ODing a 125 gallon - Page 3
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Lighting


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-16-2003, 08:56 PM   #31
GDominy
Planted Tank VIP
 
GDominy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Victoria,British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 3,363
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vinlo
Thanks gareth, maybe I will just go the OD route. 144 watts plus the OD would be plenty for me. I'd have to buy a CO2 system though.. damn money pit. Would you just OD them 2x?
I have not ever OD's anything so I really wouldnt be the one to ask. Ask about VHO and I"m your man but I'm still kind of lost with the ODNO :-)
GDominy is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-16-2003, 09:05 PM   #32
GulfCoastAquarian
Planted Tank VIP
 
GulfCoastAquarian's Avatar
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Posts: 3,578
Send a message via ICQ to GulfCoastAquarian Send a message via Yahoo to GulfCoastAquarian
Default

With a Workhorse 5, I'd just OD them 2x, which should increase output approximately 1.5x. With regular electronic 4-F32T8 ballasts, I'd OD them 3x or 4x.
With a pair of WH5's ODing four F32T8 bulbs 2x each, your total output would be pretty close to 190 watts (32w x 4 bulbs x 1.5 power factor).
__________________
- Sam P -
plantedtanker in limbo - all tanks currently in storage
GulfCoastAquarian is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-16-2003, 09:15 PM   #33
GDominy
Planted Tank VIP
 
GDominy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Victoria,British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 3,363
Default

Good to know!

I just "adore" the workhorse ballasts. They are the easiest ballasts to configure I have ever used...
GDominy is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-16-2003, 09:36 PM   #34
Baller
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 14
Default

What endcaps do you guys use for T12? Do they have to be waterproof? Or will it be ok if I hang them about 8 inches above the water?

Bye!
Baller is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-16-2003, 09:41 PM   #35
GDominy
Planted Tank VIP
 
GDominy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Victoria,British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 3,363
Default

I bought water resistent endcaps for mine, most industrial places carry them.
GDominy is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-16-2003, 09:53 PM   #36
GulfCoastAquarian
Planted Tank VIP
 
GulfCoastAquarian's Avatar
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Posts: 3,578
Send a message via ICQ to GulfCoastAquarian Send a message via Yahoo to GulfCoastAquarian
Default

If you can find the water resistant endcaps for a decent price, go for them. I use the regular sockets and just use glass to seperate them and keep my Hatchets from jumping out.
__________________
- Sam P -
plantedtanker in limbo - all tanks currently in storage
GulfCoastAquarian is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-22-2003, 12:49 AM   #37
Guttboy
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Albuquerque, NM, USA
Posts: 752
Send a message via AIM to Guttboy
Default

Guys,

Just wanted to pass this on.

Wasserpest posted this and I went to the article....VERY INFORMATIVE FOR THE VHO CROWD!

I was mistaken earlier...YOU CAN run normal lights through the VHO ballast Icecap has!

http://www.icecapinc.com/rev1.htm

Hope this helps I am going this route! Especially since I already have an Icecap 660 from my Marine Reef tank laying around!
__________________
Mike
100 Gal Planted, two Filstar XP3, Milwaukee SMS 122 pH controller, Milwaukee reg/bubble, compressed CO2, reactor 1000, 7 WCMM, 12 Ottos, 14 neons, 1 SAE, 3 German blue rams, 2 Florida Flag Fish

10 Gallon...20 Endler's live bearers planted, peat/kitty litter/sand substrate

15 Gallon...Just Schultz Aquatic Plant soil
Guttboy is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
12 gallon or 10 gallon? pufferfreak Planted Nano Tanks 8 08-19-2004 11:10 PM
**Updated w/Pics** Big Project tonight... GDominy General Planted Tank Discussion 27 07-09-2004 02:09 PM
20 Gallon long setup ????'s Guttboy General Planted Tank Discussion 4 09-07-2003 07:34 PM
5.5 gallon tank lighting evan Lighting 9 07-08-2003 06:19 PM
55 Gallon upgrade..... RogerL Lighting 7 05-06-2003 07:04 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012