Surface skimmer and filter for plants
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Equipment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-21-2011, 02:38 AM   #1
maknwar
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
maknwar's Avatar
 
PTrader: (67/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 910
Default

Surface skimmer and filter for plants


I bought an aquaclear surface skimmer and need a filter to hook it up to. Im trying to use the skimmer to suck up all the watermeal and other floating plants blocking light. Should i just get a small aquaclear hob filter? Anyone have any input on size or anything else i could be missing?
__________________
maknwar is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-21-2011, 02:23 PM   #2
KH2PO4
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: N/A
Posts: 318
Default

From my experience using skimmers, they are fine to clear surface film
or dust but too wimpy for clearing bigger stuffs like those surface plants.

This thing should work.
http://www.aquaticplantcentral.com/f...e-skimmer.html
KH2PO4 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-21-2011, 02:27 PM   #3
reybie
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (51/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Hotrizona
Posts: 977
Default

Yeah the link KH2PO4 should be a good temporary fix. The surface skimmers would clog really fast and won't get the bigger floaters. That's a good DIY for after trimming, especially HC, DHG and those smaller leaf ground covers.
reybie is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-26-2011, 08:39 PM   #4
maknwar
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
maknwar's Avatar
 
PTrader: (67/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 910
Default

I am going to try a better version. I made one of those and it didnt turn out that well.
__________________
maknwar is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-26-2011, 09:55 PM   #5
Naekuh
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Naekuh's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 884
Default

u can lose a lot of CO2 in surface skimming.

i reciently added a sponge on the bottom of my intake, and it made more water get pulled though the top skim.

This made me lose a LOT of CO2!! no im not kidding... my mix max reactor was having problems keeping it in the lime green with 2 bps on a 10 gallon tank.

if u use one.. make the surface skimming very minimal..
Naekuh is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-27-2011, 06:09 PM   #6
m00se
Wannabe Guru
 
m00se's Avatar
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 1,481
Default

Funny you should mention surface skimmers. I am researching how best to go about this very thing. I notice these Tom's and Fluval and Aquaclear units all look pretty-much the same except for packaging and minor things like attachments. My 40b has an FX5 on it with 1" intake hose. I don't want to choke it back at all, so I was thinking that maybe if I got two of these things that there would be enough flow out of both of them into a PVC wye then into the canister hose, it would be enough. Any advice?

I am looking at: 260829311908 on e-bay X2

Thanks!

BTW - I tried that upside down soda bottle trick. Helpful hint: Don't use a Maxi-Jet 1200!!! That thing almost pulled the silicone out of the corners!!!
m00se is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-27-2011, 06:24 PM   #7
Naekuh
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Naekuh's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 884
Default

my sun sun has a surface skimmer which works good.

The problem was when i added a sponge on the bottom, it reduced the flow going from the bottom, and made the surface skimmer pull more.

This also made it pull air when it was skimming, and well... i wasnt kidding about a max mix reactor having problems..

When this setup @ 2BPS isnt holding lime green on a small 10 gallon:


You know your losing a LOT OF CO2.

Anyhow.. i removed the surface skimmer and BAM, in 20 minutes i got my lime green again.
Naekuh is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-27-2011, 06:50 PM   #8
m00se
Wannabe Guru
 
m00se's Avatar
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 1,481
Default

While I can't argue with your results, I wonder why that is? Is it agitation or just that the air-to-water interface is better now that there's no film/dust on the surface?
m00se is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-27-2011, 07:00 PM   #9
Naekuh
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Naekuh's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 884
Default

as it was spiraling down the overflow, i think it was losing CO2 inside the skimmer.

My canister would burp once in a while... but its no joke at how much co2 i was losing..

if u use a skimmer, have it do a small spiral.. and not a big one which goes half way down the pipe.
Naekuh is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-08-2012, 04:51 AM   #10
HunterTank90
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: virginia beach, virginia
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Naekuh View Post
u can lose a lot of CO2 in surface skimming.

i reciently added a sponge on the bottom of my intake, and it made more water get pulled though the top skim.

This made me lose a LOT of CO2!! no im not kidding... my mix max reactor was having problems keeping it in the lime green with 2 bps on a 10 gallon tank.

if u use one.. make the surface skimming very minimal..
Which skimmer did you use for 10 gallon tank? I want to buy a small skimmer but don't know what side I should get.
HunterTank90 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-08-2012, 01:15 PM   #11
HD Blazingwolf
Planted Tank Guru
 
HD Blazingwolf's Avatar
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,907
Default

EH, 2bps isn' a lot i run like 7 on my 29g with wet/dry filter and overflow box. my dc is yellow
__________________
HD Blazingwolf is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-08-2012, 10:17 PM   #12
m00se
Wannabe Guru
 
m00se's Avatar
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 1,481
Default

I wound up putting 2 air stones on opposite sides of my tank in the back corners on a $10 walmart air pump and timer. Turn on for 30 minutes in the middle of the day when lights are off and no more scum. Works like a charm! No CO2 impact.
m00se is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012