Surface aggitation
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Plants


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-14-2005, 08:07 PM   #1
rickyt
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Bogalusa, LA
Posts: 111
Default

Surface aggitation


How does surface aggitation affect plants?
rickyt is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-14-2005, 08:19 PM   #2
JeffB
Algae Grower
 
JeffB's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Massapequa, New York
Posts: 123
Default

Negatively, it allows CO2 to outgas. We do want current, just not surface agitation.
__________________
Jeff B
Algae farmer Extraordinaire
-----------------------------------------------
29gallon - AH Supply 1X55w 5500K, 1X13w Red (Night) CP -- pressurized C02, milwaukee regulator, DIY inline C02 Reactor -- Rena XP1
----------------------------------------
Hygrophila polysperma 'Rosanervig'
Echinodorus Uruguayensis "Amazon Sword"
Bacopa monnieri "moneywort"
Cryptocoryne wendtii ''brown''
Cryptocoryne wendtii ''green''
Hygrophila Difformis “Water Wisteria”
JeffB is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-16-2005, 03:33 AM   #3
PeteyPob
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PeteyPob's Avatar
 
PTrader: (33/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: San Antonio TX
Posts: 930
Default

I was just about to ask the same question. I dont want to rob this thread but heres my recent experiance. I recently had a problem when I tried to rid my tank of its aquaclear and just running the filstar canistar. When I unplugged the aquaclear and just ran filstar I noticed the same night that two of my sae jumped ship and all the rest of my fish were at the top gasping for air. I had my spraybar spraying down against the glass, so no current was anywhere near the surface. With the aquaclear there was always a current on the surface. Keeping in mind that I keep my water level high enough to where the water wont splash on the surface but stream into the tank. So I moved my spraybar to where it sprays up and against the glass so theres a current ont the surface. Does this count as surface agitation? What exactly is surface agitation? I want to try again and run the tank just with the filstar but afraid that history will repeat itself.
PeteyPob is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-16-2005, 04:48 AM   #4
Clone
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Clone's Avatar
 
PTrader: (7/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Lockport, NY
Posts: 655
Default

PeteyPob, it appears we both made the same mistake. When I switched my filtration from a Emperor to a Eheim canister I forgot to turn down the bubble rate. The other mistake I made was positioning my spraybar so there was no surface agitation at all, and soon developed a pretty funky scum layer at the water surface. IMO you want to make the water roll, not splash.
__________________
Clone is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-16-2005, 04:29 PM   #5
JeffB
Algae Grower
 
JeffB's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Massapequa, New York
Posts: 123
Default

At night plants compete for oxygen with the fish. It is not that the CO2 pushes the oxygen out. Placing the spray bar so there is a little surface current helps the O2 dissolve into the water. You might have to increase your bubble rate if you agitate the surface to minimize the drop of CO2 during the photosynthesis stage.
__________________
Jeff B
Algae farmer Extraordinaire
-----------------------------------------------
29gallon - AH Supply 1X55w 5500K, 1X13w Red (Night) CP -- pressurized C02, milwaukee regulator, DIY inline C02 Reactor -- Rena XP1
----------------------------------------
Hygrophila polysperma 'Rosanervig'
Echinodorus Uruguayensis "Amazon Sword"
Bacopa monnieri "moneywort"
Cryptocoryne wendtii ''brown''
Cryptocoryne wendtii ''green''
Hygrophila Difformis “Water Wisteria”
JeffB is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-16-2005, 05:33 PM   #6
PeteyPob
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PeteyPob's Avatar
 
PTrader: (33/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: San Antonio TX
Posts: 930
Default

I have a pH controller, I am hoping this will do the job and keep it at my pH at the desired range.
PeteyPob is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012