Water change with a hose?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Fertilizers and Water Parameters


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-13-2012, 02:13 PM   #1
ADJAquariums
Wannabe Guru
 
ADJAquariums's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Albany, New York
Posts: 1,421
Default

Water change with a hose?


Can i do a change with me just sticking the hose in the tank then adding conditioner after?
__________________

Then I saw it. I saw a mom who would die for her son. A man who would kill for his wife. A boy, angry and alone. Laid out in front of him, the bad path. I saw it. And the path was a circle. Round and round. So I changed it.
-Joe (Looper 2012)
ADJAquariums is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-13-2012, 02:19 PM   #2
shrimpedout
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Wa
Posts: 216
Default

You always want to add the dechlor before introducing new water.

1. Drain
2. Add dechlor (depending on how much you drained)
3. Add new water
4. Enjoy happy fish!

---
Get shrimped out!
shrimpedout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 02:32 PM   #3
oscarsx
Discus freak
 
oscarsx's Avatar
 
PTrader: (14/94%)
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: The High Desert, CA
Posts: 915
Default

I age my water and try to keep the temp fairly close to my tanks temp..

- oz
__________________

oscarsx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 03:56 PM   #4
ADJAquariums
Wannabe Guru
 
ADJAquariums's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Albany, New York
Posts: 1,421
Default

Alright, looks like buckets is the way to go then
__________________

Then I saw it. I saw a mom who would die for her son. A man who would kill for his wife. A boy, angry and alone. Laid out in front of him, the bad path. I saw it. And the path was a circle. Round and round. So I changed it.
-Joe (Looper 2012)
ADJAquariums is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 04:15 PM   #5
shrimpedout
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Wa
Posts: 216
Default

Aging water isn't really necessary because dechlor removes everything.

---
Get shrimped out!
shrimpedout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 04:25 PM   #6
houseofcards
Planted Tank Guru
 
houseofcards's Avatar
 
PTrader: (55/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 2,611
Default

I've added Prime (conditioner) as I suspect many do after the water starts running into the tank from a hose for the last five years without a problem.
houseofcards is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 04:34 PM   #7
shrimpedout
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Wa
Posts: 216
Default

I add it before the new water hits the tank. It obviously doesn't matter if it's a little before or after I just wouldn't let it completely fill before adding Prime or other dechlor of your choice.

---
Get shrimped out!
shrimpedout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 04:39 PM   #8
Sotty
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Ann Arbor, MI USA
Posts: 280
Default

Not sure if it actually important or not, but if adding directly to tank it says to treat the entire tank volume rather than just the volume you are replacing.

" May be added to aquarium directly, but better if added to new water first. If adding directly to aquarium, base dose on aquarium volume." - from Seachem website

Oh and I should add, I have been doing this for years as well and never had an issue. I slowly fill over a few hours.
Sotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 04:43 PM   #9
shrimpedout
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Wa
Posts: 216
Default

That's what I do if I use the python. If I just use my one gallon jug ill pour Prime into the jug as it's filling with new water so its all nice a mixed up. (I do 3-5 drops per gallon)

---
Get shrimped out!
shrimpedout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 04:45 PM   #10
Diana
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Contra Costa CA
Posts: 7,489
Default

I have done water changes with a hose, direct fill from the tap, and I just add dechlor into the flow of incoming water. If it is a large water change, or a 'constant change' sort of event I know how much water is flowing from the hose (I have timed it) and I keep on dosing dechlor to stay ahead of the incoming water.

I have done really large water changes with the 'constant change' idea and dosing dechlor periodically with no problems.
I drain the tank just a few inches, then start the water coming in. Temperature adjusted at the tap. Then I keep on draining the tank, but refilling at the same time so the water level stays pretty close to the top, or a few inches down. Every few minutes I know to dose X amount of dechlor. I know the 'new' water is mixing with the 'old' water, and what I am removing has a certain % of old and new.
At the end, tank is topped off and I can test for chlorine and ammonia (Chloramines) and dose a bit more dechlor if needed.

Fish can tolerate a certain amount of chloramines. You can very slightly under dose dechlor and not have problems with most fish.
I top off tanks up to 10% of the volume without dechlor.
I can be a bit casual about the timing of when dechlor hits the tank.

Barbs (Including Goldfish) seem to be a bit more sensitive, so I usually err on the side of overdosing the tanks with these fish. Not by much, though. A severe overdose can lock up oxygen. Read the label: Most dechlor can be dosed at several times the basic dose to help with ammonia or other toxins, but there will often be a caution about maintaining good aeration.
Diana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 04:49 PM   #11
shrimpedout
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Wa
Posts: 216
Default

Is there an advantage to the constant change method? Just curious.

---
Get shrimped out!
shrimpedout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 04:54 PM   #12
HD Blazingwolf
Planted Tank Guru
 
HD Blazingwolf's Avatar
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,907
Default

i've built a "barr" device. someone may have come up with it sooner but he posted his picture

that's beside the point
it siphons the water out my front window and has a quick connect for my garden hose. water change in 3 minutes if i realyl wanna go that fast.. ADD DECHLOR FIRST
its not a necessity really to add it first, just a general good idea
chlorine takes time to kill, it works by burning the gills
__________________
HD Blazingwolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 09:56 PM   #13
plantbrain
Planted Tank Guru
 
plantbrain's Avatar
 
PTrader: (256/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: The swamp
Posts: 13,385
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ADJAquariums View Post
Alright, looks like buckets is the way to go then
No, not unless the tank is small, eg, 20 gal or under. Then it's just easier to change with a bucket. I've used a hose to drain and refill my tanks for 35 years, never once have I had an issue. Marine tanks, you must pre mix and such, but not freshwater. Use hot/cold tap water blend, add dechlor, you are done.

I refill as fast as the water pressure coming out of the shower head will allow, same for all tanks. I'm not going to wait hours and get old and wander off ans forget and have a flooded floor.

Get it done and over with asap.

The Barr changer is something we used when I worked at the fish gallery 35 years ago, no clue who came up with it, made changing 85 twenty gallon tanks much easier. It's not "mine" by a long shot.



I use a flexogen hose, they are pretty good and stay flexible.
__________________
Regards,
Tom Barr
plantbrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2012, 01:55 AM   #14
HD Blazingwolf
Planted Tank Guru
 
HD Blazingwolf's Avatar
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,907
Default

LOL the barr hose i was talking about. mine is similar but not quite the same
__________________
HD Blazingwolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2012, 02:18 AM   #15
Neatfish
Wannabe Guru
 
Neatfish's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: TX
Posts: 1,425
Default

The water won't be to cold coming out the water hose?
__________________
Neatfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012