Eco-Complete and sand
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Substrate


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-01-2012, 02:44 AM   #1
JerSaint
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
JerSaint's Avatar
 
PTrader: (9/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Mystic, CT
Posts: 497
Default

Eco-Complete and sand


Hi All, I am starting up a 36 Gallon tank. I have 2 twenty pound bags of eco-complete and 15lbs of petco black sand. Has anyone worked with this combo before? Will the addition of the sand give enough weight to hold down stemmed plants? THANKS!
JerSaint is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-01-2012, 02:50 AM   #2
Diana
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Contra Costa CA
Posts: 7,986
Default

IME EC is very similar to sand, and a mix ought to work just fine. Maybe it was just the bags I got, but I would have a hard time telling sand apart from EC.
Diana is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-01-2012, 02:55 AM   #3
somewhatshocked
Obsessed? Maybe
 
somewhatshocked's Avatar
 
PTrader: (438/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 11,519
Default

Eco-Complete is much larger than than sand, so all the sand will sink to the bottom.
somewhatshocked is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-01-2012, 06:28 PM   #4
JerSaint
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
JerSaint's Avatar
 
PTrader: (9/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Mystic, CT
Posts: 497
Default

I was thinking of mixing in a bit of the sand with the eco-complete, but mostly using the sand as a cap. I have heard that the ec is somewhat difficult to work with for stems. Will the sand cap help?
JerSaint is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-01-2012, 06:42 PM   #5
Andrew H
Planted Member
 
Andrew H's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Tucson
Posts: 150
Default

I didn't have issues with stemmed plants in Eco complete. Like any other substrate you just need to have depth to hold the plant in place.
Andrew H is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-01-2012, 09:17 PM   #6
Gooberfish
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Gooberfish's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 321
Send a message via AIM to Gooberfish
Default

I use EC and cap it with black sand. It works great as long as you don't move stuff around a lot. I say go for it.
Gooberfish is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-02-2012, 02:48 AM   #7
AirstoND
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,456
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by somewhatshocked View Post
Eco-Complete is much larger than than sand, so all the sand will sink to the bottom.
+1, Also more pronounced if you have high current, trmpet snails and cories
AirstoND is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-02-2012, 03:03 AM   #8
AoxomoxoA
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
AoxomoxoA's Avatar
 
PTrader: (17/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Conneaut, Ohio
Posts: 873
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gooberfish View Post
I use EC and cap it with black sand. It works great as long as you don't move stuff around a lot. I say go for it.
"as long as you don't move stuff" at all

Quote:
Originally Posted by somewhatshocked View Post
Eco-Complete is much larger than than sand, so all the sand will sink to the bottom.
Quote:
Originally Posted by AirstoND View Post
+1, Also more pronounced if you have high current, trmpet snails and cories
+2
AoxomoxoA is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-05-2012, 10:26 AM   #9
acitydweller
ओं मणिपद्मे हूं
 
acitydweller's Avatar
 
PTrader: (177/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 7,694
Default

Maybe that cap was reversed no? As the denser layer should be on the bottom.
__________________
"I am Groot", the faithful protector
acitydweller is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Tags
eco-complete, newbie, sand, substrate

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012