Planting Stem Plants
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Plants


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-26-2005, 06:53 PM   #1
Anthony
Wannabe Guru
 
Anthony's Avatar
 
PTrader: (10/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Covington, LA.
Posts: 1,072
Default

Planting Stem Plants


When you plant stem plants, is it true that you have to plant every stem individually, or can you plant a couple stems bunched together.
__________________
40 gallon SeaClear Acrylic, 192 watt Orbit Lunar PC, Filstar XP2, Filstar XP1, JBJ Regulator, Rhinox 5000 glass co2 diffusor, 9 watt UV sterilizer, Hydor Inline Heater, Pool Filter Sand substrate
Filstar pimp #53

How comes shoppings so stupid, looks at all this stuff I haves, what do I do's with it.
Anthony is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-26-2005, 09:39 PM   #2
BSS
Wannabe Guru
 
BSS's Avatar
 
PTrader: (12/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Oviedo, FL USA
Posts: 1,600
Default

I've done both. Typically with really small leaved plants (such as H. micranthmoides...pearlweed, baby tears) I'll grab 3-5 stems and stick them in the ground. With bigger leaved plants like a L. repens, I'll go individual.
__________________
46g bf, XP3 w/ vertical spray bar, CO2 w/ SMS122 & diffuser,100% Flourite, 96w+55w cf AHS, AGA Member
BSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2005, 10:15 PM   #3
glass-gardens.com
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 979
Default

I generally try to plant them seperately initially, otherwise I end up with a lot of dead leaves on the lower stems from lack of light but that's just a personal preference. Some stem plants do seem to do better when planted seperately, I think they also get a better start in general because light can reach the whole stem.
glass-gardens.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2005, 10:17 PM   #4
Kris
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: grapevine, tx
Posts: 537
Default

i just rescaped (and bleach dipped the plants and the driftwood and the rocks...) and the stem plants were really bare from the midpoint down. i had planted them as a big bunch (tied together loosely). i replanted them individually and while they look funny now, i think that each stem will fill out nicely now.
we'll see.
__________________
He who dares to teach must never cease to learn.

30 gallon tall, pressurized CO2...killer lights
50 gallon long, killer filtration, low tech otherwise
Kris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2005, 11:50 PM   #5
Buck
Planted Tank VIP
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Lebanon, CT
Posts: 4,939
Default

Freshly cut stems will do best if seperated and they get light right to the base, once they get established you can easily just push them towards each other using what we call affectionately... The Bulldozer Method

Works great... just put your fingers into the sub a little bit and slide the plant over substrate and all. You can easily tighten up a patch of stem plants this way. Just do it slowly and its easy.

I have moved plants 2-3" this way.
__________________
Buck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2005, 12:07 AM   #6
shalu
Wannabe Guru
 
shalu's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 1,675
Default

Can you tell I am using plant weights in this pic? I grow most stem plants with plant weight. they don't use the substrate much because they hardly have time to grow roots before the next pruning is due. Anybody want to buy my used Flourite?
__________________
Truvu 100g Flourite, wet/dry, AHSupply 302w PC, PinPoint controller
10gallon15w T6+15w T8
55gallon40w T6 ODNO4x, no CO2. Discus grow out.
10gallon Tonina tank, 2x15w T6 ODNO 4x
---------------------
I will do aquascapes after I collect all the plant species and grow them to perfection.
shalu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2005, 02:01 AM   #7
glass-gardens.com
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 979
Default

I like Buck's "bulldozer" idea, might have to try it sometime.

I usually just use the prunings to fill in bare areas, and pruning the plants seems to make them branch out better.

I just planted about 20 stems of rotala about a week ago, they'd been in the store long enough to develop roots on each stem, just plugged them into the substrate and I've got about 4 inches of growth, I'll be pruning them sometime next week at which point I'll use the trimmings to fill in the patch.

Usually with stem plants, I like to let them float for a few days before I plant them, sometimes longer. I've had a lot better results getting them to root that way. Lead weights get tossed immediately, all I get from them is a bunch of floating plants and broken rotted stems wrapped in lead at the bottom.
glass-gardens.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2005, 01:52 PM   #8
lowcoaster
Algae Grower
 
lowcoaster's Avatar
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: NYC, NY
Posts: 102
Default

I use weights (basically thin lead wire) with all of the bunch plants I get in and, for the most part, get nice rooted bunches. The key is not to bind them too tightly---there is a fine line between secure and constricted.
__________________
25 Tanks ranging from 3 to 220 gallons---all planted!!!!
lowcoaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012