Nitrate 0???????
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Fertilizers and Water Parameters


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-11-2011, 06:41 PM   #1
smellslikefish
Algae Grower
 
smellslikefish's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 29
Default

Nitrate 0???????


Hi all,
here is some info about my tank:

tank: 2 gallon fluval spec
filter: sump with large sponge and 2 packs of biomax (I took out the activated carbon)
light: 13w fluval 6400k cfl clamp-on lamp
flora: nesaea "red"
hc (Hemianthus callitrichoides)
fauna: 6 espe's rasboras
1 spiral horn snail
1 amano shrimp
fert: 5 drops of excel daily
2 drops of flourish (multi-trace) twice every week
substrate: fluval stratum

So today I tested my water parameters with API master kit (manufactured feb 2011) and everything is good except nitrate

ph: 6.8
ammonia: 0ppm
nitrite: 0ppm
nitrate: 0ppm ?????????

I did the nitrate test three time and each test showed 0 ppm. I banged test solution #2 hard against on my desk (so hard it scared my fish) and shook the bottle until I sweated and my wrist cramped. After adding the solution I shook the tube for 1 minute as instructed, and after 5 minutes my test result was still 0 (bright yellow)!??? I could not believe it since I overstocked my tank. Did I do something wrong or is api test kit just not accurate enough? In addition I realize the old leaves of hc are browning/yellowing and melting away but new growth still green, could this mean nitrogen deficiency?
smellslikefish is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-11-2011, 06:45 PM   #2
wkndracer
Planted Tank Guru
 
wkndracer's Avatar
 
PTrader: (68/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Citrus County,Florida
Posts: 6,180
Default

check the sticky for Hoppy's thread on making calibration solution's and use distilled to verify zero or the results are questionable if not useless.

this one:
http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/fe...-chemists.html
__________________
The Fraternity of Dirt
If at first you don't succeed,,, keep kicking it
RubberSideDownOnTheLanding,
2-75g planted, 5-55g planted, 5-20g planted, 110g w/30g sump, 8-10g, Refugium, doghouse/newbie
2012 update adding table top pleco pans & a 90g (Nutz)
wkndracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2011, 08:42 PM   #3
OverStocked
Planted Tank Guru
 
OverStocked's Avatar
 
PTrader: (76/94%)
Join Date: May 2007
Location: SoDak
Posts: 10,732
Default

A zero reading is pretty hard to screw up. Not much needed to "calibrate" that.

However, a zero reading isn't surprising. You aren't dosing any nitrate. Your plants are consuming what your livestock is putting out. Nothing crazy there.
OverStocked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2011, 08:51 PM   #4
wkndracer
Planted Tank Guru
 
wkndracer's Avatar
 
PTrader: (68/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Citrus County,Florida
Posts: 6,180
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OverStocked View Post
A zero reading is pretty hard to screw up. Not much needed to "calibrate" that.

Nothing crazy there.
never say never, deep breath LOL
my wife reversed the order on adding the chemicals (more than once) and results were 0.0 on a tank with 20ppm. totally failed kit (new) would be do the same
__________________
The Fraternity of Dirt
If at first you don't succeed,,, keep kicking it
RubberSideDownOnTheLanding,
2-75g planted, 5-55g planted, 5-20g planted, 110g w/30g sump, 8-10g, Refugium, doghouse/newbie
2012 update adding table top pleco pans & a 90g (Nutz)
wkndracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2011, 09:21 PM   #5
tetra73
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: New York City.
Posts: 1,806
Default

I see you did shake the bottle #2 violently. Is time to add some Nitrate now. You only dose trace and add Excel (CO2 substitute only). Your aquarium isn't the nature. You should have "extra" nitrate. Considering your plants aren't doing well, you definitely need to add some nitrate.
tetra73 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2011, 03:15 PM   #6
smellslikefish
Algae Grower
 
smellslikefish's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 29
Default

Thanks everyone for the feedbacks! Calibrating on the surface (just by scrolling down the sticky) seems like an arduous procedure for newbies like me, but I shall look deeper into that as I get more experienced. I will be visiting the pet shop again soon and will bring a sample of my water for them to test, which will hopefully verify the accuracy of the test kit. If the water is lacking in NO3, would seachem nitrogen be a good choice?
smellslikefish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2011, 03:26 PM   #7
Betta Maniac
Wanabe BKK Herder
 
Betta Maniac's Avatar
 
PTrader: (17/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: IHella<3Oakland
Posts: 2,159
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OverStocked View Post
A zero reading is pretty hard to screw up. Not much needed to "calibrate" that.

However, a zero reading isn't surprising. You aren't dosing any nitrate. Your plants are consuming what your livestock is putting out. Nothing crazy there.
Yep. I have to dose Nitrate in all of my tanks.
__________________
Betta Maniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2011, 05:10 PM   #8
Sharkfood
Planted Tank Guru
 
Sharkfood's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Pittsburgh, Pa
Posts: 2,536
Default

A nitrate reading of zero in your planted tank is going to be the usual result if you aren't adding nitrate.
Sharkfood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2011, 05:38 PM   #9
Abrium
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Abrium's Avatar
 
PTrader: (11/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: A day late and a dollar short.
Posts: 687
Send a message via Yahoo to Abrium Send a message via Skype™ to Abrium
Default

Go to the store and buy some nitrates? I kid, I kid...
__________________
Abrium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2011, 01:06 AM   #10
smellslikefish
Algae Grower
 
smellslikefish's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 29
Default

Thank all, I started dosing flourish nitrogen and the results were amazing. <3
smellslikefish is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
api test kits, hemianthus c, nitrate, pico, plant growth

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012