DIY inline reactor problems
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > DIY


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-17-2005, 03:47 PM   #1
milalic
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (117/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: McKinney, TX
Posts: 2,089
Default

DIY inline reactor problems


I build my reactor using one of the plans available here(hotzifier).
The reactor is liking in the union of the hose and the barb.
I have an XP3 canister filter. The reactor mesures around 14" from top to bottom. Any suggestions of what might be wrong?

Thanks
milalic is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-17-2005, 03:52 PM   #2
Jason Baliban
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (92/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Phoenixville, PA
Posts: 2,022
Send a message via AIM to Jason Baliban
Default

So it is leaking where the hose slips over the barb? Did you get some real good hose clamps and really tighten them?

Or is it leaking from where the barb screws into the PVC? If this is the case, did you use teflon tape?

What size barb are you using and what is the size of the hose?

We'll fix you up

jB
Jason Baliban is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2005, 04:00 PM   #3
bharada
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (9/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 2,605
Default

Like Jason said, add a hose clamp over the hose/barb connection. If it's leaking where the PVC parts screw together then you either need to tighten it a bit more, or add more teflon tape (you should be putting on three full wraps of tape over the threaded part before assembling).
__________________
óBill
| My site
bharada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2005, 04:47 PM   #4
milalic
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (117/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: McKinney, TX
Posts: 2,089
Default

It is the hose that comes with the XP3 which I believe is 5/8".
the barb is 5/8" x 3/4".

Do I have the correct barb? I might need and exchange the hose barbs. I do not remember the size
milalic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2005, 05:01 PM   #5
Jason Baliban
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (92/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Phoenixville, PA
Posts: 2,022
Send a message via AIM to Jason Baliban
Default

Are you using hose clamps?

If so can you get us a pic of where the prob is?

jB
Jason Baliban is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2005, 05:05 PM   #6
bharada
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (9/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 2,605
Default

Usually a 5/8 barb will have a tight seal on a 5/8 hose, but sometimes you end up with fittings that are on the small side of their specs or hoses that are slightly larger than spec. In either case you need to get some hose clamps (worm clamps that are tightened with a screwdriver) to cinch down the connection.

__________________
óBill
| My site
bharada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2005, 05:09 PM   #7
Jason Baliban
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (92/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Phoenixville, PA
Posts: 2,022
Send a message via AIM to Jason Baliban
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bharada
Usually a 5/8 barb will have a tight seal on a 5/8 hose, but sometimes you end up with fittings that are on the small side of their specs or hoses that are slightly larger than spec. In either case you need to get some hose clamps (worm clamps that are tightened with a screwdriver) to cinch down the connection.

Milalic,

These are the clamps you will want to be using. Great pic Bill!!

jB
Jason Baliban is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2005, 06:01 PM   #8
Biznatch
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 120
Default

Also make sure the barbs threads are NPT, not threaded to attach a hose to a tube. The NPT are angle and seal when you tighten it. I made that mistake, but caught it when I could only get the barb in like 4 turns before it would stop. Also get the fat Hose clamps from home depot, they are liek 1/2" wide and work really well.
Biznatch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2005, 06:10 PM   #9
milalic
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (117/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: McKinney, TX
Posts: 2,089
Default

Any size of worm clamps will do?
milalic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2005, 06:14 PM   #10
milalic
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (117/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: McKinney, TX
Posts: 2,089
Default

What I meant in my post is that i Have a really big worm clamp. Which is not working cuz water is leaking from the hook up of the barb and hose. What I notice is that the hose is not that tight to the barb.
milalic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2005, 06:26 PM   #11
Jason Baliban
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (92/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Phoenixville, PA
Posts: 2,022
Send a message via AIM to Jason Baliban
Default

They make different size hose clamps. They usually tell you the maximum and minimun diameter they will adjust to. It is possible that your clamp dose not tighten enough.

jB
Jason Baliban is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012