API Test Kits for Successful CRS and Bee Shrimp rearing?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Shrimp & Other Invertebrates


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-07-2011, 08:27 PM   #1
MsNemoShrimp
ღ Miss ShrimpTastic! ஐ...
 
MsNemoShrimp's Avatar
 
PTrader: (385/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: La Jolla, CA
Posts: 2,373
Question

API Test Kits for Successful CRS and Bee Shrimp rearing?


http://www.kensfish.com/api-test-kits.html

Mandatory (will fail without):
API Deluxe PH Test Kit
API Ammonia Test Kit
API GH & KH Test Kit

Optional (can do without):
API Nitrate Test Kit
API Nitrite Test Kit
API Copper Test Kit
API Calcium Test Kit
API Phosphate Test Kit

Please correct me if I am wrong. Thanks!
__________________
`.. ....`...Miss My - I'm 23 - UCSD Graduate.....۩۩๑๑۩۞۩๑
MsNemoShrimp is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-07-2011, 08:43 PM   #2
GeToChKn
Planted Tank Guru
 
GeToChKn's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,116
Default

Nitrite is good to know when a tank is done cycling, or if you are having die off's, its a good thing to test in addition to ammonia. Nitrate as well should be test time to time to know if a WC is in order. I've never bothered with copper/calcium/phosphate before.

The API master kit comes with ph/ammonia/nitrite/nitrate and then get the gh/kh and should be good really. Watching the ammonia/nitrite/nitrate is really the only way to know if a tank is fully cycled or not as you should be able to follow a graph like this.



to really know whats going on with the tank and params. Sometimes with established media and a good source of ammonia, a tank can cycle in a week or two. Other times it can months and without readying all 3 of those, you will really never know for sure whats going on with it as you can see from the graph, ammonia may be almost zero and you think its done but you're in the nitrite phase instead and no where near doing being cycled. Like I said, its good if you start to have a few die offs to test all 3 and see whats up.
__________________
20g platy, , 2 x 10g shrimp, 3 x 20g shrimp, 7.5g shrimp and 1 great dane/mastiff puppy.

Sump Pimp #2

My Tanks and my shrimps
GeToChKn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2011, 08:46 PM   #3
sayurasem
SCAPEr
 
sayurasem's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Loma Linda, CA
Posts: 2,558
Default

I kinda hate the master kit.... its like a bottle neck for me. they have 2 ph reagents, 2 amonia reagents.... your not even going to use that much.

I like the Professional but its like 60 bucks lol.

well for me (cycled tank required) PH, GH, KH is all you need. Well you don't even need GH KH kit if you really really really trusted your RO unit/ source.
sayurasem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2011, 09:09 PM   #4
MsNemoShrimp
ღ Miss ShrimpTastic! ஐ...
 
MsNemoShrimp's Avatar
 
PTrader: (385/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: La Jolla, CA
Posts: 2,373
Default

Most of the time when I take my water to Petsmart to get it tested, nitrite/nitrate is either 0 or only 10ppm so I thought its almost negligible once the tank is established and water changes at least once a month.
__________________
`.. ....`...Miss My - I'm 23 - UCSD Graduate.....۩۩๑๑۩۞۩๑
MsNemoShrimp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2011, 09:11 PM   #5
OverStocked
Planted Tank Guru
 
OverStocked's Avatar
 
PTrader: (76/94%)
Join Date: May 2007
Location: SoDak
Posts: 10,732
Default

I've been breeding shrimp of varying levels for a few years. I've never once tested my pH. Also, there should be no ammonia in a cycled tank.

I personally think test strips are a waste of money and space... Most people do not understand their shelf lives, how to properly use them, or calibrate them.
OverStocked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2011, 11:52 PM   #6
MsNemoShrimp
ღ Miss ShrimpTastic! ஐ...
 
MsNemoShrimp's Avatar
 
PTrader: (385/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: La Jolla, CA
Posts: 2,373
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OverStocked View Post
I've been breeding shrimp of varying levels for a few years. I've never once tested my pH. Also, there should be no ammonia in a cycled tank.

I personally think test strips are a waste of money and space... Most people do not understand their shelf lives, how to properly use them, or calibrate them.
Interesting. Do you base it off just the TDS then?
__________________
`.. ....`...Miss My - I'm 23 - UCSD Graduate.....۩۩๑๑۩۞۩๑
MsNemoShrimp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 12:30 AM   #7
sayurasem
SCAPEr
 
sayurasem's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Loma Linda, CA
Posts: 2,558
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NeoShrimp View Post
Interesting. Do you base it off just the TDS then?
no. He basically look at mother nature. if shrimps keep breeding (or at least born > deaths) don't even bother to buy test kits.
sayurasem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 01:00 AM   #8
Danimals
Algae Grower
 
Danimals's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Annandale, VA
Posts: 119
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NeoShrimp View Post
Most of the time when I take my water to Petsmart to get it tested, nitrite/nitrate is either 0 or only 10ppm so I thought its almost negligible once the tank is established and water changes at least once a month.
Does the PetSmart in your area use the strips or actual drop tests? All the LFS (big box and otherwise) all use strips in my area.
Danimals is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 01:02 AM   #9
GeToChKn
Planted Tank Guru
 
GeToChKn's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,116
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danimals View Post
Does the PetSmart in your area use the strips or actual drop tests? All the LFS (big box and otherwise) all use strips in my area.
My local Big Al's uses liquid API kit. To me, its a good thing to have to test for all the basics, especially once MTS gets you and you are always setting up tanks. lol.
__________________
20g platy, , 2 x 10g shrimp, 3 x 20g shrimp, 7.5g shrimp and 1 great dane/mastiff puppy.

Sump Pimp #2

My Tanks and my shrimps
GeToChKn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 01:11 AM   #10
MsNemoShrimp
ღ Miss ShrimpTastic! ஐ...
 
MsNemoShrimp's Avatar
 
PTrader: (385/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: La Jolla, CA
Posts: 2,373
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danimals View Post
Does the PetSmart in your area use the strips or actual drop tests? All the LFS (big box and otherwise) all use strips in my area.
They only use strips but they are nice enough to do it properly. As in waiting for the right about of time, writing it down on a sheet and even showed me the results just to doublecheck.
__________________
`.. ....`...Miss My - I'm 23 - UCSD Graduate.....۩۩๑๑۩۞۩๑
MsNemoShrimp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 01:34 AM   #11
OverStocked
Planted Tank Guru
 
OverStocked's Avatar
 
PTrader: (76/94%)
Join Date: May 2007
Location: SoDak
Posts: 10,732
Default

I do weekly 50% water changes. That is it.

If you cycle a tank it should never have ammonia/nitrite. Once you have one cycled tank, getting the rest cycled is basically as easy as using some substrate or filter media from an established tank. For breeders, I use "dual" sponge filters. I just take one of the sponge filters out of the established tank and then put a new one in its place. Put the old one in a new tank and bam, instant cycle.

Shrimp have such a low bioload that it takes next to nothing if you haven't overfed.


I guess I'm not sure what you expect having these test kits will accomplish? If your shrimp are breeding good. If they are not, the list is relatively easy to fix. And those test strips from the lfs prob give you more than a close enough look at what is going on. Knowing gh and kh roughly gives you an idea of where to go, but once you establish a routine there is little need to change it.

A 9 dollar tds meter from ebay is the only thing I run.

You'd be further ahead buying something like shrimp stratum or aquasoil rather than all those test kits.
OverStocked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 03:05 AM   #12
Lesley
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (16/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 278
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GeToChKn View Post
My local Big Al's uses liquid API kit. To me, its a good thing to have to test for all the basics, especially once MTS gets you and you are always setting up tanks. lol.

HI
Wondering what you meant by "Once MTS gets you". Thanks
Lesley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 03:13 AM   #13
mordalphus
These pants? are fancy.
 
mordalphus's Avatar
 
PTrader: (272/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 7,997
Default

MTS = mineralized top soil
mordalphus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 03:14 AM   #14
mordalphus
These pants? are fancy.
 
mordalphus's Avatar
 
PTrader: (272/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 7,997
Default

Test kits are useful in 3 situations.

When first setting up a tank.

And when a problem occurs.

The third reason is purely OCD based. And that's verifying parameters.

If you indulge in verifying, I suggest you limit it to once a week.
mordalphus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 03:15 AM   #15
Lesley
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (16/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 278
Default

LOL, Ok.......... I thought it stood for Malaysian Trumpet Snails..... Silly me. Thanks
Lesley is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
api test kits, bee shrimp

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012