Atomic CO2 Regulator V3 from GLA - any good?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Equipment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-15-2012, 12:50 AM   #1
Bubba_Shrimp
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Bubba_Shrimp's Avatar
 
PTrader: (26/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 426
Default

Atomic CO2 Regulator V3 from GLA - any good?


Size vise it will be a perfect fit for me. I am thinking about coupling it with inline Atomic diffuser.

Any experience with Atomic CO2 Regulator V3 ?


Thanks
Bubba_Shrimp is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-15-2012, 03:29 AM   #2
karatekid14
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
karatekid14's Avatar
 
PTrader: (11/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: OR
Posts: 836
Default

well so far I like it but it doesn't work with the atomic diffuser. I'm going to try cleaning mine and see if that makes a difference. It can make very fine adjustments.
__________________
karatekid14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 03:32 AM   #3
Bubba_Shrimp
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Bubba_Shrimp's Avatar
 
PTrader: (26/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 426
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by karatekid14 View Post
well so far I like it but it doesn't work with the atomic diffuser. I'm going to try cleaning mine and see if that makes a difference. It can make very fine adjustments.
What do you mean it doesn't work with atomic diffuser?
What diffuser do you have - inline or in tank?
Did you provide 30psi for it (GLA inline diffuser requires 30psi).

Please provide more info.
Bubba_Shrimp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 05:20 AM   #4
msawdey
Wannabe Guru
 
msawdey's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 1,007
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by karatekid14 View Post
well so far I like it but it doesn't work with the atomic diffuser. I'm going to try cleaning mine and see if that makes a difference. It can make very fine adjustments.
This definitely is not true. Im not sure what is wrong with your's but i have mine set up on the atomic diffuser inline with one of my eheim eccos. Been running strong for about 6 months now with no issues
__________________
msawdey
-Just another day in paradise-
msawdey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 02:31 PM   #5
Bubba_Shrimp
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Bubba_Shrimp's Avatar
 
PTrader: (26/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 426
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by msawdey View Post
This definitely is not true. Im not sure what is wrong with your's but i have mine set up on the atomic diffuser inline with one of my eheim eccos. Been running strong for about 6 months now with no issues
Do you turn off CO2 at night? I found some (old kind of) reports that folks had issues next day after night shut off with presure dropping and the rate of drops in bubble counter was going down. I suspect not enough pressure from the regulator to support atomizers (30 psi?). No reports on which regulator was used, so I also suspect not Atomic one...

Thanks
Bubba_Shrimp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 01:33 AM   #6
toastedtoast
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 90
Default

Mine works fine with their inline diffuser. So far my only complaint is that the single gauge is for working pressure rather then tank pressure. Working pressure is preset and not adjustable (so knowing it is useless) and it would be nice to see when the tank was about to run out.
toastedtoast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 01:54 AM   #7
Bubba_Shrimp
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Bubba_Shrimp's Avatar
 
PTrader: (26/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 426
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by toastedtoast View Post
Mine works fine with their inline diffuser. So far my only complaint is that the single gauge is for working pressure rather then tank pressure. Working pressure is preset and not adjustable (so knowing it is useless) and it would be nice to see when the tank was about to run out.
Good to know, thanks!
Bubba_Shrimp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 01:58 AM   #8
StrungOut
plantedtank fiend
 
StrungOut's Avatar
 
PTrader: (51/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: California
Posts: 1,044
Send a message via Yahoo to StrungOut
Default

I think this regulator is great. Fixed pressure like stated above is the only drawback besides no bubble counter. Size is nice, it'll power a atomic diffuser just fine, and no end of tank dump(I believe). Mounts with just the twist of your hand, I had to use permaseal ring because of my co2 cylinder though. Fine turn needle valve with very little adjustment in turning
Picture for those who want to see it:

__________________
Half genius, half retard


My Farm Tank
http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...009&highlight=
StrungOut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 02:21 AM   #9
Bubba_Shrimp
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Bubba_Shrimp's Avatar
 
PTrader: (26/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 426
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by StrungOut View Post
I think this regulator is great. Fixed pressure like stated above is the only drawback besides no bubble counter. Size is nice, it'll power a atomic diffuser just fine, and no end of tank dump(I believe). Mounts with just the twist of your hand, I had to use permaseal ring because of my co2 cylinder though. Fine turn needle valve with very little adjustment in turning
Picture for those who want to see it:

What kind of tubing is that (black)?
Bubba_Shrimp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 02:35 AM   #10
StrungOut
plantedtank fiend
 
StrungOut's Avatar
 
PTrader: (51/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: California
Posts: 1,044
Send a message via Yahoo to StrungOut
Default

Co2 proof tubing from lfs. I dont recommend the tubing gla provides. Yup its black
StrungOut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 02:43 AM   #11
Bubba_Shrimp
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Bubba_Shrimp's Avatar
 
PTrader: (26/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 426
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by StrungOut View Post
Co2 proof tubing from lfs. I dont recommend the tubing gla provides. Yup its black
Looks like some sort if irrigation tubing... Is it less flexible than regular CO2 clear tubing?
Bubba_Shrimp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012