Fat pipes....
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Forums > The Lounge & Introductions


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-10-2005, 05:37 PM   #1
Rex Grigg
Planted Tank Guru
 
Rex Grigg's Avatar
 
PTrader: (65/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Portland Orygun
Posts: 9,600
Send a message via ICQ to Rex Grigg Send a message via AIM to Rex Grigg
Default

Fat pipes....


Right now I have a 1.5 mbit downstream ADSL connection. When I upgraded from 640kb it was awesome. But as always I have managed to find ways to tie it up. I really wish I had access to a reasonably price fat pipe.
Rex Grigg is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-10-2005, 05:40 PM   #2
GDominy
Planted Tank VIP
 
GDominy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Victoria,British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 3,363
Default

I know the feeling.. heh

I have 2 pipes to my place..

2.5mbit DSL (2.5 down, 1mbit up) for my Web Server
and 5mbit Cable (5 down 1 up) for the other PC's
GDominy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2005, 06:12 PM   #3
KyleT
Planted Tank VIP
 
KyleT's Avatar
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 13,533
Default

Im not sure about where you guys are but around here DSL is ridiculous. I can get a 1.5mbit DSl connection for the same price as a 5mbit cable. So I of course went for the cable.
__________________
Please Send all Support Requests to forumadmin
Bit Of Nothing - Personal Blog
KyleT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2005, 12:09 AM   #4
Rex Grigg
Planted Tank Guru
 
Rex Grigg's Avatar
 
PTrader: (65/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Portland Orygun
Posts: 9,600
Send a message via ICQ to Rex Grigg Send a message via AIM to Rex Grigg
Default

1.5M/896k DSL here is $26.99 for the line and then $17.99 to my ISP. I would not give the cable company here the sweat off my b***s. I would have to get cable TV and then the Internet and it would run me almost $80 a month. Not worth it to me. I prefer to pick my ISP.
Rex Grigg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2005, 12:36 AM   #5
glass-gardens.com
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 979
Default

In these parts, the cable is a better price, but depending on what part of town you live in, throttling is a big issue when junior goes surfing for mp3s.

I'm looking into cutting the dsl and phone line though and going cable and Vonage, if I figure it right, I'll save about $15-20 on the monthly bill alone, more than that in long distance charges plus get an 800 number for my business. According to the able provider, I don't need a land line for cable access unless I want pay per view services.

Any thoughts?
__________________
glass-gardens.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2005, 01:00 AM   #6
Opiesilver
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Opiesilver's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Terre Haute, IN
Posts: 638
Default

Since I own a hosting company as well as help out with this plant thing, bandwidth has never really been an issue with me. I have a T1 to my house. My biggest issue is line latency, not so much bandwidth.
__________________
Opiesilver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2005, 01:42 AM   #7
Kris
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: grapevine, tx
Posts: 537
Default

verizon FIOS is the answer!
i'm getting 5 Mbps down and 1.5 Mbps up for 34.99 per month.
not that i know what that means, but that is what duc tells me.
switch to verizon!
fiber optics is king.
heh heh heh
__________________
He who dares to teach must never cease to learn.

30 gallon tall, pressurized CO2...killer lights
50 gallon long, killer filtration, low tech otherwise
Kris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2005, 03:25 AM   #8
trc_pdx
Algae Grower
 
trc_pdx's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 19
Default

I would not give the cable company here the sweat off my b***s.

No choice in my neighborhood here in SW Portland Rex. Although the Qwest CO is about a mile from my home they insist they can't provision DSL. So Comcast is the only way to go. The one time it went down they took a week to repair it. Turns out that they were out the week before to install cable Internet for my neighbor and in the process disconnected mine! It took several calls to convince them it wasn't my home network. You'd think they could check their records and see that mine went down the same time they were next door installing new service. Sheesh
trc_pdx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2005, 04:04 AM   #9
glass-gardens.com
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 979
Default

The number one purpose for tech support is blame the end user, the second is to blame the end users system, the third is tell you they have a problem and have no idea when it's going to be fixed.

I have a friend who works for Qwest. Best one I've heard. Tech has angry customer on phone, tells him to shut down router, customer abusing tech, tech tells customer he's going to have him disconnect the phone line but to wait until he gives him as case number ok so he can call and they can see if it worked? Customer promptly disconnects the phone line.

He swears it works everytime.
__________________
glass-gardens.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2005, 07:25 AM   #10
eums
Algae Grower
 
eums's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: HB, CA
Posts: 141
Default

my house has 5mbit cable, where i live its alot better than DSL i have not had an outage in 3 years where my friends with DSL are always restarting there box or dealing with tech support.

at my work we have a 2000 mbit line (mzima is the provider) a 2gps line (level3.com) and pearing to cablevision and some others.
now talk about fast internet. but its a web hosting company so its the norm.
__________________
80g 48''w 22''h 18''w
Eheim 2028 professionel II, Eheim 2026 professionel II
4x54w t5's with parabolic reflectors (sun light supply with triad electronic ballasts )
Rancho single stage controler on an Ebo
160 lbs of eco-complete.
milwaukee co2 with controler & 5# tank
3xLake Kutubu Rainbow Fish, 6xRummy nose tetra, 5xOtocinclus, too many Cherry shrimp 5xAmino
eums is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2005, 12:07 PM   #11
duck
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
duck's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Perth/Australia
Posts: 304
Default

After reading this i thought i would check my isp to check up on the price's ,I have dsl at the moment running @ 512kbps down/128kbps/ up @ $ 70 a month, Then i thought i check cable as i read it Is uncapped Download for $60 ,So i check if i could get cable,Come's up saying you can get adsl so looks like no cable for me.
Too bad i live in an older suburb i'd be changing to cable.

Ivano
duck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2005, 12:50 PM   #12
Rex Grigg
Planted Tank Guru
 
Rex Grigg's Avatar
 
PTrader: (65/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Portland Orygun
Posts: 9,600
Send a message via ICQ to Rex Grigg Send a message via AIM to Rex Grigg
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kris
verizon FIOS is the answer!
i'm getting 5 Mbps down and 1.5 Mbps up for 34.99 per month.
not that i know what that means, but that is what duc tells me.
switch to verizon!
fiber optics is king.
heh heh heh

As soon as they roll out FIOS here I will jump on it. You are lucky to live in one of the test towns for that service.

One of my problems with cable is they do limit your usage. Most people will never run into Terms of Service problems. But I know I will.

So far this month I have moved 135 GB of data
December 104.5 GB
November 221.2 GB
October 115.5 GB
September 147.1 GB
August 227.3 GB

You get the idea.
Rex Grigg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2005, 03:47 PM   #13
GDominy
Planted Tank VIP
 
GDominy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Victoria,British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 3,363
Default

Jeeze Rex what are running over there? Is that downstream or upstream?

I uploaded 250gig i an a month at one point and my provider almost shut me down.. heh
GDominy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2005, 10:27 PM   #14
Rex Grigg
Planted Tank Guru
 
Rex Grigg's Avatar
 
PTrader: (65/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Portland Orygun
Posts: 9,600
Send a message via ICQ to Rex Grigg Send a message via AIM to Rex Grigg
Default

That's mainly downstream. Upstream is only normally about 20% of the total. Unless there is a new Linux Distro that I have on the Bit Torrent network.
Rex Grigg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012