Idea as a solenoid
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Equipment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-10-2008, 08:18 PM   #1
iantan05
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 95
Default Idea as a solenoid

i have a pressurized system on my 15 gallon now but will switch it our for diy when i set up my 30 gallon. i wonder if i could hook up my diy to a powerhead as a venturi diffusion and use the powerhead as a solenoid. i will probably use it with a timer with the lights.
thanks
__________________
Planted Aquariums
iantan05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 09:38 PM   #2
Wasserpest
Are these real?
 
Wasserpest's Avatar
 
PTrader: (175/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Monterey, CA
Posts: 15,096
Default

Sure you can do that. Best is to let the powerhead suck the bubbles into the inlet, and have them just escape to the surface while the ph is off. That way the pump doesn't get airlocked while it is off.

A real solenoid is worth it though... saves CO2, and turning off the powerhead at night reduces overall circulation in your tank.
Wasserpest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2008, 01:06 AM   #3
iantan05
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 95
Default

i know a real solenoid would work best. but i don't think my parents would get me another set of presurrized co2. the powerhead i have has a venturi style build on so that there isnt any airlock that may damage the motor.
__________________
Planted Aquariums
iantan05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2008, 02:14 PM   #4
bpimm
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (29/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Washougal, Washington
Posts: 134
Default

You don't need another complete C02 setup. Just a Tee and another needle valve for the second tank.
bpimm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2008, 07:39 PM   #5
iantan05
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 95
Default

the tanks aren't beside each other... and i would have to run an airline across the whole house... Beside i don't even have co2 tubing. do you think my co2 refill store have em?
__________________
Planted Aquariums
iantan05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
co2, diy, pressurized

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012