are discus so hard to keep?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Fish


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-15-2004, 11:40 PM   #1
compulsion
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
compulsion's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 524
Send a message via MSN to compulsion
Default

in an allready setup tank, with good filtration, good biological filtration, and weekly water changes say 50% would discus thrive. why is it so important that discus have RO water. my tap water is very hard and i know discus like hard water. but would chlorine etc that normaly is harmless to fish in water changes be harmfull to discus?
__________________
55US Gallon Medium Planted | 36x15x24Tall
PH 7.0 - 7.2 GH 11
Ehiem 2232 Thermo
2.7WPG 160W 10,000k 5xNO T8's
Sand+Eco Clay, CSM+B Baby Steps + Pres.Co2
compulsion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2004, 11:45 PM   #2
Buck
Planted Tank VIP
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Lebanon, CT
Posts: 4,939
Default

Discus are not hard to raise...they are hard to breed. Keep the water clean, feed them quality food and they are just like raising angels.

Only more $$$ to buy too... :lol:
__________________
Buck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2004, 11:50 PM   #3
Buck
Planted Tank VIP
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Lebanon, CT
Posts: 4,939
Default

oops...

Quote:
why is it so important that discus have RO water.
Its not...
Quote:
would chlorine etc that normaly is harmless to fish in water changes be harmfull to discus?
Chlorine dont belong in ANY tank...
__________________
Buck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2004, 11:53 PM   #4
compulsion
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
compulsion's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 524
Send a message via MSN to compulsion
Default

lol i know chorine is a baddy, but im not a fan, and dont have the space to store water to let the chlorine evap. but the levels are pretty low in my water. just to damn hard

i might treat myself to a pair of discus once im happy and my water is excelent. clear. clean

thanks buck
__________________
55US Gallon Medium Planted | 36x15x24Tall
PH 7.0 - 7.2 GH 11
Ehiem 2232 Thermo
2.7WPG 160W 10,000k 5xNO T8's
Sand+Eco Clay, CSM+B Baby Steps + Pres.Co2
compulsion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2004, 12:01 AM   #5
gnatster
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 488
Default

Umm...

Discus like soft, low pH water


The water should be soft, between 3 and 15dH. The pH should be between 5 and 6.5. http://www.netpets.com/fish/referenc...scuswater.html

Discus in our farm are kept in slightly acidic water. Water temperature is kept between 28 C to 30 C. Water hardness preferred by discus is soft http://www.clcdiscus.com/discus-fish-raising-ship.html

See http://www.aquariumhobbyist.com/disc...ank/index.html Those planted discus tanks are all pH neutral and have low GH values.

There are lots of discus sites out there, google discus and take a gander.

-*-*-*-*-
gnatster
gnatster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2004, 12:45 PM   #6
compulsion
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
compulsion's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 524
Send a message via MSN to compulsion
Default

gnatster did you do all that searchin for me ?

thanks man u coulda just said. your wrong, discus like soft water.

my mistake ....
__________________
55US Gallon Medium Planted | 36x15x24Tall
PH 7.0 - 7.2 GH 11
Ehiem 2232 Thermo
2.7WPG 160W 10,000k 5xNO T8's
Sand+Eco Clay, CSM+B Baby Steps + Pres.Co2
compulsion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2004, 12:59 PM   #7
fishface
Algae Grower
 
fishface's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: funnysunnyleicester..uk
Posts: 34
Default

compulsion..do u know if here in the uk water authorities use chlorine or chloramine to condition the water. Apparently chlorine can be oxygenated out of tap water over a period of a week or so (no fish in it!) wheras chloramine will not budge without chemicals
__________________
first tank/not yet operating-dry
36x15(H)x12
22 uk gallons..90 litres.
finegravel/'first layer' laterite substrate..3inch
200w visi-therm heater
working out lighting (getting there)
fishface is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2004, 07:37 PM   #8
compulsion
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
compulsion's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 524
Send a message via MSN to compulsion
Default

fishface your right about the evaporation with chlorine. i dont know about leicester but were i come from most of the water is held in resivoirs. i dont have any chloramine in my water however i do have chlorine and even some lime :S. but i think its very little possibly the same as what it would naturaly be.

are u asking because of your *first tank/not yet operating*... you may aswell use some chems for the first setup of your tank. who supplies your water? wessex water for me. they have a website and will allways email you the details of the water in your area...

if you need some help pm me. maybe one day we could trade plants
__________________
55US Gallon Medium Planted | 36x15x24Tall
PH 7.0 - 7.2 GH 11
Ehiem 2232 Thermo
2.7WPG 160W 10,000k 5xNO T8's
Sand+Eco Clay, CSM+B Baby Steps + Pres.Co2
compulsion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2004, 07:48 PM   #9
fishface
Algae Grower
 
fishface's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: funnysunnyleicester..uk
Posts: 34
Default

severn trent supplies mine.

I will look for their site, water here also is reservoir.

thanks for the offer, I appreciate all the help I get, few days ago I thought i could bung a load of green stuff in a glass box and leave it to it.

now Im dreaming of ph's and c02 and muttering about 'substrate' a lot ..lol

I also peer at tank photos on the internet to see how they have done their plants for long periods of time...hmmmm

so ...if u have a pic of yours......... :lol:

niki
__________________
first tank/not yet operating-dry
36x15(H)x12
22 uk gallons..90 litres.
finegravel/'first layer' laterite substrate..3inch
200w visi-therm heater
working out lighting (getting there)
fishface is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2004, 07:57 PM   #10
compulsion
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
compulsion's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 524
Send a message via MSN to compulsion
Default

lmao i used to think like that... ill pm you some info on my diy co2 its alot cheaper than some of the diy's ive seen. youve obviously thought about your substrate. i hope you get on with the laterite ive heard it can be a little bit messy, but no doubt lots of people use it so its a good sub. i only have sand at the mo but will be adding some perlite proberly tomorow. my tank is still young and i have no cam so untill i borrow one there wont be any pics, ill get one soon and take pics on everything i can that ive diyd to get me going in the game.

this is a fine board of pros so youll have all the info you need.
__________________
55US Gallon Medium Planted | 36x15x24Tall
PH 7.0 - 7.2 GH 11
Ehiem 2232 Thermo
2.7WPG 160W 10,000k 5xNO T8's
Sand+Eco Clay, CSM+B Baby Steps + Pres.Co2
compulsion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2004, 08:09 PM   #11
Raul-7
Wannabe Guru
 
Raul-7's Avatar
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Lomita, CA
Posts: 1,650
Default

I've learned from a Discus expert that it is possible to house Discus in slight hard water. You just need to raise really young ones so they can adapt to it. If you really want to house them, why not use Discus Buffer? I've tried it and it works, I like it!
Raul-7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2004, 09:12 PM   #12
ninoboy
Wannabe Guru
 
ninoboy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Las Vegas , Nevada
Posts: 1,261
Default

I raise discus in slightly hard water (pH 7.2). My tap is 7.8 pH, GH close to the roof; and I mix it with RO and add some buffer. Even adult discus can adapt. It's just harder to take them to breeding mood.
ninoboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2004, 12:21 AM   #13
rumples riot
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
rumples riot's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Blackwood South Australia
Posts: 644
Default

Well I have nine discus in my display tank. Water is KH 4 ph 6.5- 6.6. water change 140 litres out a week. Feed them with frozen food all the time as they will not eat pellets. When I do the water change I add Prime (water conditioner) to my tank directly and fill the tank directly out of the tap. Dont use RO water, nor do I have some bucket with water waiting to de-gas of chlorine.

Most of what you read over the net and in books about discus is just nonsense. My fish are fine, they are starting to pair up and in time they will breed.

Anyway that is the opinion from someone who actually has discus!

Paul
__________________
Eheim Pimp Club member #3: Scribe to the Eheim Pimp Club

90 gallon, CO2 dupla injection, Dupla substrate heating, Dupla Laterite with iron stone substrate, Aquastarlight future 3 x 150 metal Halides, Eheim 2026 pro2's and heavily planted with Discus
rumples riot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2004, 12:34 AM   #14
Buck
Planted Tank VIP
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Lebanon, CT
Posts: 4,939
Default

Quote:
Most of what you read over the net and in books about discus is just nonsense.
Very well put Paul...

They are beautiful fish but feared because somewhere down the road someone confused difficulty in breeding them with "raising" them.
__________________
Buck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2004, 12:55 AM   #15
compulsion
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
compulsion's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 524
Send a message via MSN to compulsion
Default

i dont want them to breed. but i do want to get my water conditions close to there requirements, but stil be able to keep most other community fish, ill proberly stick with cardinals but either way.

just been doing some tests.
Tap water PH 7.4
Tank PH 6.4 :O
Tank GH 11
Ammonia 0ppm
Nitrate 0ppm

ill definatly get some of that discus buffer stuff. ill check up on the brands before i buy
__________________
55US Gallon Medium Planted | 36x15x24Tall
PH 7.0 - 7.2 GH 11
Ehiem 2232 Thermo
2.7WPG 160W 10,000k 5xNO T8's
Sand+Eco Clay, CSM+B Baby Steps + Pres.Co2
compulsion is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Any discus owners here?? fishlady Fish 8 09-22-2004 01:56 AM
Discus question Tres Fish 5 09-12-2004 09:33 PM
Discus grow-out tank Basilisk Fish 9 06-25-2004 03:31 PM
Planted Discus Tank Startup shanek Fertilizers and Water Parameters 1 10-01-2003 10:58 PM
Really Sick Discus!!! VNVixen Fish 4 02-22-2003 03:00 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012