Conditioning a Wine Barrel
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > General Planted Tank Discussion > Ponds


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-07-2011, 10:20 AM   #1
sAroock
Algae Grower
 
sAroock's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: earth
Posts: 122
Talking

Conditioning a Wine Barrel


Hi

Im setting up a container pond ready for spring and summer.
I'm using a oak half wine barrel (40G) as it looks most appealing, but its not without problems. I need to properly clean and remove the nasties from the wood.

Before I purchased it, the barrel had been in water, refilled 6 times for 3 months. I currently have it in dirty greenly algae water in full sun. This is a bid to clean it naturally, making bacteria deteriorate the bad stuff. Its been 2 weeks and now im seeing mosquito larvae and slime on da wood. Think this is a good sign? Is my barrel ready, at least aquatic-plant friendly ready?


appreciate any input or previous experiences.

*i dont want the hassle and cost of pond liner.
sAroock is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-24-2012, 10:37 PM   #2
xenxes
Gotta Catch 'Em All
 
xenxes's Avatar
 
PTrader: (37/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 2,663
Default

Is the inside still red?
xenxes is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-24-2012, 10:41 PM   #3
OverStocked
Planted Tank Guru
 
OverStocked's Avatar
 
PTrader: (76/94%)
Join Date: May 2007
Location: SoDak
Posts: 10,732
Default

You might not "want" the hassle of a pond liner, but you need it. Once cut in half, they are also significantly less water sound.

I definitely wouldn't put fish it in without a liner. They aren't that expensive on somethign that small.
OverStocked is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-25-2012, 03:28 AM   #4
mr_bob
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: san antonio, texas
Posts: 111
Default

i have gold fish in mine with out a liner at all. I was very worried id kill the fish with out one but i just went out and bought some feeder gold fish for 13 cents a piece just to find out but its doing fine no deaths yet in 3 months
mr_bob is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012