Windows 7 -- How to disable that auto restart thing
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Forums > The Lounge & Introductions


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-20-2013, 03:12 AM   #1
drewsuf82
Wannabe Guru
 
drewsuf82's Avatar
 
PTrader: (60/100%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Port Richey, FL
Posts: 1,745
Default Windows 7 -- How to disable that auto restart thing

How do I disable this, I thought I had it disabled and I put my computer to sleep every day before I go to campus and it keeps installing updates on it's own while the computer is in SLEEP and then sits here running wasting electricity making my apartment hot LOL Not to mention I lost a document that I had open that I was working on that now I have to start over Thanks!!!!
drewsuf82 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2013, 05:35 AM   #2
redman88
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Artesia, nm
Posts: 592
Default

unplug it..... in sleep mode your still wasting electricity
__________________

SunSun Pimp #7
redman88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2013, 06:13 AM   #3
Darkblade48
Moderator
 
Darkblade48's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 9,077
Default

Disable auto-update.
__________________
Anthony

A Primer to Pressurized CO2 and A Primer to Planted Tanks
Eheim Pimp #362 - Eheim 2213 x2, Eheim 2028, Eheim 2217, Eheim surface skimmer and Eheim autofeeder.
Victor Pimp #33 - HPT272-125-350-4M
Darkblade48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2013, 03:48 PM   #4
dmagerl
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Woodstock, IL
Posts: 308
Default

Your problem seems to be that it's not going back to sleep once it wakes up.

When you come home and find it awake, open a CMD window and type "powercfg -requests"

It will show a list of requests keeping it from falling back to sleep. Then your problem becomes one of how to remove those requests. Do you perchance have a wireless keyboard/mouse?

You should never have lost a document because of sleeping. Something's goofy there.
dmagerl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2013, 04:18 PM   #5
drewsuf82
Wannabe Guru
 
drewsuf82's Avatar
 
PTrader: (60/100%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Port Richey, FL
Posts: 1,745
Default

Keyboard and mouse are wired, and the auto update was disabled, I'll check that when I get home to see what it's doing
drewsuf82 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2013, 05:03 PM   #6
dmagerl
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Woodstock, IL
Posts: 308
Default

Go into device manager and examine each and every device in the list for a "Power" tab. If they have one, go to it and uncheck the checkbox that says "allow this device to wake up computer". That may allow it to go back to sleep. Of course, if you're used to waking the computer by hitting a key or moving the mouse, obviously you cant leave the keyboard or mouse disabled so this would be for testing only.
dmagerl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2013, 05:33 PM   #7
Couesfanatic
Wannabe Guru
 
Couesfanatic's Avatar
 
PTrader: (29/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: WA
Posts: 1,740
Default

Disable windows
__________________
Couesfanatic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2013, 06:01 PM   #8
shinycard255
Wannabe Guru
 
shinycard255's Avatar
 
PTrader: (18/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Plainfield, IL
Posts: 1,616
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Couesfanatic View Post
Disable windows
HA. The main reason I don't use Windows is due to my career, but ever since I made the switch over to OS X, I don't ever plan on going back... unless I decide to get a gaming PC
__________________
The Fraternity of Dirt #42
Who would have thought that plants like dirt?!

Tanks: 60G | 5.5G | Evolve4
shinycard255 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2013, 07:44 PM   #9
drewsuf82
Wannabe Guru
 
drewsuf82's Avatar
 
PTrader: (60/100%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Port Richey, FL
Posts: 1,745
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shinycard255 View Post
HA. The main reason I don't use Windows is due to my career, but ever since I made the switch over to OS X, I don't ever plan on going back... unless I decide to get a gaming PC

That was the propose of this computer....well and some homework lol it's a sick setup though
drewsuf82 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2013, 06:07 PM   #10
DarkCobra
Planted Tank Guru
 
DarkCobra's Avatar
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Posts: 3,349
Default

The lost document may have been due to a critical update, which reboots the computer if you fail to respond to a timed prompt.

It's one of many truly horrible design decisions Microsoft has been making lately, and is one of the first behaviors I disable. Details here under "Most Helpful Answer":

http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/w...5-89e427756ccc

Less drastic than disabling updates altogether. Won't help with the sleep issue, but the other responses you've received should.
DarkCobra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2013, 06:22 PM   #11
mistergreen
No more Bow ties
 
mistergreen's Avatar
 
PTrader: (13/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 13,870
Default

I use windows to test sites on IE8. Some Windows people still use it. They don't update for some reason.

Updates on OS X is so much easier and safer than Windows for sure.
I'd just turn off your laptop instead of putting it to sleep.
mistergreen is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2013, 06:43 PM   #12
DarkCobra
Planted Tank Guru
 
DarkCobra's Avatar
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Posts: 3,349
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mistergreen View Post
I use windows to test sites on IE8. Some Windows people still use it. They don't update for some reason.
Here's why:



Quite a few people think XP was the last sane version of Windows and are holding onto it until the bitter end. Including me, at least for personal use. And IE8 is the last version that works with XP.

Although that still doesn't explain why they haven't switched to Chrome or Firefox.
DarkCobra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2013, 08:50 PM   #13
mistergreen
No more Bow ties
 
mistergreen's Avatar
 
PTrader: (13/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 13,870
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkCobra View Post
Here's why:



Quite a few people think XP was the last sane version of Windows and are holding onto it until the bitter end. Including me, at least for personal use. And IE8 is the last version that works with XP.

Although that still doesn't explain why they haven't switched to Chrome or Firefox.
Corporations don't like to update their systems is another reason.
mistergreen is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2013, 09:32 PM   #14
Bandit1200
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Bandit1200's Avatar
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 598
Default

Windows sleep mode is not a powered off situation. It powers down only certain parts of your machine. To get a truly powered off option while getting quicker "back up" times use the hibernate function instead of sleep. When you hibernate, windows will save everything in your RAM to your hard drive and power down completely. When you power on again, it copies everything from the hard drive back to your RAM so that you start exactly where you left off.
Bandit1200 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2013, 03:27 AM   #15
DarkCobra
Planted Tank Guru
 
DarkCobra's Avatar
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Posts: 3,349
Default

I hope the OP doesn't mind a friendly side debate.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mistergreen View Post
Corporations don't like to update their systems is another reason.
I can certainly appreciate that. But I don't think that's as big a reason. If it were, then for those corporations that support mixed OS versions, I'd expect that many machines purchased at the time when Vista was pre-installed would still be using Vista. For those that prefer to be homogenous, many that rolled out Vista would also still be using it. That should result in a smoother distribution, rather than the shrinkingly small Vista usage compared to versions on either side of it. Vista machines, in particular, were upgraded as soon as possible - even preferentially over XP. Which suggests that quality of an OS is more important.

Also, I have an application used by a few dozen corporations. That may be a relatively small sample set, but as far as I know they dropped XP years ago. They're all running Win7 now. Working in corporate IT, you get flak if you upgrade too often, but you get more if you upgrade too infrequently. At this point I just can't imagine so many XP holdouts existing in the corporate world.

But I could be wrong.
DarkCobra is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012