 is a great savings. The new fixture would pay for itself in less than 1 year!

I would love to switch as long as it will support my plants.

Am I totally off base here?
ronaldvalente is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 01:14 AM   #4
Imi Statue
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Imi Statue's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Monroe WA
Posts: 369
Default

Is this the unit your intending to get?

http://www.finnex.net/index.php?page...hk=1&Itemid=61

If not post a link please for people to further investigate.
Imi Statue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 01:19 AM   #5
ronaldvalente
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: NC
Posts: 241
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Imi Statue View Post
Is this the unit your intending to get?

http://www.finnex.net/index.php?page...hk=1&Itemid=61

If not post a link please for people to further investigate.
Yep, I was planning on getting a 48" Dual 7,000K fixture.
ronaldvalente is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 01:45 AM   #6
Imi Statue
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Imi Statue's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Monroe WA
Posts: 369
Default

Ok
Looks pretty good and your upping the Par some also. So it boils down to what plants you have in the tank and are planning to get in the future.

Search for light levels here at TPT to find what your species would like, and if they will be good with the new light type, but I think you'll be good for most plants that don't require Extremely higher than normal lighting.

Plan around 6-8 hours on time to start then up to 10-12 after a few weeks giving plants time to adjust to brighter condition. Watch for algae growth throughout also since they seem to be attracted to "different" conditions.

Co2? Ferts?

Any Pics?
Imi Statue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 02:11 AM   #7
ronaldvalente
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: NC
Posts: 241
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Imi Statue View Post
Plan around 6-8 hours on time to start then up to 10-12 after a few weeks giving plants time to adjust to brighter condition. Watch for algae growth throughout also since they seem to be attracted to "different" conditions.
Yeah, sounds good, I just finished decreasing to 8 hours with 2x 65W PC because of BBA. I currently have no CO2 but will be adding early next week. I will be spot-dosing Excel and upping CO2 very slowly. This should hopefully help with the BBA.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Imi Statue View Post
Co2?
Adding an inline diffuser to one of my Eheim 2217 filters, 5 lb CO2 tank, planning on starting at 1 BPS.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Imi Statue View Post
Ferts?
Currently was only dosing with Flourish, apparently this was another piece of the puzzle I was missing. No macro, I will be adding an automated dosing system using an Aqua Lifter pump for macro.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Imi Statue View Post
Any Pics?
ronaldvalente is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 02:13 AM   #8
ronaldvalente
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: NC
Posts: 241
Default

The lights are off for the night but I will take some better shots with my DSLR tomorrow.
ronaldvalente is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 02:20 AM   #9
Imi Statue
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Imi Statue's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Monroe WA
Posts: 369
Default

I find using a stiff brush(small kitchen type) on the BBA helps to keep it under control somewhat. requires more work that way but if I keep the main stuff gone it just eventually does not come back. use green Brillo type pads on leaves to rid there.

Maybe some top cover plants? water sprite can help until BBA is gone, and it grows fast pretty easy to come by, someone here might even just give you some for shipping if you can't find it local.

Really nice setup! Hope it continues to do well.
Imi Statue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 02:24 AM   #10
ronaldvalente
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: NC
Posts: 241
Question

Thanks!

I want to add some tall background plants, thinking either Water Sprite or Cabomba.

I also wanted to add in either Eleocharis or a Micro Sword.

I might be re-arranging my hardscape to better suit the potential takeover of the grass.

---

One question on that, would the loaches get upset with a grass covering of the gravel?
ronaldvalente is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 02:34 AM   #11
Imi Statue
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Imi Statue's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Monroe WA
Posts: 369
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ronaldvalente View Post
Thanks!

I want to add some tall background plants, thinking either Water Sprite or Cabomba. Think about your temp of water? WS is fine for almost all temps but I have bad kharma with Cabomba and anything over 75. M.O.P.E.

I also wanted to add in either Eleocharis or a Micro Sword. why not both?

I might be re-arranging my hardscape to better suit the potential takeover of the grass.

---

One question on that, would the loaches get upset with a grass covering of the gravel?I see a Chinese Algae eater, what type of loaches are in there?
Hardscape looks fine unless you have something really different about it for your taste in mind.
Imi Statue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 02:36 AM   #12
ronaldvalente
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: NC
Posts: 241
Default

Complete List of Livestock
7x Clown Loachs
1x Chinese Algae Eater
3x Angelfish
2x Cardinal
1x Gold Bard
2x Corydoras
2x Gouramis
ronaldvalente is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 02:39 AM   #13
Imi Statue
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Imi Statue's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Monroe WA
Posts: 369
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ronaldvalente View Post
Complete List of Livestock
7x Clown Loachs
1x Chinese Algae Eater
3x Angelfish
2x Cardinal
1x Gold Bard
2x Corydoras
2x Gouramis
Won't make a diff with clown loaches, if something is really in their way they'll just uproot it with burrowing activities. especially when they get larger.(you do know they get over 8" TL right?)

but you could leave a little area of just gravel right in front to kinda draw them to that spot for sleep time. (let's you see them more often)
Imi Statue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 02:38 PM   #14
ronaldvalente
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: NC
Posts: 241
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Imi Statue View Post
Won't make a diff with clown loaches, if something is really in their way they'll just uproot it with burrowing activities. especially when they get larger.(you do know they get over 8" TL right?)
Yeah they are currently a solid 4-5" each right now. It is a very healthy tank, except for the plants.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Imi Statue View Post
but you could leave a little area of just gravel right in front to kinda draw them to that spot for sleep time. (let's you see them more often)
That is a GREAT idea! Thanks!

I am also looking at other light options as well. The Finnex Ray 2 Dual 7k is by far the cheapest option.
With the two below I would need a canopy or some way to hang it which wont fly in the living room.

- AquaRay GroBeam

- Kessil Amazon Sun A150W
ronaldvalente is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 03:52 PM   #15
Imi Statue
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Imi Statue's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Monroe WA
Posts: 369
Default

With the pendant type lighting I used to put a wood canopy ring (wood all the way around but no top) on the tank which kept the light from beaming into the living room except upward. Then I strung plants from a clay pot on top of the tank up across some wire to hide the line from light to ceiling. Pothos Var. worked well for their speedy growth and resiliency to the light/heat.

Your best bet so far is the first of the three choices, IMHO.
Imi Statue is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012