recommendations for digital ph meter - Page 2
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Equipment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-06-2003, 02:40 AM   #16
jart
Wannabe Guru
 
jart's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: NS Canada
Posts: 1,372
Default

which one where you thinking about buying for $55 wasserpest?

i hear what you're saying about the cost difference. but if it will get me to test more often, well... could argueably save a fish here and there.
jart is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-06-2003, 07:24 PM   #17
Wasserpest
Are these real?
 
Wasserpest's Avatar
 
PTrader: (176/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Monterey, CA
Posts: 15,138
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jart
which one where you thinking about buying for $55 wasserpest?

i hear what you're saying about the cost difference. but if it will get me to test more often, well... could argueably save a fish here and there.
The one discussed here, it's about 45 + 8 shipping, alright that makes it only $53...
I hardly test pH anymore... in the beginning I was more worried, but now I know that my tap water is 7.6, and thanks to efficient yeast CO2 the tank water is around 7, unless I forget to mix a new bottle now and then.
Right now I am more concerned with my NO3 which stubbornly tests at zero :roll:
Wasserpest is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-09-2003, 02:48 AM   #18
fade2black
Algae Grower
 
fade2black's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Mentor, Ohio
Posts: 13
Default

Check out the PinPoint monitors at premium aquatics. http://www.premiumaquatics.com. I got the monitor, AC adapter, and a bunch of calibration fluid for under $100 total. I run mine 24/7 on my reef tank and it is accurate to .01

Fade
__________________
Once a Marine, Always a Marine
fade2black is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-09-2003, 03:30 AM   #19
Doomer
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: The Boondocks
Posts: 468
Default

I've got a pinpoint monitor that becomes very unstable and thus unusable with the lights are on. Electrical interference problems are a well know "feature" of the pinpoint monitor. Get a Milwaukee instead.
Doomer is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-09-2003, 07:27 PM   #20
aquatic-store.com
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
aquatic-store.com's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: May 2003
Location: St. Louis Missouri
Posts: 598
Default

Price wise the milwaukee ones are much cheaper.
__________________
Marcus S Russo
JBJ powerheads buy 2 GET 1 FREE
LIVE PLANTS
Co2 supplies Largest on the net.
Dupla substrate heaters
http://www.water-testers.com.com
<p>Enter the 2005 Photo contest and win lighting, co2 supplies and more. </p>


http://www.aquatic-store.com/index2.html
aquatic-store.com is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-10-2003, 01:21 PM   #21
ddaquaria
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 222
Send a message via AIM to ddaquaria
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Doomer
I've got a pinpoint monitor that becomes very unstable and thus unusable with the lights are on. Electrical interference problems are a well know "feature" of the pinpoint monitor. Get a Milwaukee instead.
So that's my problem. I have a 5 yr old pinpoint that I am just putting to use now (bought a new probe-puppy chewed the first one 4 yrs, 50 weeks ago). Now, for about 2 or 3 days everything is great, but suddenly the ph started rising to 7.4 when it was only showing 7.0 previously. When I recaibrate with the 4 and 7 - it is way off.

Think I will try a milwaekee next also.
ddaquaria is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-10-2003, 01:48 PM   #22
aquatic-store.com
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
aquatic-store.com's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: May 2003
Location: St. Louis Missouri
Posts: 598
Default

How long has that probe been active? There is a link i saw somewhere about cleaning the probe. I could find it if you would like.
If the probe is only a few months ols then it sounds like your unit is going. Check with pinpoint and see if it is still under warrenty and possibly save some $$
If not you know where to get the lowest prices co2 items!!
__________________
Marcus S Russo
JBJ powerheads buy 2 GET 1 FREE
LIVE PLANTS
Co2 supplies Largest on the net.
Dupla substrate heaters
http://www.water-testers.com.com
<p>Enter the 2005 Photo contest and win lighting, co2 supplies and more. </p>


http://www.aquatic-store.com/index2.html
aquatic-store.com is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-10-2003, 02:00 PM   #23
ddaquaria
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 222
Send a message via AIM to ddaquaria
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aquatic-store.com
How long has that probe been active? There is a link i saw somewhere about cleaning the probe. I could find it if you would like.
If the probe is only a few months ols then it sounds like your unit is going. Check with pinpoint and see if it is still under warrenty and possibly save some $$
If not you know where to get the lowest prices co2 items!!
The new probe as been setup for about 2 weeks. I a going to try ot calibrate it with newly bought fluid and see how long that last. I doubt the unit is still under warranty since I have had it so long. The only problem is that I have not gotten a lot of use out of it. Once the puppy ate through the probe's wire, I put it in storage so it woul dnot be damaged.
ddaquaria is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-10-2003, 04:43 PM   #24
Doomer
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: The Boondocks
Posts: 468
Default

Here's the link on how to clean and maintain the probe. http://www.digital-analysis.com/pH_Probe_Service.htm

Mine was unstable right out of the box and hasn't gotten any better. Then again it hasn't gotten any worst. I also have a Milwaukee sms 122 and it's rock solid stable. Highly recommended.
Doomer is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electronic pH meter TeeItUp Fertilizers and Water Parameters 7 06-15-2004 12:07 PM
herbivore "safe" plant recommendations quilaho General Planted Tank Discussion 1 05-26-2004 07:38 PM
Milwaakakee ORP meter? Versus General Planted Tank Discussion 0 04-26-2004 04:03 AM
Black substrate recommendations; how much for 50 gallon? Kinketsu Substrate 14 11-19-2003 12:28 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012