DIY Aquarium Touchscreen Controller - Page 2
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > DIY


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-07-2012, 01:28 AM   #16
flc
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 71
Default

Looks like a fun project!

Where are you getting your sensors from?
flc is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-07-2012, 01:36 AM   #17
Mike in MD
Algae Grower
 
Mike in MD's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 80
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by flc View Post
Looks like a fun project!

Where are you getting your sensors from?
Plan on getting them from Atlas Scientific.
Mike
__________________

65 Gallon Tall with Cascade 1000, Wet/Dry and Fluidized bed filter, 3 media reactors, CO2 with CarbonDoser EXT5000 reactor, DIY 36 LED light with Typhon controller. In the works..DIY Touchscreen Aquarium Controller
Mike in MD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 08:56 PM   #18
Mike in MD
Algae Grower
 
Mike in MD's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 80
Default

Time and date now working



Need to clean up my code and start building my menu pages. Will eventually have icons on the lower right hand corner of screen for navigation

Mike
__________________

65 Gallon Tall with Cascade 1000, Wet/Dry and Fluidized bed filter, 3 media reactors, CO2 with CarbonDoser EXT5000 reactor, DIY 36 LED light with Typhon controller. In the works..DIY Touchscreen Aquarium Controller
Mike in MD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 05:21 PM   #19
iano7000
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 65
Default

Looks good so far. I might have to steal the idea of Room Temperature for my own design.
iano7000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 03:17 AM   #20
Bryanmc1988
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (34/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: San Diego - CA
Posts: 876
Default

you should make a guide thread on your steps and how you made one... i would love to make my own controller but i'm not sure how to even get all that reading and etc u got from... if you do make a guide ... let me know i would most likely do one also
Bryanmc1988 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 05:32 AM   #21
Mike in MD
Algae Grower
 
Mike in MD's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 80
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bryanmc1988 View Post
you should make a guide thread on your steps and how you made one... i would love to make my own controller but i'm not sure how to even get all that reading and etc u got from... if you do make a guide ... let me know i would most likely do one also
Once I get everything set up and working, I plan on doing that. It'll be a ways down the road, this is kinda a rainy day project right now due to work.
Mike
__________________

65 Gallon Tall with Cascade 1000, Wet/Dry and Fluidized bed filter, 3 media reactors, CO2 with CarbonDoser EXT5000 reactor, DIY 36 LED light with Typhon controller. In the works..DIY Touchscreen Aquarium Controller
Mike in MD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 11:48 AM   #22
Mike in MD
Algae Grower
 
Mike in MD's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 80
Default

Got the set Time/Date screen working last night. Still have to add option for 12/24 hr format, and get it to return to main screen.



Ordering my Temp, pH probes and relays next week, hoping to have most of it working by the end of the month
__________________

65 Gallon Tall with Cascade 1000, Wet/Dry and Fluidized bed filter, 3 media reactors, CO2 with CarbonDoser EXT5000 reactor, DIY 36 LED light with Typhon controller. In the works..DIY Touchscreen Aquarium Controller
Mike in MD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 04:06 AM   #23
boxhead1990
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: australia
Posts: 325
Default

Il be ordering my touchscreen and mainboard next week hopefully so im deffinatly interested in seeing what sheilds you use with it

Il be using mine to control 2 parastaltic pumps for my macro's and micros mainly

So im interested in how your interface is programed and such

Sent from my ST25a
boxhead1990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 08:42 AM   #24
Mike in MD
Algae Grower
 
Mike in MD's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 80
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by boxhead1990 View Post
Il be ordering my touchscreen and mainboard next week hopefully so im deffinatly interested in seeing what sheilds you use with it

Il be using mine to control 2 parastaltic pumps for my macro's and micros mainly

So im interested in how your interface is programed and such

Sent from my ST25a
Most of what I have is placeholders right now. I'm still getting a feel for the programming end of it. I have the clock fully working, and when I go on vacation next month I will be getting pretty much everything else working.
Right now I have the 3.2'' Touchscreen, touchscreen shield, DS1307 breakout board, Arduino Mega 2560, and 2 temp probes. Still have to get the pH and O2 breakout boards, relays and SD card. I can PM you the code I have right now, but it needs a lot of cleaning up
Mike
__________________

65 Gallon Tall with Cascade 1000, Wet/Dry and Fluidized bed filter, 3 media reactors, CO2 with CarbonDoser EXT5000 reactor, DIY 36 LED light with Typhon controller. In the works..DIY Touchscreen Aquarium Controller
Mike in MD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 02:24 PM   #25
boxhead1990
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: australia
Posts: 325
Default

Well im a few weeks from having mine yet il pm you when I get it as your pretty much taking the same route im gunna be going down so il borrow some code when iv gotten it all in the mail

Cheers

Sent from my ST25a
boxhead1990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 02:42 PM   #26
Mike in MD
Algae Grower
 
Mike in MD's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 80
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by boxhead1990 View Post
Well im a few weeks from having mine yet il pm you when I get it as your pretty much taking the same route im gunna be going down so il borrow some code when iv gotten it all in the mail

Cheers

Sent from my ST25a
Sounds good, I'll keep an eye out for it
__________________

65 Gallon Tall with Cascade 1000, Wet/Dry and Fluidized bed filter, 3 media reactors, CO2 with CarbonDoser EXT5000 reactor, DIY 36 LED light with Typhon controller. In the works..DIY Touchscreen Aquarium Controller
Mike in MD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 02:56 PM   #27
boxhead1990
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: australia
Posts: 325
Default

By anychance have you worked out how to drive led in a cost effective way from it at all I keep turning up dead ends shield wise

Sent from my ST25a
boxhead1990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 03:10 PM   #28
Mike in MD
Algae Grower
 
Mike in MD's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 80
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by boxhead1990 View Post
By anychance have you worked out how to drive led in a cost effective way from it at all I keep turning up dead ends shield wise

Sent from my ST25a
I'm still checking into DIY drivers. I want to be able to dim down to 0%.
Mike
__________________

65 Gallon Tall with Cascade 1000, Wet/Dry and Fluidized bed filter, 3 media reactors, CO2 with CarbonDoser EXT5000 reactor, DIY 36 LED light with Typhon controller. In the works..DIY Touchscreen Aquarium Controller
Mike in MD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 03:24 PM   #29
boxhead1990
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: australia
Posts: 325
Default

Have a look around someone built one from a atx power supply but im not sute how they got it to dim tho

I think it was on this forum possably aswell

Sent from my ST25a
boxhead1990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 03:32 PM   #30
Mike in MD
Algae Grower
 
Mike in MD's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 80
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by boxhead1990 View Post
Have a look around someone built one from a atx power supply but im not sute how they got it to dim tho

I think it was on this forum possably aswell

Sent from my ST25a
I'm using Meanwells on my DIY LED's right now, they just don't dim past 11%. O2surplus has quite a few DIY drivers he has done, thinking about getting a board made for one of his designs.
Mike
__________________

65 Gallon Tall with Cascade 1000, Wet/Dry and Fluidized bed filter, 3 media reactors, CO2 with CarbonDoser EXT5000 reactor, DIY 36 LED light with Typhon controller. In the works..DIY Touchscreen Aquarium Controller
Mike in MD is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012