Water main break! - Hold off on WC?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > Local Pet Stores, Clubs, and Conventions > New Jersey


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-09-2005, 02:58 PM   #1
jhoetzl
Planted Tank Activist
 
jhoetzl's Avatar
 
PTrader: (10/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Scotch Plains, NJ
Posts: 1,020
Send a message via MSN to jhoetzl
Default

Water main break! - Hold off on WC?


Any thoughts on if I shouldn't do my 50% WC tomorrow as has been my routine for the past 3 months on my main tank?


BOUND BROOK, N.J. -April 9, 2005 — Thousands of residents in three counties remained under a boil water advisory Saturday, a day after a broken water main left many of them without water or with very low water pressure for several hours.

The advisory, issued by the New Jersey American Water Co. as a precaution, was expected to remain in effect at least through the afternoon. About 160,000 customers in Middlesex, Somerset and Union counties were told to boil water for three minutes before using it for drinking or cooking, although there was no evidence of contamination.

The break occurred at about 4:30 p.m. in a pipe below the Queens Bridge in Bound Brook. The cause of the break was not immediately determined. Repair work continued at the site early Saturday.
jhoetzl is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-09-2005, 03:06 PM   #2
Spar
Wannabe Guru
 
Spar's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Dallas
Posts: 1,014
Default

id hold off on the water change, not worth the risk. maybe just hold off on dosing nitrates this round. i dont think any harm could come of not changing the water except for a possible spike in nitrates anyway, which isnt all that bad anyway for a planted tank.
__________________
Cliff
110g - Vivarium (Dart Frogs)
180g - Reef
100g - Planted Tank (mainly Swords)
http://photobucket.com/albums/v110/cbporter52/
Spar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2005, 03:10 PM   #3
bharada
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (9/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 2,605
Default

Well, depending on how big your tank is you could always do your WC with bottled water, but I agree with Spar that missing one won't be catastrophoic.
__________________
—Bill
| My site
bharada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2005, 04:23 PM   #4
Spar
Wannabe Guru
 
Spar's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Dallas
Posts: 1,014
Default

anyone know if an RO unit takes care of this problem? or will some of the contamination leak through? I have an RO unit at home and could always just use it for 100% of the water change if that ever happened to my water supply.
__________________
Cliff
110g - Vivarium (Dart Frogs)
180g - Reef
100g - Planted Tank (mainly Swords)
http://photobucket.com/albums/v110/cbporter52/
Spar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2005, 02:16 PM   #5
jhoetzl
Planted Tank Activist
 
jhoetzl's Avatar
 
PTrader: (10/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Scotch Plains, NJ
Posts: 1,020
Send a message via MSN to jhoetzl
Default

Thanks all, still curious if I can get a water report for my area as they must be testing it a lot more right now, but I don't see them publishing those results...
jhoetzl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2005, 02:20 PM   #6
GTApuffgal
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 592
Default New Jersy Water main break!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spar
anyone know if an RO unit takes care of this problem? or will some of the contamination leak through? I have an RO unit at home and could always just use it for 100% of the water change if that ever happened to my water supply.
Unless you have a UV involved, check the literature on your RO. My understanding is that they are not to be used on water that is (or could possibly be) bacterially unsafe.

Kathy
GTApuffgal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2005, 05:27 PM   #7
anonapersona
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,614
Default chems added after repair

I think the chemicals added after the repair will be a big hazard. they will need to sterilize the lines and so may use way more chlorine that normal or perhaps some other chemicals. I'd call the water dept to ask what they use and when the water should be clear of that chem.
__________________
Member AGA, HAS, NASH
110G, 10 adult discus, barebottom with plants on wood
58G, 3 adult discus, barebottom with plants on wood
59G thickly planted tanks, rummey nose tetras, kuhlies
300G goldfish pond outside
anonapersona is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2005, 10:33 PM   #8
Momotaro
Doesn't like Kool-Aid
 
Momotaro's Avatar
 
PTrader: (52/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Hawthorne, New Jersey
Posts: 10,125
Default

I'd sit tight for a week, Joe, for the very reasons Anona mentioned.

I don't think skipping a water change is going to be detrimental to your aquarium. The aquarium and fish are healthy and doing well. Everything should be fine!

Mike
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Momotaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012