Got my Filstar XP3!!!
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Equipment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-07-2003, 01:10 AM   #1
SNPiccolo5
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
SNPiccolo5's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 859
Default

I got my XP3 today at around 5:00 Central time. I thought it wasn't going to be until tomorrow, but surprisingly, UPS cut it right to 5:00, good for me though!! Anyway, the ease of setting it up was pretty simple, especially the priming it and starting it. I guess that is supposed to be hard for canisters, but as this is my first, I'd say it is easier than my Emperor 400 was at first, so it was simple.

The noise is MUCH LESS than my emperor 400 is, and I am extremely satisfied with all the room for media, and especially the options for outake styles. However, this is where one thing comes into concern. I picked the spray bar, and changed it a little (don't worry, I just didn't add the output extension tube or whatever it is called). So, the spraybar is aranges vertically instead of horizontally, I figured this will help tank circulation more.

Everything here works fine, but the filter is a little too strong, I mean, I think I have it situated in a situation that is good, but is it normal to have some plants "blowing" in the water? It really isn't a sway. When I had it arranged to blow accross the back (like Rex said he had his), it practically blew this one plant over (well, the plant that is normally about 12" tall became horizontally fixed and was about 3-4" tall). I adjusted it a little, and it seems to be under control, but I don't really know where all the strong current it since my tank isn't the heaviest planted tank, in fact it is quite lightly planted- stupid algae... Any tips to reduce the flow, or force with wich the water comes out (like making the holes on the spray bar bigger?).

I am going to keep my emperor 400 on the tank for a couple of days before I take it off (I will be SOOOOOO happy), it is such an eye sore in the tank right now....

All I have to say, is that even though it is my first canister filter, I'd be surprised if I was further impressed by an Eheim or other (unless it was an Eheim pro, but those are in a different price range). I am completely satisfied with my first canister filter, and would highly recomend *sp* this filter to anyone who is considering it! (I can now officially change my signature)

-Tim
__________________
Tank in transition! 55 gallons, hard water.
SNPiccolo5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-07-2003, 01:20 AM   #2
Rex Grigg
Planted Tank Guru
 
Rex Grigg's Avatar
 
PTrader: (65/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Portland Orygun
Posts: 9,600
Send a message via ICQ to Rex Grigg Send a message via AIM to Rex Grigg
Default

As soon as the sponges build a bacteria colony the current will decrease. Or you could add a reactor to the output.
Rex Grigg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2003, 01:54 AM   #3
clearASmud
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 65
Default

how much you have paid for them?
clearASmud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2003, 01:44 PM   #4
Rex Grigg
Planted Tank Guru
 
Rex Grigg's Avatar
 
PTrader: (65/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Portland Orygun
Posts: 9,600
Send a message via ICQ to Rex Grigg Send a message via AIM to Rex Grigg
Default

Paid for what?
Rex Grigg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2003, 02:35 PM   #5
SNPiccolo5
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
SNPiccolo5's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 859
Default

If you mean the filter, it was $94.99 at Big Als Online. As far as media is concerned, it came with 1 bag of ceramic rings, two of the course sponges, two of the medium ones, one micro filter, and one bio-chem zorb pouch (it's like carbon, I'm not using it).

-Tim
__________________
Tank in transition! 55 gallons, hard water.
SNPiccolo5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2003, 02:38 PM   #6
digger
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 519
Send a message via ICQ to digger
Default

SNPiccolo: I have some free 2" pvc sections big enough for a reactor if you want to build an external one. Also free bioballs to fill it with.
digger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2003, 02:48 PM   #7
Guttboy
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Albuquerque, NM, USA
Posts: 752
Send a message via AIM to Guttboy
Default

SNPiccolo,

I am running TWO XP3's in my 100 gallon....the one has a co2 reactor on it...the other one has just the little pads in it no media yet thats in my other. I do have swaying AND blowing kinda. I rigged both spraybars to blow horizontally about 3/4 inch under the water to the front of the tank. The surface is not agitated much. I also turned down the flow on the spraybar on the no CO2 reactor one.

Remember you have that knob that can reduce flow. Another option is to drill more holes in the spraybar. BUT I have not done this.

Mike
__________________
Mike
100 Gal Planted, two Filstar XP3, Milwaukee SMS 122 pH controller, Milwaukee reg/bubble, compressed CO2, reactor 1000, 7 WCMM, 12 Ottos, 14 neons, 1 SAE, 3 German blue rams, 2 Florida Flag Fish

10 Gallon...20 Endler's live bearers planted, peat/kitty litter/sand substrate

15 Gallon...Just Schultz Aquatic Plant soil
Guttboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2003, 04:16 PM   #8
SNPiccolo5
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
SNPiccolo5's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 859
Default

Anyone have good suggestions for how to build a DIY external CO2 reactor? I tried one, but the bubbles ended up getting squirted out the other end, was a Rio 600 too powerful for that? I'd like a Reactor 1000, but if I can do it DIY, that might work better....

-Tim
__________________
Tank in transition! 55 gallons, hard water.
SNPiccolo5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2003, 06:13 PM   #9
m.lemay
Planted Tank Guru
 
m.lemay's Avatar
 
PTrader: (9/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Naugatuck, CT.
Posts: 2,647
Default

Check out this thread.http://www.plantedtank.net/forum/vie...hlight=reactor

Marcel
__________________
FILSTAR Pimp #2

75 gal heavily planted,50/50 Black beauty,Eco-complete substrate, Pressurised CO2 with solenoid, ph controller, AB Reactor 1000, 330 watts 9325K GE PC lighting,Ehiem Liquidoser, 2-Filstar xp3 canisters.
m.lemay is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rena Filstar XP series Review AJ_Wave Equipment 29 04-02-2013 06:14 PM
filstar xp3 venturi lbsfarms Equipment 12 05-26-2005 01:17 PM
Rena Filstar XP 3 question lokobreed Equipment 12 03-13-2004 04:04 AM
Maintenence shedule for a FILSTAR XP2 firefish62 General Planted Tank Discussion 5 01-28-2004 08:38 PM
Yet another Filstar XP topic. mario Equipment 2 07-15-2003 08:58 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012