Black out
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Algae


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-01-2012, 02:03 PM   #1
toddziegler
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: arlington, tx usa
Posts: 79
Default

Black out


I did a 72 hour black out on a tank to get rid of a bad hair /thread algae problem. It got rid of of most of the algae. There was however still some left. I had to turn the lights back on because of some very demanding plants were starting to fade fast. I was just wondering if the left over algae will come back or is it dead and just hasn't fell off. Anyone with black out experience let me know.
__________________
Thanks Todd Ziegler
Always question those who claim to have the truth!
toddziegler is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-01-2012, 02:25 PM   #2
Diana
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Contra Costa CA
Posts: 7,238
Default

If it is still green then I would assume it could come back.
The black out has helped to reduce the population so maybe the plants will be able to take over.

Have you figured out what allowed the algae to get going?
Diana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 02:36 PM   #3
toddziegler
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: arlington, tx usa
Posts: 79
Default

Yes I think. I know that the bulbs were way to old and I believe that I had to many wpg. It was a 10 gallon tank. With 96 watt bulb I have reduced it to 48 watts. I know that still sounds like a lot for 10 gallons but the plants are all very demanding and difficult to grow plants. I do 2 water changes a week. I also monitor the fertilizer very closely. I have also raised the lights up on it. So its not getting the full 48 watts.. The hair/thread algae is the only problem I have with this tank. I also have the co2 running at what I think is enough to keep growth fast.
__________________
Thanks Todd Ziegler
Always question those who claim to have the truth!
toddziegler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 02:57 PM   #4
FenderOffset238
Algae Grower
 
FenderOffset238's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 130
Default

You're not using a bubble counter on your CO2? Is it pressurized?
Sometimes inconsistent CO2/fert dosing will trigger algae problems.
FenderOffset238 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 03:05 PM   #5
toddziegler
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: arlington, tx usa
Posts: 79
Default

Yes I have a pressurized co2. I have an atomic diffuser. When it is diffusing it reads 20 bps@ about 30 pounds
__________________
Thanks Todd Ziegler
Always question those who claim to have the truth!
toddziegler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 03:45 PM   #6
jimko
Puzzled...
 
jimko's Avatar
 
PTrader: (363/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Frisco, CA
Posts: 1,184
Default

Usually you find the issue and fix it and the algae goes away. There's always algae in every tank, but it only attacks when it's more favorable for the algae and less favorable for the plants. If you figured out the issue you don't have to worry too much about it coming back. It'll come back when there's something wrong.
__________________


Bred and grown in the USA... Mostly! Proud member of SFBAAPS!
jimko is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012