RO water parameters?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Fertilizers and Water Parameters


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-28-2011, 06:27 PM   #1
JeffHB
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 59
Default

RO water parameters?


I've recently switched to RO water from LFS. What parameters should this water have? PH=7, GH=?kh=?, TDS=0 etc..ect...any help much appreciated.
JeffHB is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-28-2011, 06:35 PM   #2
mattycakesclark
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
mattycakesclark's Avatar
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: DeLand, FL
Posts: 313
Default

If their RO filter is good the gH, kH, should be zero (at the resolution of our kits) and the TDS neer zero. The pH can vary, since there is ery little buffering capacity to the water, the pH can change easly.

Ussually, TDS is a good measure of RO water quality.
__________________
mattycakesclark is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-28-2011, 06:39 PM   #3
happi
Planted Tank Guru
 
happi's Avatar
 
PTrader: (20/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 2,769
Send a message via Yahoo to happi
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JeffHB View Post
I've recently switched to RO water from LFS. What parameters should this water have? PH=7, GH=?kh=?, TDS=0 etc..ect...any help much appreciated.
My RO system reads 0 on everything beside the PH, which is 6.4. i dose 2tsp of baking soda in my 50g during water change to bring the KH to 2dgh. GH is also increased by adding Ca and Mg to desired levels. i add 1-2tsp of Ca and 3tsp of Mg during water change only.
__________________
happi is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-28-2011, 06:41 PM   #4
JeffHB
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 59
Default

Wonderfull, that's what I suspected..unfortunately there RO GH = 6, which matches my tap water....looks like I've been paying for bunk...thanks guys..
JeffHB is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-28-2011, 07:35 PM   #5
KrazyFish
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
KrazyFish's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Binbrook, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 427
Default

make sure your test kit is good though...
KrazyFish is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012