DIY solenoid for a co2 setup?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > DIY


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-06-2012, 03:40 AM   #1
Bryanmc1988
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (34/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: San Diego - CA
Posts: 876
Default

DIY solenoid for a co2 setup?


well i seen a while back that there was a thread about a DIY solenoid for a co2 tank... cant find it... its a circle style solenoid.... DIY? or sold online? not sure any help would be great

bottom right... with the yellow end


Last edited by Bryanmc1988; 10-06-2012 at 04:19 AM.. Reason: add photo
Bryanmc1988 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-06-2012, 05:09 AM   #2
nokturnalkid
Wannabe Guru
 
nokturnalkid's Avatar
 
PTrader: (83/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: HI, but Pueblo, CO for now
Posts: 1,240
Default

That's a clippard mouse solenoid. There's a few people on here that sell them, bettatail and oldpunk are a couple names off the top of my head.
__________________
Schuber Wright 6 gal
Mr. Aqua 11.4 g...coming soon
30gal Journal - RIP
nokturnalkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 04:14 PM   #3
Bryanmc1988
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (34/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: San Diego - CA
Posts: 876
Default

are they cheaper then the normal square looking ones? price is what i ment...
Bryanmc1988 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 04:34 PM   #4
kevmo911
Planted Tank Guru
 
kevmo911's Avatar
 
PTrader: (32/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 3,895
Default

New, the mouse and mount are about the most inexpensive new solenoid out there. About $27 or $28, plus shipping, plus the voltage adapter you'd have to buy (and attach) separately. Unfortunately that's a custom-drilled mount (pm Bettatail), so no, they don't come like that. I'd have to check to be sure, but I believe one of the Clippard mounts comes with two outlets. Otherwise you'd have to build your own, or buy a manifold.
kevmo911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 08:09 PM   #5
Bryanmc1988
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (34/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: San Diego - CA
Posts: 876
Default

dam didnt know going co2 was so costly...
Bryanmc1988 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 12:22 AM   #6
oldpunk78
ಠ_ಠ
 
oldpunk78's Avatar
 
PTrader: (106/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: 96007
Posts: 5,266
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bryanmc1988 View Post
dam didnt know going co2 was so costly...
It doesn't have to be. Do you have a number in your head you hoping to stay close to? I could probably tell you if its a reasonable amount or not.

It kinda looks as if you may be trying to feed multiple aquariums from one reg. (just based on your question pic...) The more needle valves you want add, the more it will cost. Your post body can be the most expensive part of a build.
oldpunk78 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 12:58 AM   #7
Bryanmc1988
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (34/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: San Diego - CA
Posts: 876
Default

well not exactly, i'm doing this on only 1 tank... and i already have a single stage regulator which should work fine no need for a dual... also have a 5lb co2 tank full which should already cut the cost by half if not over...

i was just looking for a less costing solenoid so i can just have it on a timer with my lighting... know any that might be cheap? maybe around the 10$ range if even possible? saw some on ebay for like $40 shipped but didnt want to spend that much on one...


also looking to buy one that is not going to run hot but more like cool when running for 8 hours a day....
Bryanmc1988 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 01:46 AM   #8
oldpunk78
ಠ_ಠ
 
oldpunk78's Avatar
 
PTrader: (106/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: 96007
Posts: 5,266
Default

You're only option for a solenoid that cheap is going to be [Ebay Link Removed] And you're going to have to be seriously patient.

I've got a used mouse solenoid you'd have to run inline(don't have to, but recommended) I could send you for about $20 bucks. You'd have to come up with a power supply though. (which I also happen to have...)
oldpunk78 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 03:47 AM   #9
Hoppy
Planted Tank Guru
 
Hoppy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (74/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 18,735
Default

I would be surprised if you find a solenoid that doesn't run pretty warm, if not hot. As long as it is designed to run that way, no problem. Those designed for aquarium use should all work ok.
__________________
Hoppy
Hoppy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 09:20 AM   #10
DeLaFe
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 146
Default

I have seen no-name-brand Chinese solenoids on ebay for about $20. I am actually about to order a few to try them out. (I have two reef tanks and I just set up my first planted tank)

This is one of those things that you probably shouldn't DIY.

Alfred
DeLaFe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 12:19 PM   #11
kevmo911
Planted Tank Guru
 
kevmo911's Avatar
 
PTrader: (32/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 3,895
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DeLaFe View Post
I have seen no-name-brand Chinese solenoids on ebay for about $20. I am actually about to order a few to try them out. (I have two reef tanks and I just set up my first planted tank)
Make sure that the ports are NPT thread. If you see "Rc", "BSP", "BSPT", "BSPP", "G", or "ISO", it means they're British Standard Pipe thread, either parallel or tapered. And you won't get a good seal without an adapter, which will be either difficult to find, or costly, or both. In fact, unless you specifically see "NPT", assume threads are BSP.
kevmo911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 03:09 PM   #12
Bryanmc1988
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (34/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: San Diego - CA
Posts: 876
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oldpunk78 View Post
You're only option for a solenoid that cheap is going to be [Ebay Link Removed] And you're going to have to be seriously patient.

I've got a used mouse solenoid you'd have to run inline(don't have to, but recommended) I could send you for about $20 bucks. You'd have to come up with a power supply though. (which I also happen to have...)

what do you mean by running an inline? any pictures of what you mean? i might have seen it around but not sure what they are called so cant be 100% sure if i know what u ment.... also any pictures of your mouse solenoid and when else would i need to get it running... pictures would be great... also a picture of your power supply also =)
Bryanmc1988 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 04:19 PM   #13
oldpunk78
ಠ_ಠ
 
oldpunk78's Avatar
 
PTrader: (106/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: 96007
Posts: 5,266
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bryanmc1988 View Post
what do you mean by running an inline? any pictures of what you mean? i might have seen it around but not sure what they are called so cant be 100% sure if i know what u ment.... also any pictures of your mouse solenoid and when else would i need to get it running... pictures would be great... also a picture of your power supply also =)
Running a solenoid in-line:



Power supply:



^ You just clip the connector off and use your own. (the solenoid is 12vdc)

How you could directly mount it to a regulator:



^ Not recommended if you think it might get bumped once in while. Brass 10-32 fittings aren't that strong.

Hope this helps.

Oh, these solenoids only use something like 0.67 watts. They run quite cool. I would like to mention though that the temps at which solenoids run at really aren't as important as you might think. What is important is that it is rated for a continuous duty cycle.(will the components of the solenoid hold up while powered for 8hrs at a time...)Quality does tend to vary from one manufacturer to another in that regard.
oldpunk78 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 04:46 PM   #14
Bryanmc1988
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (34/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: San Diego - CA
Posts: 876
Default

a mouse solenoid doesnt come with a bigger fitting to be mounted onto a 1/8" NPT? or a co2 regulator?


also the power supply cord that you are using.... doesnt that plug to a wall outlet? if so doesnt a standard U.S. outlet 120v ac?
Bryanmc1988 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 05:10 PM   #15
oldpunk78
ಠ_ಠ
 
oldpunk78's Avatar
 
PTrader: (106/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: 96007
Posts: 5,266
Default

You can get them with a 1/8npt in port. I'm all out though. I just through this out there because you said you wanted to keep it cheap. The electrical adapter is to go from 110/220ac to 12vdc. Most of the small solenoids that are relatively inexpensive are dc. If you run ac current to them, they will fry.
oldpunk78 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012