cashman's 6' adventure (2 x 12L)
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > Tank Journals


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-14-2012, 04:23 PM   #1
cashman
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Gallatin, TN (Near Nashville)
Posts: 46
Default

cashman's 6' adventure (2 x 12L)


So, I found the thread about the 12L club and got inspired to jump back into the aquatic realm. I work from home, so the tanks will be in my office. This will not be a speedy process, as the old adage says "nothing good happens fast in an aquarium". I've done fast tanks in the past due to impatience, and always regretted it.
Still a lot of planning going on, so ideas are welcome, but don't be offended if I don't respond to every one offered.


Tank - Mr. Aqua 12L (2)
Light - will be looking for the Sept release of Finnex FugeRay 36"
Filter - contemplating one filter for both?
Substrate - Black Diamond Blasting sand or wait until I can afford Amazonia
Hardscape - planning
H2o - Bulk Reef Supply RO/DI filtered water
CO2 - planning
Heating - Hydor 200W Inline
Flora - planning, but definitely HC is in the plan
Fauna - I have 4 kids, so fish will definitely be residents

I still have to skin the stands, but you get an idea. B/C I'm an upstairs room, the wall that the tanks are on is only about 52" tall, and the ceiling slopes up from there. The lights will hang from the ceiling.

Subscribers enjoy, but be patient!



Just for fun, this was my last tank, a 2.5g 4 years ago:
__________________
cashman is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-15-2012, 05:20 AM   #2
julianmuerto
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Overland Park, KS
Posts: 6
Default

looking forward to the end result. question, wont the finnex cause algae? my roommate asked me this question when i told him you convinced me to get the finnex.
__________________
julianmuerto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 06:37 AM   #3
KenRC51
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
KenRC51's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: San Gabriel
Posts: 352
Default

Very nice, can't wait till you flood this thing. BTW, how do you run 1 filter in 2 different tanks?
__________________
KenRC51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 03:06 PM   #4
cashman
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Gallatin, TN (Near Nashville)
Posts: 46
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by julianmuerto View Post
looking forward to the end result. question, wont the finnex cause algae? my roommate asked me this question when i told him you convinced me to get the finnex.
I think the Ray2 would be to bright, but I think the FugeRay, especially as I will hang it above, should be fine.
__________________
cashman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 03:07 PM   #5
cashman
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Gallatin, TN (Near Nashville)
Posts: 46
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KenRC51 View Post
Very nice, can't wait till you flood this thing. BTW, how do you run 1 filter in 2 different tanks?
Not sure, but I'm researching it. I know it's been done before.
__________________
cashman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 05:52 PM   #6
flowerfishs
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
flowerfishs's Avatar
 
PTrader: (44/98%)
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Los Angeles CA, USA
Posts: 397
Default

another 12g long.
flowerfishs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 07:36 PM   #7
KenRC51
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
KenRC51's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: San Gabriel
Posts: 352
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cashman View Post
Not sure, but I'm researching it. I know it's been done before.
I really don't see a way on how that is going to work out unless you can find a way to have the inflow and outflow at the same rate in both tanks.

One way I know can work with 1 filter and 2 different tank is a wet dry filter. 1 sump and 2 inflow box. You can even have flow rate for different tank since you will have two pumps.
__________________
KenRC51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 07:38 PM   #8
if_fishes_were_wishes
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
if_fishes_were_wishes's Avatar
 
PTrader: (22/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Morrisville, NC
Posts: 924
Default

oooh....staying tuned Love this tank!
__________________
Eheim pimp #255

55 gallon semi-aggressive community tank, 13.3 gallon cherry shrimp tank 12 long reef
12G Rimless Club
if_fishes_were_wishes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 07:43 PM   #9
HolyAngel
Planted Tank Guru
 
HolyAngel's Avatar
 
PTrader: (24/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: springfield, IL
Posts: 2,604
Send a message via AIM to HolyAngel
Default

Subscribed! Looking forward to what you do with these ^^
__________________
HolyAngel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 07:54 PM   #10
the_intricacy
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Oakland, CA
Posts: 38
Default

Very sweet! I guess someone else has beat me to the punch, with doubling up on these beauties! Btw... these tanks are 12 Gallons, not Liters!

Some questions:

1) Are you going to keep the edges not touching as shown in the OP photo? I'm wondering if there'd be a problem having the glass of two separate tanks touch each other. I'm in a seismic zone, so I might have additional problems doing that.

2) Are these stands are DIY? Did you put a top face underneath the tanks, or does the top look like the bottom, upside down? Are you planning on putting faces on the sides, or leaving it open? Was there an advantage to making two 36" stands instead of one 72"?

3) How tall are the stands?

4)
Quote:
Originally Posted by KenRC51 View Post
BTW, how do you run 1 filter in 2 different tanks?
What's wrong with two of these?

... and double the intake and outflow hardware? I was thinking that would work, but haven't tried it yet...
the_intricacy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 08:59 PM   #11
KenRC51
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
KenRC51's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: San Gabriel
Posts: 352
Default

nothing is wrong what that. What if one end get clogged up or the flow rate changes in one end? Then one tank will over flow.
__________________
KenRC51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 04:40 PM   #12
the_intricacy
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Oakland, CA
Posts: 38
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KenRC51 View Post
nothing is wrong what that. What if one end get clogged up or the flow rate changes in one end? Then one tank will over flow.
lol, damn I'm glad SOMEONE was thinking ahead!
the_intricacy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 05:05 PM   #13
cashman
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Gallatin, TN (Near Nashville)
Posts: 46
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by the_intricacy View Post
Very sweet! I guess someone else has beat me to the punch, with doubling up on these beauties! Btw... these tanks are 12 Gallons, not Liters!
The "L" was for Long.


1) I haven't decided how they will be positioned yet.

2) My office is up a narrow steep set of stairs, so two smaller stands were easier to manage. I did make them myself, but they are not yet done. There will be plywood (on the top at minimum) yet to come.

3) I chose a 30" height. I tried 24", but it was way to short to look right

The more I think and research, there's not a cheap, reasonable method to run two tanks on one filter, so I will be going with two filters. Will just extend the build out time of the second one as I wait for additional funds.
__________________
cashman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2012, 06:23 PM   #14
cashman
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Gallatin, TN (Near Nashville)
Posts: 46
Default

So, I'm having this idea of "use what you have". I have some leftover 3/4" solid red/white oak flooring that is 5" in width. Also have 3 custom oak stair treads leftover. I'm tossing around the idea of using the treads for the top, and running the flooring boards vertically in such a manner that I can create the illusion of 1 stand. On the front side, I would let the 'tongue' of the last board of one stand stick out and fit in the 'groove' of the other stand. That way I would only have to skin the two outsides, since the two middle sides would be hidden.

Hate to keep letting the extra wood just sit in my garage. Might be just enough to make it happen.

Here's a picture of my bonus room after I laid it. Yes, it was unfinished. Got high quality, hand milled for $2/sq by an Amish gentleman in Ethridge, TN.

__________________
cashman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2012, 02:07 AM   #15
cashman
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Gallatin, TN (Near Nashville)
Posts: 46
Default

Well, I went a whole different direction. I rebuilt one stand in an open format. I will be staining it a dark mahogany or similar, as well as putting a shelf on the lower level. Definitely harder to put together to make sure that it's all square and level, but I like the look. The brackets aren't cheap (~$5/ea), so, I will be staining and finishing this one stand out and then build out the other as the money comes in as each stand will take 8 brackets.

__________________
cashman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012