Algae Help Needed!
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Algae


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-13-2011, 04:32 AM   #1
minipapio
Newbie
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 2
Default

Algae Help Needed!


Hey Y'all, I am in need of some really big help. I've been trying to start a planted aquarium for some time now and one problem leads to another and then to another and so on and so forth. My most cumbersome challenge has been this fuzzy algae that grows on the substrate, plants and the diffuser!

Currently, the pH is at 6.5 and KH at 5. I do routine water changes and am just lost... please help!

Here are some pictures of whats going on:
https://picasaweb.google.com/lrondue...eat=directlink
__________________
Trying to get a grasp of things,

LR
minipapio is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-25-2011, 04:23 PM   #2
ghotifish
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (10/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Olympia, WA
Posts: 289
Default

Welcome to TPT!

Holy smokes! That's some serious algae! Your pH and KH are fairly insignificant. What matters is Light and CO2. I'm pretty confident from that photo that you've got too much light. Fix the light then hire yourself a troup of algae eaters to clean up the mess. Shrimp and ottos should help.

There are various other things that cold be contributing to your situation. Post all the details of your tank (equipment, water additives, substrate, flora, fauna, temperature, and anything else you can think of) then folks here can help you figure out ways to improve.

Good luck!
ghotifish is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-25-2011, 06:38 PM   #3
Naekuh
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Naekuh's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 884
Default

do you have fish inside?

For now, i would nuke your tank with H2O2 without the fish in it..

like seriously get a big bottle and just DUMP it in.

But you would probably kill whatever u had inside the tank.
Naekuh is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-25-2011, 08:47 PM   #4
Kathyy
Planted Tank Guru
 
Kathyy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (33/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Newbury Park, CA
Posts: 3,096
Default

Tell us more about your set up. Diffuser sounds like you are using CO2 of some sort?? Light? Filtration, circulation, size and age of tank setup, fertilizing, substrate, flora and fauna?
__________________
Kathyy is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012