Does BBA grow on glass?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Algae


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-04-2011, 12:38 AM   #1
kilfrg7864
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: May 2010
Location: CA
Posts: 183
Default

Does BBA grow on glass?


for some reason today i just looked at my tank and Im seeing alot of BBA starting to grow on my plants.

This has never happened before in my 3 years of having the tank and seems to have just started once i switched to pressurized co2 instead of using excel.

But while im almost 100% its BBA on my plants, there is some fuzzy like algae growing on my glass on my aquarium. Usually the only algae that has grown on the glass was diatoms, spot algae and dust algae.
So i was wondering if this fuzzy like stuff thats showing up all over my glass BBA too ???
kilfrg7864 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-04-2011, 12:41 AM   #2
mistergreen
No more Bow ties
 
mistergreen's Avatar
 
PTrader: (13/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 14,128
Default

BBA can grow on glass.
mistergreen is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2011, 12:51 AM   #3
kilfrg7864
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: May 2010
Location: CA
Posts: 183
Default

I set up my CO2 a few weeks ago and am still trying to dial in a constant bubble rate.

Is that what is causing the outbreak?

bleh... ive never had this problem until i decided to go pressurized co2
kilfrg7864 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2011, 11:17 AM   #4
barbarossa4122
Wannabe Guru
 
barbarossa4122's Avatar
 
PTrader: (19/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Forest Hills, NY
Posts: 1,473
Default

Absolutely.
__________________
"Ich Hatte Einen Kameraden"
barbarossa4122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2011, 11:19 AM   #5
barbarossa4122
Wannabe Guru
 
barbarossa4122's Avatar
 
PTrader: (19/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Forest Hills, NY
Posts: 1,473
Default

If your co2 fluctuates to much, yes this will be some of the causes. It happened to me when I was playing around with bps.
__________________
"Ich Hatte Einen Kameraden"
barbarossa4122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2011, 11:45 AM   #6
ashes2ashes
Planted Member
 
ashes2ashes's Avatar
 
PTrader: (13/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: lexington, SC
Posts: 229
Default

It's def the C02, and yes, BBA can def grow on the glass. It usually starts with the plants and substrate and then moves to the glass, but it's completely capable of it.
ashes2ashes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2011, 11:50 AM   #7
barbarossa4122
Wannabe Guru
 
barbarossa4122's Avatar
 
PTrader: (19/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Forest Hills, NY
Posts: 1,473
Default

Bba usually grows more on the back glass. I noticed this when I used to play around with the bps.
__________________
"Ich Hatte Einen Kameraden"
barbarossa4122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2011, 02:44 PM   #8
NWA-Planted
Planted Tank Guru
 
NWA-Planted's Avatar
 
PTrader: (10/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Bentonville, AR
Posts: 3,398
Default

Whats the best way to get rid of this fuzzy nuisance? It started breaking out in my new tank before I had a chance to get my CO2 up and going, I dont really bother with the bubble counter I have it tuned to my drop checker and have the needle valve set there, then just turn on and off the CO2 (havent invested in a solonoid yet). Just wondering what else I can do to get rid of it, have my CO2 running, fertlizing, and picked up some siamese algea eaters (supposedly eat BBA) but it only seems to be getting worse
NWA-Planted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2011, 10:26 PM   #9
PinoyBoy
Wannabe Guru
 
PinoyBoy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: WA, USA
Posts: 1,349
Default

A pack of 100 of these usually costs around 5-10 dollars at your home improvement store:



Then slowly (and safely) start scrapping. You will most likely use only 1 or 2, depending on the size of the tank. Remember, this is only for glass tanks. Have an air line with a vaccuum suction so you can scrape and the hose can vaccuum it.
__________________
Currently out of the hobby
Forum lurking every now and then
PinoyBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 12:15 PM   #10
redfishsc
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Wake Forest NC
Posts: 1,121
Default

I've also found dosing Excel (or, the way cheaper version, glutaraldehyde-- I use Metricide 14) does a phenominal job of killing it. Very helpful in a tank without CO2 as well-- currently i do not use CO2.
redfishsc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 06:10 PM   #11
NWA-Planted
Planted Tank Guru
 
NWA-Planted's Avatar
 
PTrader: (10/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Bentonville, AR
Posts: 3,398
Default

May try the excel... Sounds easy enough
NWA-Planted is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012