A Question about c02
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Plants


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-13-2005, 07:26 AM   #1
shuks
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: vancouver, bc
Posts: 626
Default

A Question about c02


Hay everyone..

Is it possible to grow big healthy plants in my 75 gallon tanks without a c02 canister. Currently, I made a DIY c02 system with two, 4 liter milk jugs. I know this wont do much, but I think it will raise the c02 by 3 or 4 ppm. im only using 130 watts of light over my 75 gallon so the plant's don't nesseceraly need a c02 tank to survive. With proper nutreince, will these plants grow big enough to cover the back wall of my aquarium? considering I only have a DIY co2 system and 130 watts of light.
shuks is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-13-2005, 11:26 PM   #2
capricorn77
Planted Member
 
capricorn77's Avatar
 
PTrader: (21/100%)
Join Date: May 2005
Location: San Ramon, CA
Posts: 268
Send a message via MSN to capricorn77 Send a message via Yahoo to capricorn77
Default

You can always supplement your DIY CO2 injection with daily doses of Flourish Excel.
I run 3 DIY CO2 devices on my measly 29 gallon tank, and still add Excel daily.
I have never been able to get my CO2 above 17ppm.
Mind you, I have little to no water surface disturbance, so I know the CO2 is being dissovled in the water.

Just my 2 cents...
__________________
member of SFBAAPS
capricorn77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2005, 07:01 AM   #3
shuks
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: vancouver, bc
Posts: 626
Default

maybe you're not diffusing the c02 in-to the water efficiently
shuks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2005, 03:45 PM   #4
capricorn77
Planted Member
 
capricorn77's Avatar
 
PTrader: (21/100%)
Join Date: May 2005
Location: San Ramon, CA
Posts: 268
Send a message via MSN to capricorn77 Send a message via Yahoo to capricorn77
Default

Good point shuks,
I kept thinking about it.
I'll describe how I am dissolving the CO2 in my tank, please tell me how I can improve on my setup.
I made one of those DIY CO2 reactors for one of the 3 CO2 yeast solutions.
The other 2 just feed into a glass diffuser bell. But one of them is situated right beneath my filter's intake tube, so all the bubbles get churned up by the filter's motor.

Let me know if you have some ideas on how to improve on this set up.

Thanks!
__________________
member of SFBAAPS
capricorn77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2005, 12:14 AM   #5
shuks
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: vancouver, bc
Posts: 626
Default

Great mindes think alike... lol.

I also use a diffuser bell that is located right under my aquaclear 500's intake tube. When the bell is full, the c02 bubbles get sucked right into my intake. I don't have a c02 test kit, so I don't know what the ppm is, but without using a comercialy bought diffuser, I belive that this is the best way of diffusing c02 into my tank. I wish I hade a c02 test kit so I could actually know how efficently the c02 is being diffused. I use a DIY c02 generator. I connected two, 4 liter milk jugs with sillicon air toobing and a 2 way gang valve. I thought that having two seperat jugs would double the pressure of the c02, but I'm only getting about 1 bubble every 2 seconds.
shuks is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012