Eco-Complete just came in the mail....
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Substrate


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-14-2012, 02:26 AM   #1
Option
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (13/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 792
Default

Eco-Complete just came in the mail....


I've been pretty loyal to Flourite black prior to this. This will be the first time I experiment with this particular substrate. Anyway, my gigantic 40 pounds of Eco-Complete just arrived in the mail....the package says no need to rinse this stuff before using it. I wanted to see what all the EC users usually do with this stuff before adding it: so rinse or no rinse??
Option is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-14-2012, 02:47 AM   #2
thebuddha
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
thebuddha's Avatar
 
PTrader: (25/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: NW Indiana
Posts: 618
Default

i didnt rinse mine, no ill effects.
thebuddha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 02:55 AM   #3
BenderBendingRodriguez
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: AL, Alabama
Posts: 177
Default

I didn't rinse mine and it did fine. There was some slight haziness but it cleared up in a day or two. If you ever need any more I have 40 extra lbs that I don't need anymore.
BenderBendingRodriguez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 03:06 AM   #4
rowrunner
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Mobile Alabama
Posts: 108
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BenderBendingRodriguez View Post
I didn't rinse mine and it did fine. There was some slight haziness but it cleared up in a day or two. If you ever need any more I have 40 extra lbs that I don't need anymore.
Hey Bender, by your name I'm thinking we are pretty close. I could use the EC as I'm about to start another tank.
__________________
Tank 30g Long
Lights 36in Coralife T5 2 21 watt 6700K/Colormax
Filter AquaClear 50
Substrate Gravel
Ferts Florish

First tank journal
http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...d.php?t=184548
rowrunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 03:22 AM   #5
bennyjam
Planted Member
 
bennyjam's Avatar
 
PTrader: (7/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Boston, Massachusetts
Posts: 213
Default

I have 40 lbs of eco complete in my tank as well. Did not rinse per instructions. Tank was/is fine. If u rinse it you're rinsing out the nutrients and beneficial bacteria that makes EC different than plain gravel.
bennyjam is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 03:35 AM   #6
Andrew H
Planted Member
 
Andrew H's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Tucson
Posts: 150
Default

80lbs in my 55 and no problems.
Andrew H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 05:21 AM   #7
Sethjohnson30
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Portland oregon
Posts: 1,077
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bennyjam View Post
I have 40 lbs of eco complete in my tank as well. Did not rinse per instructions. Tank was/is fine. If u rinse it you're rinsing out the nutrients and beneficial bacteria that makes EC different than plain gravel.
Eco complete does not have nutrients it's mainly lava rock. What makes it different from regular gravel is the fact that it's inert, which means it has the ability to absorb nutrients.

I have 80lbs in my 72 no rinsing, it was fine. However I do suggest using root tabs with ec
Sethjohnson30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012