will stock do???
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > Low Tech Forum


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-06-2012, 02:13 PM   #1
spifff
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: piscataway nj
Posts: 19
Default

will stock do???


good day all a few months ago i mentioned i wanted to start a 55 gal low tech low light tank. well our move to NJ is complete and almost time to start that tank, i'm doing my 125 this week that's for africans, so the 55 is next up! so here we go maybe i should've posted this in the light forum but that section always confuses me so here it is my tank was bought as a replacement it's wal mart kit the stock lights still survive the inside is a dull white been thinking about upgrading but if i don't have to and i can just get new bulbs that would be my choicew at least for now. i was thinking about going to a double strip if i do that what bulbs should i use? i'm open for suggestions.
thanks
Dave
spifff is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-06-2012, 04:19 PM   #2
BBradbury
Wannabe Guru
 
BBradbury's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Greeley, CO
Posts: 1,379
Default Your Lighting Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by spifff View Post
good day all a few months ago i mentioned i wanted to start a 55 gal low tech low light tank. well our move to NJ is complete and almost time to start that tank, i'm doing my 125 this week that's for africans, so the 55 is next up! so here we go maybe i should've posted this in the light forum but that section always confuses me so here it is my tank was bought as a replacement it's wal mart kit the stock lights still survive the inside is a dull white been thinking about upgrading but if i don't have to and i can just get new bulbs that would be my choicew at least for now. i was thinking about going to a double strip if i do that what bulbs should i use? i'm open for suggestions.
thanks
Dave
Hello spif...

Check out Solarmax Lighting. They have a nice, two T5 bulb and LED strip that is fairly inexpensive and works well. I have several 55 Gs and use these strips on my moderate light tanks.

B
__________________
"Fear not my child, just change the tank water."
BBradbury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 05:15 PM   #3
spifff
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: piscataway nj
Posts: 19
Default

i saw those on the bay i was thinking about it, as long as they are not too bright i want nothing to with Co2 at the moment.
Dave
spifff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 12:54 AM   #4
Diana
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Contra Costa CA
Posts: 7,501
Default

A stock light that only holds one bulb (T-8 or T-12) is not enough even for a low tech tank.
I run my 45 gallon tanks (4' long, but not as deep as a 55) using any of several fixtures, but they all have at least 2 bulbs.
My 72 gallon bowfront (4' long, 2' deep) has 2 of home depot shop light fixtures with 2 bulbs each (4 bulbs total), and some direct sun. It is barely more than low light. (Better reflectors are my next project)

I use a mix of bulbs, including 'daylight', 'cool white', 'plant and aquarium' and some others.
Diana is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2012, 05:20 PM   #5
Knotyoureality
Wannabe Guru
 
Knotyoureality's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,090
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spifff View Post
i saw those on the bay i was thinking about it, as long as they are not too bright i want nothing to with Co2 at the moment.
Dave
It's alot easier (and cheaper) to bring too-high light levels down than the reverse. Buy higher than you think you'll need, then you have the option of adding diffuser screens, floating plants or just increasing the height from the tank. Thanks to a slow learning curve, I've got a whole stack of lights/light bars that aren't being used thanks to buying too low, moving to a deeper tank and wanting to increase the types of plants I can grow. Shoulda' gone with the more powerful system from the start.
Knotyoureality is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2012, 08:49 PM   #6
mocha2184
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Knotyoureality View Post
It's alot easier (and cheaper) to bring too-high light levels down than the reverse. Buy higher than you think you'll need, then you have the option of adding diffuser screens, floating plants or just increasing the height from the tank. Thanks to a slow learning curve, I've got a whole stack of lights/light bars that aren't being used thanks to buying too low, moving to a deeper tank and wanting to increase the types of plants I can grow. Shoulda' gone with the more powerful system from the start.
Hey Knotyoureality, if you want to get rid of some of that stack of lights, let me know
mocha2184 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012