is my cycle over? - Page 2
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > General Planted Tank Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-09-2012, 02:30 AM   #16
pejerrey
Wannabe Guru
 
pejerrey's Avatar
 
PTrader: (12/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Oakland, California
Posts: 1,931
Default

What are you using to test?
__________________

A heavily planted shrimp tank is possible!
pejerrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-09-2012, 02:42 AM   #17
Diana
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Contra Costa CA
Posts: 6,791
Default

Quote:
then dose ammonia back up to ~4ppm
no, 3 ppm max.
Diana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 02:51 AM   #18
thebuddha
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
thebuddha's Avatar
 
PTrader: (21/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: NW Indiana
Posts: 585
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pejerrey View Post
What are you using to test?
API master test kit


Quote:
Originally Posted by Diana View Post
no, 3 ppm max.

hmm...i have been dosing to 4ppm this whole past month...ill cut down now.



Current readings:
ammonia=0
nitrites=0
nitrates=somewhere between 20 and 40



just added ammonia, now i wait another dayyyyyy

Last edited by thebuddha; 10-09-2012 at 03:36 AM.. Reason: update.
thebuddha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 08:31 PM   #19
thebuddha
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
thebuddha's Avatar
 
PTrader: (21/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: NW Indiana
Posts: 585
Default

current readings:
ammonia = 1-2ppm
nitrite > 5ppm
nitrate = 40-80ppm


another WC to get rid of nitrites???
thebuddha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 09:07 PM   #20
pejerrey
Wannabe Guru
 
pejerrey's Avatar
 
PTrader: (12/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Oakland, California
Posts: 1,931
Default

As far as I know, water changes make it slower... Not sure tho, someone chime in on that?
__________________

A heavily planted shrimp tank is possible!
pejerrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 09:27 PM   #21
MSG
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
MSG's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: East Coast
Posts: 497
Default

When I speed cycled my 10G, I didn't CHANGE the water. I only started with about 5-6G and kept adding dirty water from the betta tanks.

I pumped up the heat to the 80's but the tank was ACTUALLY 98 degrees for 4-5 days.


Bud, do you have anything that will absorb the nitrates?

I'm not crazy about the filter you're using. I typically use the HOB style filters. In tank ones are troublesome to maintain.
MSG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 09:57 PM   #22
thebuddha
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
thebuddha's Avatar
 
PTrader: (21/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: NW Indiana
Posts: 585
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MSG View Post
When I speed cycled my 10G, I didn't CHANGE the water. I only started with about 5-6G and kept adding dirty water from the betta tanks.

I pumped up the heat to the 80's but the tank was ACTUALLY 98 degrees for 4-5 days.


Bud, do you have anything that will absorb the nitrates?

I'm not crazy about the filter you're using. I typically use the HOB style filters. In tank ones are troublesome to maintain.

sorry i never answered your question form your first post on this thread, yes i have an air stone and i did throw it in the tank.

i don't think i have anything that will absorb the nitrates...what could?
and i really dont like the filter either, but its all i have....for now!
thebuddha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 12:15 AM   #23
Diana
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Contra Costa CA
Posts: 6,791
Default

Do water changes to keep the nitrites under 5 ppm.

When you feed too much ammonia the first population of bacteria turn it into too much nitrite faster than the second population can get rid of it. That is why you aim for 3 ppm max on the ammonia. That much generally will not make the nitrite spike too high.
Diana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 06:20 PM   #24
thebuddha
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
thebuddha's Avatar
 
PTrader: (21/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: NW Indiana
Posts: 585
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Diana View Post
Do water changes to keep the nitrites under 5 ppm.

When you feed too much ammonia the first population of bacteria turn it into too much nitrite faster than the second population can get rid of it. That is why you aim for 3 ppm max on the ammonia. That much generally will not make the nitrite spike too high.
okay. so it will be complete when:
i dose 3ppm of ammonia, and in 24 hours i get readings of 0 ammonia 0 nitrites and any amount of nitrates. then do a wc to get rid of excess nitrates. then its ready?

but isnt it bad to have 0 ammonia, because then some of my nitrifying bacteria would die off?



thebuddha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 06:42 PM   #25
discuspaul
Planted Tank Guru
 
discuspaul's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 2,090
Default

The bacteria will not die off so long as you keep adding ammonia, or a source for producing ammonia, like some fish. So when your ammonia & nitrites are '0' and your nitrates low after a wc, your cycle is complete and i'ts time to add your fish.
discuspaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012