How to build a co2 regulator [56k!] - Page 3
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Equipment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-13-2011, 04:58 PM   #31
inkslinger
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Taunton ,MA
Posts: 1,694
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by inkslinger View Post
How do I change a CGA on a brand new regulator, {is it lefty loosely}
What size deep socket will work for a 580 cga
I had to turn into the "HULK" and got both the CGA an the shut off valve off and added the 320 cga on will post pic's later .


inkslinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-13-2011, 05:38 PM   #32
audioaficionado
Planted Tank Guru
 
audioaficionado's Avatar
 
PTrader: (9/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Medford, Orygun
Posts: 2,198
Default

An adjustable crescent wrench did the trick nicely for me. I am the Hulk!
__________________
Steve

45 gal tall high-tech : 2-23-12 update
Complete CO2 Leak Test : How to build a CO2 regulator


Never argue with a fool. Onlookers often can't tell the difference.
Growing older is mandatory, growing up is optional.
My advice is free and worth every penny.
audioaficionado is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2011, 01:15 AM   #33
POTSHOT
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: May 2011
Location: San Jose,CA
Posts: 23
Default

I got an interesting question after asking a local CO2 supplier whether they carried CGA320 adapters (nipple & nut) since I needed to replace the existing CGA350. He was concerned and asked me what gas the regulator was used for since a 350 is mostly used for methane, hydrogen and other explosive gases. His concern was whether the regulator (an E12 244b) could or should be used with CO2. I did tell him that it was a new reg. and never used.
He may not know much about regulators specifically which prompted the question.
I assume there really is no concern with converting from its intended gas to CO2 ??
POTSHOT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2011, 02:01 AM   #34
oldpunk78
ಠ_ಠ
 
oldpunk78's Avatar
 
PTrader: (105/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: 96007
Posts: 5,213
Default

Nope. No concern. Co2 is an inert gas and isn't hard on regulators. His concern was probably with a high flow(freezing) situation anyway.
oldpunk78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2011, 11:30 PM   #35
Pooch
Algae Grower
 
Pooch's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Fargo, ND
Posts: 65
Default

Fantastic work OP!

Thanks for the great write up.

Sticky Plz.
Pooch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2011, 12:07 AM   #36
oldpunk78
ಠ_ಠ
 
oldpunk78's Avatar
 
PTrader: (105/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: 96007
Posts: 5,213
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pooch View Post
Fantastic work OP!

Thanks for the great write up.

Sticky Plz.
Thank you, Pooch!

I don't know how many of you have been in need of Swagelok tube fitting part numbers, but I just added some of the more commonly needed ones. If you don't see the ones you need, just let me know.
oldpunk78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2011, 11:33 AM   #37
drbotts
Planted Member
 
drbotts's Avatar
 
PTrader: (14/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 161
Default

I second promoting this as a sticky and suggest more do the same. This is extremely valuable for tons of noobs and experienced PT'ers alike.

@oldpunk and @POTSHOT Oldpunk, I took a Airgas CGA350 and migrated it to a CGA 320. My airgas store said a similar thing to me. It stems from FDA and CGA posters and regulations that say not to move used regulators from flammable or explosive gasses to anything any different. Doing so, may be dangerous. The salesman's point to me was, he couldn't do it. He said that sometimes gas gets trapped inside the regulator and when you remove the nut and nipple, flammable gasses can ignite and explode.
My personal opinion... I'll do it myself. I'm not hugely worried about this and I think you just have to use some common since. I look at this as just one more regulation/concern a big agency has to have to protect people from themselves. Just MY PERSONAL 2c.... Everybody else.... follow the rules. haha
__________________
55 Gallon 30G Hex Front Journal Other Tanks: Fluval Edge, 20G Long Grow Tank, 55 Gallon Angel, 20G Tall Breeder
drbotts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2011, 08:53 PM   #38
POTSHOT
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: May 2011
Location: San Jose,CA
Posts: 23
Default

drbotts - yeah, I suspected the concern was will trapped gas but you got better reasoning than I did. At least in my case, I'm working with a new regulator.
Folks on this forum convert and rebuild regs all the time so if there was even one insident it would result in a major discussion.
I havn't had time to mess around with my reg yet nor chase down the 320 fitting. I noticed makinwar has or had 350 nipple/nut so I'm thinking of just going that route.
Thanks for the additional info!
POTSHOT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2011, 09:06 PM   #39
oldpunk78
ಠ_ಠ
 
oldpunk78's Avatar
 
PTrader: (105/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: 96007
Posts: 5,213
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by POTSHOT View Post
I noticed makinwar has or had 350 nipple/nut so I'm thinking of just going that route.
Did you mean 320? His chrome plated one are nice. You can even get the filter insert for it.
oldpunk78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2011, 09:16 PM   #40
POTSHOT
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: May 2011
Location: San Jose,CA
Posts: 23
Default

OOps.. yes... 350 is what's on the reg. now. My reg is chrome over brass so that fitting would keep with the cosmetics.
POTSHOT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2011, 09:19 PM   #41
POTSHOT
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: May 2011
Location: San Jose,CA
Posts: 23
Default

BTW, is there any special reason for the filter? Ultimately I'll be using a new aluminium tank so I couldn't have to worry about contaminates right?
POTSHOT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2011, 09:33 PM   #42
Bettatail
Planted Tank Guru
 
Bettatail's Avatar
 
PTrader: (86/98%)
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 2,433
Default

filter is necessary in most cases, or debris can get in the reg and clog the poppet valve.
for some regulators the inlet screen filter might not be good enough, I am currently dealing with two of these kind of regulators right now, they are the low flow vacuum regs, the orifice at the poppet valve is really small, really easy to get clog, I have to add the inline vacuum filters.
Bettatail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2011, 09:40 PM   #43
POTSHOT
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: May 2011
Location: San Jose,CA
Posts: 23
Default

Thankd for the advise! I would have passed that adder up, sure appreciate the experience!
POTSHOT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2011, 09:40 PM   #44
Bettatail
Planted Tank Guru
 
Bettatail's Avatar
 
PTrader: (86/98%)
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 2,433
Default

vacuum parts are really cost, components and the fittings alike, and I believe that is how far we can go, there is nothing else beyond that point.

wish me good luck, building a spacecraft if the precedent high end systems are Ferrari.
Bettatail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2011, 09:52 PM   #45
POTSHOT
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: May 2011
Location: San Jose,CA
Posts: 23
Default

Great.. more stuff find and buy? This is the first info I've read about input filtering. Unique to the Airproducts E12 244B's?
POTSHOT is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012