Cerges' Reactor - DIY Inline CO2 Reactor - Page 31
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > DIY


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-26-2012, 12:30 AM   #451
m00se
Wannabe Guru
 
m00se's Avatar
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 1,481
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by starquestMM View Post
Only downside is it was $63 for the clear version (3/4" fittings).

The other downside is that it won't work any better than the narrow 10" unit. I tried one. It wasn't better. You want contact time, and that comes from a taller 20" unit, not a wider one. Go for the online $38 job.

GL
m00se is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-12-2012, 05:14 PM   #452
xxnirvana69xx
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Lebanon, Oh
Posts: 8
Default

Anyone that used the T for the co2 connection, can you give me the sizes of fittings for it? That's the only thing keeping me from building this...
xxnirvana69xx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 08:22 PM   #453
sketch804
Wannabe Guru
 
sketch804's Avatar
 
PTrader: (44/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Richmond, Virginia
Posts: 1,229
Default

I believe the T is 3/4 inch on the ends and the screw top is 1/2 inch or @least that's what I used. The brass pieces I just lined up at the shop, not sure but I think 1/2 to 1/8th inch and then the 1/8th inch nipple.
sketch804 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 04:58 AM   #454
xxnirvana69xx
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Lebanon, Oh
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sketch804 View Post
I believe the T is 3/4 inch on the ends and the screw top is 1/2 inch or @least that's what I used. The brass pieces I just lined up at the shop, not sure but I think 1/2 to 1/8th inch and then the 1/8th inch nipple.
I guess my Home Depot and Lowes suck lmfao. If I could piece that together I'm set. I also need to decide if I want to try to fit my 5/8" hose over the 3/4" fitting or clamp it down to the 1/2".
xxnirvana69xx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 06:25 AM   #455
sketch804
Wannabe Guru
 
sketch804's Avatar
 
PTrader: (44/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Richmond, Virginia
Posts: 1,229
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xxnirvana69xx View Post
I guess my Home Depot and Lowes suck lmfao. If I could piece that together I'm set. I also need to decide if I want to try to fit my 5/8" hose over the 3/4" fitting or clamp it down to the 1/2".
Ya I was at one of the two places piecing the whole thing together, took it home and made it in 15 mins..Good luck!

Last edited by sketch804; 11-15-2012 at 06:57 AM.. Reason: sp
sketch804 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2012, 05:42 AM   #456
inkslinger
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Taunton ,MA
Posts: 1,694
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xxnirvana69xx View Post
I guess my Home Depot and Lowes suck lmfao. If I could piece that together I'm set. I also need to decide if I want to try to fit my 5/8" hose over the 3/4" fitting or clamp it down to the 1/2".
http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/showthread.php?t=165975&highlight=ext5000
inkslinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 08:47 PM   #457
snakebite
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: LBC
Posts: 51
Default

Perfect, I'm hoping to make one this weekend.

Couple questions -
  1. The reactor goes into the output hose correct?(pictures abit confusing on here)
  2. My output is about 4"-5" below the water. Should I extend my output so it's closer to the ground so co2 can stay in the water longer?
snakebite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 04:10 AM   #458
leros
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 67
Default

What is the consensus on using a Cerges reactor on a high flow line? My sump's return line is about 600gph and I'd like to put a reactor directly on it.
leros is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 04:34 AM   #459
inkslinger
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Taunton ,MA
Posts: 1,694
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by leros View Post
What is the consensus on using a Cerges reactor on a high flow line? My sump's return line is about 600gph and I'd like to put a reactor directly on it.
I use my 20 x 4.5 Big Blue Reactor on my Eheim 2262 filter and have no issues with it in my 110g tank.

http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...hlight=ext5000
inkslinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 05:14 PM   #460
happi
Planted Tank Guru
 
happi's Avatar
 
PTrader: (20/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 2,761
Send a message via Yahoo to happi
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by leros View Post
What is the consensus on using a Cerges reactor on a high flow line? My sump's return line is about 600gph and I'd like to put a reactor directly on it.
co2 will escape quickly from the reactor and you will see more bubbles in the tank instead of complete diffusion of co2.
__________________
happi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 08:08 PM   #461
sketch804
Wannabe Guru
 
sketch804's Avatar
 
PTrader: (44/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Richmond, Virginia
Posts: 1,229
Default

so happi, what do you suggest for a sump or a high flow filter?? I wanna use one@work but the mist is killing me..i run the line into the return pump right now and I only get but so much diffusion. Thanks!
sketch804 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 10:55 PM   #462
happi
Planted Tank Guru
 
happi's Avatar
 
PTrader: (20/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 2,761
Send a message via Yahoo to happi
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sketch804 View Post
so happi, what do you suggest for a sump or a high flow filter?? I wanna use one@work but the mist is killing me..i run the line into the return pump right now and I only get but so much diffusion. Thanks!
i don't know much about sump, but, i do know that it will take out lot of co2. with the high flow filter you must use 20" or higher housing and use a sponge inside it, this will help the co2 from escaping and you also get better diffusing this way.
__________________
happi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 12:59 AM   #463
Kathyy
Planted Tank Guru
 
Kathyy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (33/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Newbury Park, CA
Posts: 3,096
Default

I was getting a few bubbles out of the 20" Cerges with the Rio 2500 even though there was more than 10' of PVC to the spraybar but now no bubbles even though the Cerges is nearly directly underneath the bulkhead going to the tank from the sump. No idea how that could be but it is. Rio 2500 is supposed to have 530 gph at 4' head. I count 4 90* elbows including the ones in the reactor itself so the pump might be producing 400 gph through the Cerges. http://reefcentral.com/calc/hlc2.php

Putting a reactor on the return will cut its gph right there. The Rio was keeping 2 U tubes full when I just had the CO2 line stuck in the pump's intake but when I put the Cerges on the second U tube kept getting bubbles in it due to flow that wasn't quite adequate.
__________________
Kathyy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 03:05 AM   #464
leros
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 67
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by happi View Post
i don't know much about sump, but, i do know that it will take out lot of co2. with the high flow filter you must use 20" or higher housing and use a sponge inside it, this will help the co2 from escaping and you also get better diffusing this way.
I suspect that my sump wont' be causing much CO2 loss. The way my Herbie overflow is setup, no air at all goes into my overflow. It's practically a full siphon.
leros is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 10:05 PM   #465
TexasCichlid
Surrounded by Blyxa
 
TexasCichlid's Avatar
 
PTrader: (27/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,504
Default

I'm considering building one of these as my Sera Flore 500 is cutting too much of my flow, and not dissolving my CO2 very well. Still getting microbubbles. I have an Eheim 2028 on a 60p aquarium. Should I get the standard 10" housing or go for the big boy 20" housing? I want no bubbles from the CO2.
TexasCichlid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012