Beginning Water Changes?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Fertilizers and Water Parameters


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-30-2011, 05:23 PM   #1
jkan0228
Planted Tank Guru
 
jkan0228's Avatar
 
PTrader: (115/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Beaverton, Oregon
Posts: 5,457
Default

Beginning Water Changes?


So when you set up a new tank, why is it that you need to change the water 2-3x a week? Since wouldn't building up the ammonia level be better for the growing bacteria?
jkan0228 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-30-2011, 11:24 PM   #2
Hoppy
Planted Tank Guru
 
Hoppy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (74/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 18,666
Default

If you are using ADA Aquasoil Amazonia substrate, you need to do lots of water changes in the beginning because that substrate will leach ammonia into the water for a few weeks. With any other substrate I don't know why you would do that many water changes. I never have.
__________________
Hoppy
Hoppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2011, 11:45 PM   #3
jkan0228
Planted Tank Guru
 
jkan0228's Avatar
 
PTrader: (115/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Beaverton, Oregon
Posts: 5,457
Default

But wouldn't the bacteria need the ammonia to multiply more? And by doing a fish less cycle, would I just need to add pure ammonia to the water? Any brands that I could use?
jkan0228 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ammonia level, bacteria, water change

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012