API Saltwater kit used in Freshwater?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Fertilizers and Water Parameters


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-01-2011, 03:59 AM   #1
dfunk
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Reno,NV
Posts: 8
Default

API Saltwater kit used in Freshwater?


I've got this salt water kit which contains nitrate/nitrite/ph/high ph/ammonia tests. The result cards say "saltwater nitrate" "Saltwater high ph"... etc. Are the test solutions different for fresh or would the readings be accurate for fresh?

Thanks guys!
dfunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-01-2011, 04:06 AM   #2
Jeffww
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (9/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Houston
Posts: 2,258
Default

The same reagents I think. pH is not though. They use a higher pH indicator. Nitrites may be different too but you can look up the MSDS from API and find out.
Jeffww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2011, 05:03 AM   #3
TeamTeal
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
TeamTeal's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 883
Default

not all of it will work
__________________
-SF Giants WS champs-
Haters gonna Hate

TeamTeal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012