What is this? What is it used for? - Page 2
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > Local Pet Stores, Clubs, and Conventions > Pennsylvania


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-10-2012, 03:11 AM   #16
Aheartlessfish
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 462
Default

haha im too afraid to mess with dirt...gona go with a 10 gallon MTS soon once my dolomite comes...i got the stuff so why not try it ^^ Maybe ill grow beautiful plants like you bill :P

But thanks for the tips guys. Ill give it a try ^^
Aheartlessfish is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-10-2012, 03:22 AM   #17
Fishies_in_Philly
Planted Tank Guru
 
Fishies_in_Philly's Avatar
 
PTrader: (9/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: phila., PA
Posts: 2,284
Default

dolomite? you have extremely soft water out there? and i love dirt tanks. are you kidding me? no need for root tabs for like 2 years, give or take. yeah, twist my arm, i HATE root tabs. but i will definitely get some of those clay tabs for later on down the road. crypts are heavy root feeders and they just LOVE having their roots in dirt. and since i have crypts in every tank, every tank has dirt. especially my rare crypt tank. too many special (to me) plants to mess around with forgetting to get root tabs and the like.
Fishies_in_Philly is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-10-2012, 05:53 AM   #18
Aheartlessfish
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 462
Default

you gota hit me up on how u did your dirt tanks.

Im doing the MTS method that i saw on one of the forums, making dirt into that mud stuff then covering it with gravel ^^
Aheartlessfish is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-10-2012, 05:58 AM   #19
discusonly
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
discusonly's Avatar
 
PTrader: (14/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Mt. Laurel NJ
Posts: 618
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aheartlessfish View Post
you gota hit me up on how u did your dirt tanks.

Im doing the MTS method that i saw on one of the forums, making dirt into that mud stuff then covering it with gravel ^^
What did you use for top soil? I did a 5gal tank like that using worm castings.
__________________
Van
discusonly is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-10-2012, 07:36 AM   #20
Aheartlessfish
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 462
Default

I just grabbed a bag of organic miracle grow

I have yet to make the mixture since im waiting on dolomite and munite of potash
Aheartlessfish is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-10-2012, 03:17 PM   #21
discusonly
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
discusonly's Avatar
 
PTrader: (14/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Mt. Laurel NJ
Posts: 618
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aheartlessfish View Post
I just grabbed a bag of organic miracle grow

I have yet to make the mixture since im waiting on dolomite and munite of potash
Ok.. That's what I used too. Are you using clay as well?
__________________
Van
discusonly is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-10-2012, 03:43 PM   #22
Fishies_in_Philly
Planted Tank Guru
 
Fishies_in_Philly's Avatar
 
PTrader: (9/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: phila., PA
Posts: 2,284
Default

I'm still confused as to why dolomite? How soft is your water?
Fishies_in_Philly is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-10-2012, 04:00 PM   #23
discusonly
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
discusonly's Avatar
 
PTrader: (14/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Mt. Laurel NJ
Posts: 618
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fishies_in_Philly View Post
I'm still confused as to why dolomite? How soft is your water?
Bill,

Dolomite is usually used to prevent the soil from becoming too acidic.
__________________
Van
discusonly is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-10-2012, 05:49 PM   #24
Aheartlessfish
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 462
Default

^ what he said

Im just going with the books on how to make MTS.

I have this brick of clay i will post pictures up in a few mins. If it is genuine clay i might grind it up and put it in as well. If the balls of m&m's are root tabs then im gona have to find a clay matter ^^
Aheartlessfish is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-10-2012, 06:17 PM   #25
Aheartlessfish
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 462
Default

Donna also gave me this brick



I think she said it was clay as well...when i took a shaving of it off, it crumbled as you can see on the right. took the shavings and threw it in water but i have yet to observe it...probably is dehydrated clay...can i just grind this up and throw it in the MTS solution?
Aheartlessfish is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-11-2012, 03:00 AM   #26
Fishies_in_Philly
Planted Tank Guru
 
Fishies_in_Philly's Avatar
 
PTrader: (9/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: phila., PA
Posts: 2,284
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by discusonly View Post
Bill,

Dolomite is usually used to prevent the soil from becoming too acidic.
i kind of knew that. but normally i hear of people using it if their water is very soft. never heard of using it "just in case", hence the curiousity
Fishies_in_Philly is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-11-2012, 03:00 AM   #27
Fishies_in_Philly
Planted Tank Guru
 
Fishies_in_Philly's Avatar
 
PTrader: (9/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: phila., PA
Posts: 2,284
Default

now that there is definitely pure clay
Fishies_in_Philly is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-11-2012, 05:18 AM   #28
Aheartlessfish
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 462
Default

haha sounds good. I think tomorow i will dunk a few of these fert tabs below my plants. Im assuming 1 per 6"x6" of tank space should suffice...
Aheartlessfish is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012