Eco-Complete or ADA Aquasoil? - Page 4
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Substrate


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-29-2012, 12:35 PM   #46
whiptail
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Fond du Lac, WI
Posts: 19
Default

Yes I dose. I tryed increasing the dose, just got more algae so I cut back. Hair grass seems to do fine.
Sorry for the delay, something came up I had to leave town for awhile.
whiptail is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-29-2012, 02:40 PM   #47
alkatraz
Algae Grower
 
alkatraz's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 114
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by whiptail View Post
I changed from plain gravel to Eco-Complete in my 75gal about 3months ago. The plants still do not grow like they did with plain gravel and one bag of florite. The pics show what the plants look like. It seems like they are lacking in something, but I haven't been able to figure out what.
Are those pinholes? Could be potassium deficiency?
http://www.aquariumslife.com/aquasca...ts-deficiency/


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
__________________
Current Tank: ADA 120P Iwagumi
[Buildup Questions 120P Lighting? | 120P Filter?] | 120P Hardscape?
Previous Tank: 7.9g Fluval Flora
alkatraz is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-02-2012, 03:47 PM   #48
whiptail
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Fond du Lac, WI
Posts: 19
Default

Yes they are pin holes. I have tried adding Flourish Potassium with my regular doseing. As you can see it didn't make any difference. Here is a better pic of them.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	001small.jpg
Views:	30
Size:	98.7 KB
ID:	56289  

whiptail is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-05-2012, 02:00 AM   #49
Option
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (13/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 792
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wheatiesl337 View Post
That's a lot of money for dirt.
LOL....yeah, that was pretty much my conclusion before even completely reading this thread.
Option is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-05-2012, 05:43 AM   #50
Green_Flash
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (7/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 1,667
Default

I purchased aquasoil for the 1st time 3 months ago and will never use another substrate.
Green_Flash is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-05-2012, 08:39 AM   #51
acitydweller
ओं मणिपद्मे हूं
 
acitydweller's Avatar
 
PTrader: (171/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 7,568
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by whiptail View Post
I changed from plain gravel to Eco-Complete in my 75gal about 3months ago. The plants still do not grow like they did with plain gravel and one bag of florite. The pics show what the plants look like. It seems like they are lacking in something, but I haven't been able to figure out what.
How heavy was the tank stocked with fish? How mature was the tank with Eco? What sort of lighting fo you have in the tank? Co2 injection? Seems like there was a problem regardless of substrate.
__________________
The Aquatic Plant Society Curator of the NY/NJ/CT LFS & CO2 Directory
Namaste ओं मणिपद्मे हूं

Last edited by acitydweller; 11-05-2012 at 09:02 AM.. Reason: Lsodjnehfimrifiwkmmd
acitydweller is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-10-2012, 07:30 PM   #52
aznrice247
The Great Poobah
 
aznrice247's Avatar
 
PTrader: (29/97%)
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: NY
Posts: 636
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Couesfanatic View Post
+1. Order both regular and powder for that tank size. Throw throw powder on top.
I heard its better to put some of the power on the bottom and then put the regular in the middle then put the rest on the top. I'll prolong the lifespan of the substrate.
aznrice247 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-13-2012, 05:50 PM   #53
exv152
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
exv152's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 949
Default

Aside from low nutrients, pinholes are also caused by co2 deficiencies, or snails.
__________________
Eheim Pimp Club,# 496
25g iwagumi
125g high tech
exv152 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-16-2012, 07:28 PM   #54
whiptail
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Fond du Lac, WI
Posts: 19
Default

Snails are not the problem, I have some, but not many. There are 15 tetras and 3 bristlenose. The tank was running about 10 years before I changed the substrate. That was about 4 months ago now. I am going to try turning the co2 up as exv152 suggested. I have a drop checker but I could never get it to read correctly. I think it might be all the wood. Anyway I'll let you know if it works.
Thanks for the help.
whiptail is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-16-2012, 08:15 PM   #55
monty67
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NE
Posts: 164
Default

Really like the way Eco Complete works, hated the way it really did nothing for my tank and actually seemed to set it back.
monty67 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-29-2012, 12:43 AM   #56
whiptail
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Fond du Lac, WI
Posts: 19
Default

Thanks exv152 I increased the co2 and things are starting to look better now. Hopefully that will do it.
whiptail is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012