Opinions wanted for Aqua Medic CO2 1000 hookup - Page 3
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Equipment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-15-2004, 12:59 AM   #31
fishyboy
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: central IL
Posts: 808
Default

i wouldn't buy special elbows... I have lots from ace i got from 50 cents a peice.. work great and i trust them a lot more than ones liek the coralife ones..

I always worry about losing that cap. you could reg one up pretty easy i think
fishyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-15-2004, 02:53 AM   #32
Hypancistrus
Wannabe Guru
 
Hypancistrus's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 1,032
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Buck
. Hypancistrus the links you posted say "submersible" and even the picture that Fosters/Smith uses for the CO2 kit shows it in the tank...not outside. The powerhead "conversion" is simply the cone strainer for a stack and the flipper and aerator hose for an undergravel but I still believe that it is designed to run submerged and cooled by the water.
Maybe I am reading it wrong and lookin at the picture wrong. How long have you had it running this way ?
About six months. It's warm to the touch but by no means hot. It's an electromagnetic motor, same as used in HOB filters.
Hypancistrus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2004, 06:45 AM   #33
killa
Algae Grower
 
killa's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 15
Default

I use the Eheim 1048 to run an external reactor rather than the input/output of my canister and it works great. I haven had any clogging issues yet, but then again my reactor is DIY so I can take it apart to clean it as needed.

If your interested in my design PM me and I will send you some pics.

Or perhaps I will just donate so I can post them
killa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2004, 03:07 PM   #34
ksand
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 222
Default Lost Cap

Ha ha, Buck I can so relate. I have a talent for losing small-but-critical pieces from equipment. Picture this: I misplaced the cap on my Aqua Medic 500 (about the size of a dime)... I have to get up at 6:00am for work and here I am at 1:00 in the morning crawling on my hands and knees going over every square inch of the floor like a Corydoras... and then sitting on the kitchen floor sifting through the trash....
ksand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2004, 11:17 PM   #35
Buck
Planted Tank VIP
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Lebanon, CT
Posts: 4,939
Default

Quote:
i wouldn't buy special elbows... I have lots from ace i got from 50 cents a peice.. work great and i trust them a lot more than ones liek the coralife ones..
I always worry about losing that cap. you could reg one up pretty easy i think
Well I called up Rena today and ordered 2 caps, a whoppin 80 cents a piece and then asked for some Ell's but he said they discontinued the loose fittings as of 3 months ago. They redisigned the filter it appears and they are all one solid piece now (inlet/outlet pipes)
I just figured the fittings wouldnt cost much and I might as well get them to match the rest of the filter.
Now I am curious to see what the new filter pipes look like, he said I could buy those at 22 $ each... Thats a quarter of the entire filter cost ! LMAO

Quote:
Ha ha, Buck I can so relate. I have a talent for losing small-but-critical pieces from equipment.
Its not a good talent that we share there ksand...LOL
I was always told that every man needs either a wife or a mother to keep organized... I am blessed with both and still can keep tabs on things.
Now I just blame it on age... and you know how it goes... my new caps (2 of course) are in the mail and you watch, the cat will dig it out from a closet somewhere tonight !
__________________
Buck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2004, 10:27 PM   #36
travis
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
travis's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Englewood, CO
Posts: 338
Default

Buck - I'm running an AquaMedic Reactor 1000 on the outflow of one of the two XP3s that filter my 125G tank and it works perfectly. I haven't noticed a significant decrease in the flow coming out of the filter but I didn't make any empirical observations beforehand so take that with a grain of salt.

As to the POS pipe systems that Rena ships with the XP series, I threw them out and got a couple of the Lifegard Customflow water systems. They're like lego sets for aquariums. You can put them together in so many configurations that they'll work for almost any situation. I've got mine set up with a total of six intake ports and four outflow jets, each one with an adjustable ball valve so you can tailor the outflow just the way you want it. They are a bit pricey but I can't recommend them highly enough if you have a need to put the hardware right where you want, the way you want it. That, and I can't resist new gadgets
__________________
The computer allows you to make mistakes faster than any other invention, with the possible exception of handguns and tequila.

125G Planted Mbuna Tank
travis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2004, 11:42 PM   #37
Ibn
Planted Tank VIP
 
Ibn's Avatar
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 3,212
Default

Interesting thread so far. I was looking at the picture for the Dr's setup and was wondering if anyone is running that setup? Just wondering, since I have 2 mag 9s, 1 mag 7 and a spare mag 5 sitting around that I could make something out of it in a closed loop...
__________________
Eric

Ibn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2004, 12:38 AM   #38
Buck
Planted Tank VIP
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Lebanon, CT
Posts: 4,939
Default

Travis, I have eyeballed them Lifeguard Flow bars before and they are definately nice lookin. Pricey yes, but 'gadgets' cost... The stock pipes that Rena send you are not bad once you drill out the exhaust pipes, I just wish they included a few more fittings for options. Easy to remedy though .

I got my replacement caps in today for the inlet pipe and started to fill up and developed a leak, lost interest (got mad actually) and then took the wife out for a couple beers and chinese food instead...

Tomorrow I will continue with my science project.... LOL
__________________
Buck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2004, 12:39 AM   #39
Buck
Planted Tank VIP
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Lebanon, CT
Posts: 4,939
Default

Quote:
I was looking at the picture for the Dr's setup
You lost me here Ibn... what setup is that ?
__________________
Buck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2004, 02:49 AM   #40
Momotaro
Doesn't like Kool-Aid
 
Momotaro's Avatar
 
PTrader: (52/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Hawthorne, New Jersey
Posts: 10,125
Default

Quote:
took the wife out for a couple beers and chinese food instead...
Buck, you hopeless romantic you!

Mrs. Buck is one lucky gal!!!

Mike
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Momotaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2004, 12:10 PM   #41
Buck
Planted Tank VIP
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Lebanon, CT
Posts: 4,939
Default

Mike... you got the "hopeless" part right, the rest is up in the air ! LMAO
__________________
Buck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2004, 02:19 AM   #42
Ibn
Planted Tank VIP
 
Ibn's Avatar
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 3,212
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Buck
You lost me here Ibn... what setup is that ?
Was refering to the one in Hypancistrus post, here:

http://www.drsfostersmith.com/produc...al&Np=1&N=2004
__________________
Eric

Ibn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2004, 03:56 AM   #43
Buck
Planted Tank VIP
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Lebanon, CT
Posts: 4,939
Default

Ahhhh... the Drs as in foster/smith, I thought you were referring to someone on the forum... LOL
Nice lookin system but 400 bucks ? As much as I love gadgets I have a hard time justifying that cost.

I got my reactor up and running now and leak free, it helps when you use the proper sized hose clamps in case anyone is wondering. I also am back to running two XP2's on the tank. I drilled the holes on the outlet tubes bigger and I think I overdid it. I lost more water movement then I wanted so I might need to swap them back out.
This simple reactor add-on project is turning into a full time job !
__________________
Buck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2004, 07:54 PM   #44
ksand
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 222
Default

How is you AM 1000 working out? What kind of pump did you end up using?
ksand is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012