54W T5*2 for a 300L (80 us G, 65 uk G) low tech aquarium
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > Low Tech Forum


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-13-2012, 07:41 AM   #1
nirc2
Newbie
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: earth
Posts: 3
Default

54W T5*2 for a 300L (80 us G, 65 uk G) low tech aquarium


hello

i bought the rio 300 of juwel last week, and i noticed it comes with two 54W T5.

WPG makes it only about 1.35, while i saw online that for low tech planted aquariums i need at least 1.5~2 WPG.

some places online say that the WPG rule does not apply to T5, and that 108W would be enough for a 80G tank, and some places say the opposite.

im confused
nirc2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-13-2012, 12:11 PM   #2
PaulG
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: England
Posts: 355
Default

Ignore WPG completely.

At 50cm depth I'd say it may be slightly too high for a low tech. If I had that amount of light I'd be thinking about raising it 80-90cm above the substrate.
__________________
Fraternity of dirt no. 60.

Got a tank? Doing it filterless? Add it here!

http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...d.php?t=221729
PaulG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 02:13 AM   #3
Hoppy
Planted Tank Guru
 
Hoppy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (74/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 18,658
Default

Everything with T5 lights depends on the ballast and reflectors. There are some very low powered ballasts used on T5HO lights, and some very poor reflectors used on them too. But, there are also many very good ballasts, full powered, and very good reflectors. Can you take a photo of the reflector/bulb area of the light and let us see what we think of it? That won't tell us if the ballast is good or not, but it at least removes one of the unknowns.
__________________
Hoppy
Hoppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 07:33 AM   #4
nirc2
Newbie
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: earth
Posts: 3
Default

well,
i would love to take a photo of it, but im still waiting for it to arrive from germany...

the aquarium is rio 300 by juwel, i guess you've heard about those already

--
i called the store yesterday and asked them about that issue.
they told me that my aquarium has 4*54W and not 2*54W, and that juwel doesnt make 2*54W hoods anymore.
this is kinda weird because both me and my wife can swear that they told us 2*54W when we ordered it last week...
we'll go there on saturday and check it out ourselves.
nirc2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 05:57 PM   #5
discusplantedtanklover
Algae Grower
 
discusplantedtanklover's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: calgary, alberta
Posts: 30
Default

Hey, check out this website to see it can help you out http://www.theaquatools.com/aquasketcher
discusplantedtanklover is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012