cycled filter left for a few days.
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Fertilizers and Water Parameters


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-25-2012, 05:46 PM   #1
accordztech
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,797
Default

cycled filter left for a few days.


I had my tank setup with this 2217 eheim filter. I went to setup a new tank and transfered this to it. I had to get another tank because of a defect. But I just let the filter sit there. After a few days I opened it up and it had a slight smell. It wasnt bad. Just smelt like a towel that hasnt been cleaned after it was wet.

So I shoved a air pump in it for the last few days.

Is this safe for my new setup? Or will the bad bacteria just kill anything in my tank?
__________________
accordztech is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-25-2012, 05:51 PM   #2
rodcuda
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
rodcuda's Avatar
 
PTrader: (14/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 843
Default

It is hard to say how bad your bb got hit. I would just clean it before using it. I'm not saying to nuke it or anything, just clean it to remove any nasty water or dead bacteria. I bet it will bounce back and there will be a small cycle.
__________________
Rod
rodcuda is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-25-2012, 06:42 PM   #3
GeToChKn
Planted Tank Guru
 
GeToChKn's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,116
Default

I've left one sit for a day or two and didn't seem to have a problem. I think at some point, bacteria dies, that gives the other bacteria food to live on and reproduce and gives them some life. lol. They can be more resilient than people give them credit for. I know a few people on turtle forums that have a 150gal stock tub with like 3-4 canisters on it that drain the tub and clean and the filters with a hose with tap water and never have a problem with a cycle. Everyone's mileage will vary of course.
__________________
20g platy, , 2 x 10g shrimp, 3 x 20g shrimp, 7.5g shrimp and 1 great dane/mastiff puppy.

Sump Pimp #2

My Tanks and my shrimps
GeToChKn is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-25-2012, 07:12 PM   #4
EnigmaticGuppy92
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
EnigmaticGuppy92's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: England
Posts: 532
Default

it shud b ok but as mentioned expect a mini cycle
__________________
40 gallon dirt tank
5 Gallon planted bonsai dirt tank
1 Bearded Dragon ''Spyro''
Normal Leopard Gecko ''Shadow''
Super hypo tangerine baldy carrot tail leopard gecko ''Moon''
2 whites tree frogs ''Ying and Yang''
1 Royal Python ''Neptune''
1 Veiled Chameleon '' Yoshi''
EnigmaticGuppy92 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-26-2012, 01:17 AM   #5
accordztech
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,797
Default

Oh that's good.

So its not bacteria that will wipe my tank out?
__________________
accordztech is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-23-2012, 06:21 AM   #6
accordztech
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,797
Default

well...it seems that my good bacteria is gone. I had my tank running with ADA soil for over a week, still have ammona, no nitrates, and no nitries. The ada soil was used.

Oddly my ph is still at 7.6.

Maybe ill get some biospira or something.
__________________
accordztech is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-24-2012, 04:24 AM   #7
Diana
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Contra Costa CA
Posts: 7,988
Default

Biospira is not available for fresh water tanks any more.
Look for Nitrospira in the ingredients. Several products have the right species of bacteria.

Dr. Tim's One and Only
Tetra Safe Start
Microbe Lift's Nite Out II

and perhaps some others.
Diana is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-12-2012, 08:13 AM   #8
accordztech
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,797
Default

Well diana, im going to try your suggustions. Hopefully I can find some near by.

My tank is STILL not cycling. ammonia is still at .50 and no nitrates or nitries. I even put a HUGE sponge filter from my other tank and risked snail transfering to help it cycle...and STILL NOTHING.

I thought this ADA stuff is loaded with ammonia.
__________________
accordztech is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-13-2012, 12:55 AM   #9
Diana
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Contra Costa CA
Posts: 7,988
Default

Most ADA products do indeed add a lot of ammonia to the water.
Even a heavily planted tank cannot keep up with the ADA soils.

That the ammonia is only showing .5 ppm suggests that perhaps the test kit is not accurate.

However, even .5 ppm ammonia is enough to be feeding the bacteria, and I would expect to see some nitrite in just a few days to a week. Nitrate in about 2 weeks.

If neither nitrite nor nitrate are showing up, then there is something wrong.

These bacteria thrive under these conditions:

High oxygen (that is what kills them in a shut-off canister- no oxygen)
Some carbonate. KH at least 3 German degrees of hardness. (ADA substrates are known to remove the KH from the water)
No toxins like fish meds, H2O2, chlorine, chloramine...
Ammonia and nitrite not higher than 5 ppm.
Diana is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-13-2012, 06:28 AM   #10
accordztech
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,797
Default

Yeah I used giggle at people who cant cycle tanks because I cycled my tanks easilly. But now im pissed cause nothing is happening. I use the API drop test kit, and I even took it to the LFS and they used those innacurate strips to confirm my results.

Its been almost a month and im still stuck at square 1. I threw some shrimp in there...only 1 died that I can see. If I have time tomorrow im going to do a 50/50 swap of my bio media from my other tank.
__________________
accordztech is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-13-2012, 07:30 PM   #11
Diana
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Contra Costa CA
Posts: 7,988
Default

I have cycled quite a few tanks by sharing media. Do not take so much that the established tank has any problems.
I have taken as much as 25% of the media from the filter of an established tank. Remember that there are bacteria on all the surfaces in the tank as well as the filter, so that 25% of the filter media might really only be about 1/8 of the bacteria population. That seems to work out OK. The remaining bacteria catch up really quick.
Diana is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-14-2012, 05:05 AM   #12
accordztech
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,797
Default

I confirmed that my test kit works by testing my other tank thats cycled.

and I have had a spong filter in there for 2 weeks from my other tank


Could it just be that the plants are absorbing everything?
__________________
accordztech is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-14-2012, 11:21 PM   #13
Diana
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Contra Costa CA
Posts: 7,988
Default

That sure can happen. If so, then the tank is cycled!
Bio filter can be plants, nitrifying bacteria or both.
Diana is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012