MTS vs Aquasoil
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Substrate


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-16-2012, 09:30 PM   #1
Trail_Mix
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 184
Default

MTS vs Aquasoil


Hi, I was wondering how MTS and Aquasoil compare, both in a planted tank, and in an emersed set-up. I honestly don't know much about MTS as I have never used it before, but I am very interested. What are the differences between the two? What are the pros and cons of each? What's your opinion from your experience? I know money is a factor for both, but that's not really what I'm asking about. Any input is much appreciated, thanks!
Trail_Mix is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-17-2012, 03:56 AM   #2
DogFish
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (33/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Gone
Posts: 5,990
Default

MTS vs. Aquasoil

The only PRO of Aquasoil I'll comment on is you can ode red it online from a dozen or so site and have it on your door step in a few days.

I have never used it so I'll stop there.

MTS - THAT I know about.

To the #1 reason to use it, in Nature plants grow in dirt.

You can "build" to suit your specific needs, it will last for years. You don't need to put any type of Root Caps in it. Just plant and enjoy. Natural dirt will have enzymes, micro nutrients, trace elements that you are just not going to find in a bag of anything from a factory. even if you are going to buy some from a dirt 'chef' it still should her less expensive. The best way of course is to make your own. That does require space to dry it. But , if you can find the space it really is easier than log-in to the get to this site.
DogFish is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-17-2012, 04:33 AM   #3
Crispino L Ramos
Planted Tank Guru
 
Crispino L Ramos's Avatar
 
PTrader: (456/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 2,460
Default

How does the MTS slurry stay at the bottom of the tank? I would think that the slurry consistency of the MTS would get stirred all over the tank because of the water current. If I cap the MTS with AquaSoil, would it remain at the bottom of the tank? I know I have to be careful not to disturb it when doing water changes. Does it easily get blown around or does it settle down easily?
__________________
Crispino L Ramos is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-17-2012, 05:04 AM   #4
junglefowl
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
junglefowl's Avatar
 
PTrader: (50/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 710
Default

I found this link really helpful to do MTS
http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...d.php?t=152027
junglefowl is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-17-2012, 05:10 AM   #5
DogFish
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (33/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Gone
Posts: 5,990
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crispino Labayen Ramos View Post
How does the MTS slurry stay at the bottom of the tank? I would think that the slurry consistency of the MTS would get stirred all over the tank because of the water current. If I cap the MTS with AquaSoil, would it remain at the bottom of the tank? I know I have to be careful not to disturb it when doing water changes. Does it easily get blown around or does it settle down easily?
Many of us use a 1-1.5" Sand Cap over 2-2.5" of MTS.

When planting or removing turn off all water movement equipment. Use tweezers to plant pulling the roots into the substrate. To remove slowly and gently wiggle the plant free.

I get very little MTS pulled into the tank like this. If left to settle before turning water movement devices, dirt will settle back through the sand to the bottom of the tank. Larger pc of Dirt of source can be syphoned out.
DogFish is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-17-2012, 08:39 AM   #6
Trail_Mix
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 184
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DogFish View Post
Many of us use a 1-1.5" Sand Cap over 2-2.5" of MTS.
Are there any particular types of sand or anything that you can use to top off the MTS, or just any sort of inert sand works?
Trail_Mix is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-17-2012, 09:19 AM   #7
In.a.Box
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (9/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New England
Posts: 1,116
Default

Here the pro on aquasoil.
No need for a cap. Thats all

Mts con.
Need a cap.
In.a.Box is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-17-2012, 12:26 PM   #8
DogFish
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (33/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Gone
Posts: 5,990
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trail_Mix View Post
Are there any particular types of sand or anything that you can use to top off the MTS, or just any sort of inert sand works?
If you read through this Sub-Forum it seems other members have had more problem with fine gravel Caps than Sand Caps.

Any inert sand will work. Most need a good rinse, some need more rinsing than others. Other than rinsing it's really a matter of color preference.

PFS - Pool Filter Sand is Snow white (Not NYC Snow white)
Play Sand - Yellow
Black Diamond Blasting grit - Black

This three are very uniform.

For a mist of fine sand and very small pebbles there's Sakrete All Purpose Sand also yellow.

I've used all but the PFS. They all work. Currently I'm using a mix of Play Sand and All-Purpose sand. I feel the really benefit is the very thin "seal" layer. the finest sand will settle on the top of the MTS(Dirt). I believe this holds the nutrients or slows down their movement up into the water column so the roots of the plants can get them. Also preventing over feeding of the water column that would stimulate Algae growth.

But, I can't prove that theory
DogFish is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-17-2012, 01:39 PM   #9
ChadRamsey
Wannabe Guru
 
ChadRamsey's Avatar
 
PTrader: (60/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Canton, Ga
Posts: 1,420
Default

i USED to have MTS in my big tank. I have AS now.

MTS: i found that the mts was a pain when removing and moving plants. it always puffed up dirt when doing so and then it would settle down on top of my cap and stay there. No matter how careful i was pulling up the stem.

I experienced an algae bloom with the mts, and fought SUPER HIGH nitrate levels from day one with the mts. Im talking: after sunday 50% WC the Nitrate would read 40 by the next sunday it was 100+. I cant say for certian the mts was the blame......BUT after i redid my tank with AS i no longer have that issue.

The upside. My plants grew like crazy!

The AS: Doesnt have to be capped. I love the looks of it. You can form mounds with it. Plants love it as well.

the downside. The initial ammonia spike. Although mine was only 1 week long and i had to do only 2 WC's. BUT the ammonia instantly starts the cycling proccess. Thats a bonus.

I LOVE AS!
__________________


There are 2 types of people on this forum. Those that have algae, and those that lie and say they don't.
ChadRamsey is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-17-2012, 09:25 PM   #10
Trail_Mix
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 184
Default

What about a thin layer of MTS capped with a thin layer of aqua soil lol?
Trail_Mix is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-18-2012, 02:02 PM   #11
ChadRamsey
Wannabe Guru
 
ChadRamsey's Avatar
 
PTrader: (60/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Canton, Ga
Posts: 1,420
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trail_Mix View Post
What about a thin layer of MTS capped with a thin layer of aqua soil lol?

i dont think that there is a need to do that. One or the other would be fine.
__________________


There are 2 types of people on this forum. Those that have algae, and those that lie and say they don't.
ChadRamsey is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-18-2012, 05:26 PM   #12
Trail_Mix
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 184
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChadRamsey View Post
i dont think that there is a need to do that. One or the other would be fine.
I guess my thinking was I might procure some MTS from someone I know who has some left, but not quite enough for my purposes, and I have some old aquasoil in an empty tank that I could use as well. The tank had only been up for about a month or two before it was taken down, but I left the aquasoil there, took everything else out. You think it'd be okay to use this year-old aquasoil?
Trail_Mix is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-18-2012, 06:43 PM   #13
Tom Barr
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: California
Posts: 39
Default

Cost is the main trade off.

I will correct some folks : aqua soil is in fact dirt, soil and the same stuff you would fine in a rice paddy.........nice clay loam, it's been slightly processed(MTS is for that matter when we process it for use)

From there if you uproot and rescape and do not like layers mixing together, well.............or do not like caps of sand.........then ADA AS is the clear winner.

I do not think the plants care, but for use and for the look and mistakes we make, ADA AS is likely a better choice, but it's not that cheap either, but....over the time frame, say 8 years on my 180 gal...........

It's still doing very nice and I keep using it.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V3VNwfNtNA0
Tom Barr is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-18-2012, 07:55 PM   #14
KH2PO4
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: N/A
Posts: 318
Default

Didn't you start the tank in early 2008 or late 2007 at best?
http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...ad.php?t=59705
So it's about 5 years old, not 8. Impressive service life nonetheless.
KH2PO4 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-19-2012, 02:16 AM   #15
Trail_Mix
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 184
Thumbs down

Quote:
Originally Posted by KH2PO4 View Post
Didn't you start the tank in early 2008 or late 2007 at best?
http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...ad.php?t=59705
So it's about 5 years old, not 8. Impressive service life nonetheless.

Dude it's 2016, catch up with the times, jeez!

On a serious note, anyone have experience with humus, humic/fluvic acids, or EHS? I know all this is unecessary and expensive, and that I should probably just go with aquasoil, or MTS and stick with that, but I just like toying around with these ideas in my head, as I'm sure many of you do as well. And it doesn't help that I have a few empty tanks lying around lol....
Trail_Mix is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012