Bubble counter and check valve question
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Equipment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-10-2012, 05:11 AM   #1
yoshi3k
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 10
Default

Bubble counter and check valve question


I just set up my co2 system and ordered a regulator, metering valve, and bubble counter/check valve. The check valve/bubble counter seems to need a lot of pressure to push a bubble through, is this normal for this type of set up?

Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByTapatalk1352527853.684733.jpg
Views:	107
Size:	44.2 KB
ID:	56846
yoshi3k is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-10-2012, 06:02 AM   #2
Bettatail
Planted Tank Guru
 
Bettatail's Avatar
 
PTrader: (82/98%)
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 2,242
Default

what is "a lot of pressure"?

and make sure there is no leak on the connections.
Bettatail is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-10-2012, 02:37 PM   #3
yoshi3k
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 10
Default

I have my regulator set to 20 psi then fine tune it with my metering valve. If it was any less than 20 psi no bubble would go through even if the metering valve is all the way open. When I adjust the metering valve it takes about a minutes for the built up pressure between metering valve and bubble counter to show a change. I checked for leaks and there were none.
yoshi3k is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-11-2012, 04:25 AM   #4
inkslinger
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Taunton ,MA
Posts: 1,694
Default

I've had mine set as low as 10psi to as high as 45psi over the years with no problems , But would not trust that check valve that's built in , I have a check valve before and after my bubble counter just to be safe.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_0003.jpg
Views:	33
Size:	43.4 KB
ID:	56889  

inkslinger is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-11-2012, 07:12 AM   #5
Bettatail
Planted Tank Guru
 
Bettatail's Avatar
 
PTrader: (82/98%)
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 2,242
Default

what diffuser you use? the back pressure may be at around 20psi, see it you can up the regulator output pressure.
some regulators are 15 psi max output with 30psi LP gauge reading, you can only use these systems with regular ceramic diffusers or co2 reactors, can't use with atomizer type diffuser because the atomizer diffuser back pressure is around 25psi(when bubbling) and initial cracking pressure is around 30psi.
Bettatail is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-11-2012, 05:40 PM   #6
yoshi3k
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 10
Default

The regulator I am using is Taprite Dual Guage T742HP-02. I am using a co2 reactor I made
yoshi3k is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-12-2012, 08:43 PM   #7
jan db
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 137
Default

What size PVC did you use for that reactor?
jan db is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-12-2012, 09:24 PM   #8
yoshi3k
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 10
Default

It's actually acrylic pipe and I think it was 1 1/4" and about 10" long
yoshi3k is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-14-2012, 04:16 AM   #9
inkslinger
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Taunton ,MA
Posts: 1,694
Default

How big is your tank? You could try 2" or 3" x 12" or even a 24" and enter from top and exit the bottom.
inkslinger is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-14-2012, 05:06 AM   #10
yoshi3k
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 10
Default

It's only a 20 gallon with a fluval 206. I am going to be setting up a 90 gallon I got in the next couple of months. With the set up I have now when I turn on the pump I have a hard time getting the reactor to fill up with water even with a bleeder line at the top. The reactor is directly above the filter intake. With a 2" or 3" diameter will it be harder to fill? Is there an way around this?
yoshi3k is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-14-2012, 07:34 PM   #11
herns
Planted Tank Guru
 
herns's Avatar
 
PTrader: (216/100%)
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,827
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yoshi3k View Post
I just set up my co2 system and ordered a regulator, metering valve, and bubble counter/check valve. The check valve/bubble counter seems to need a lot of pressure to push a bubble through, is this normal for this type of set up?

Attachment 56846
Your Parker seems to be connected to a PVC tubing. This maybe the cause of less pressure.
herns is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-15-2012, 04:26 AM   #12
inkslinger
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Taunton ,MA
Posts: 1,694
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yoshi3k View Post
It's only a 20 gallon with a fluval 206. I am going to be setting up a 90 gallon I got in the next couple of months. With the set up I have now when I turn on the pump I have a hard time getting the reactor to fill up with water even with a bleeder line at the top. The reactor is directly above the filter intake. With a 2" or 3" diameter will it be harder to fill? Is there an way around this?
A 2" x 12" should work for you but need to be at return back to the tank not at the intake , and it flows in at the top of the reactor and out the bottom to the tank. I've use a 2x12 with a mag 5 but I added mini bio balls to break up the flow and co2 and it always stayed full for my 55g tank only draw back you lose a little bit of flow with the bio balls inside. And like Herns said you might need co2 hose line .
inkslinger is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-15-2012, 05:21 AM   #13
FlyingHellFish
Wannabe Guru
 
FlyingHellFish's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,663
Default

Try it without the elbow connector. Have it straight, just try it.
FlyingHellFish is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012