How do i get algae
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Algae


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-19-2013, 06:12 AM   #1
UncleChin
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: los angeles
Posts: 73
Default How do i get algae

I want my tank walls to have brown algae for my hillstream loach. I had brown algae before but it magically disappeared. How do i get it back?
UncleChin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 07:17 AM   #2
aznartist34
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: SoCal
Posts: 543
Default

Brown algae are diatoms. They're common with newly set up tanks. If you want more algae, leave the light on all day
aznartist34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 07:41 AM   #3
jpappy789
Wannabe Guru
 
jpappy789's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Gainesville, FL
Posts: 1,045
Default

Lots of light is a good place to start.
__________________
jpappy789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 05:24 PM   #4
Flear
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Chilliwack, Canada
Posts: 90
Default

the brown algae that typically comes with new tanks, ... it's a pretty good assumption you'll never have that again, ever.

i have heard (only heard), actinic florescent lights can really work to increasing the algae you have.
Flear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 05:30 PM   #5
jfynyson
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
jfynyson's Avatar
 
PTrader: (13/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: NC
Posts: 777
Default

Try to create a beautiful high tech Dutch Style aquascape like this...sure fire way for the unexperienced to experience algae outbreaks....as for brown algae of diatoms specifically...increasing silicates helps !
jfynyson is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 05:39 PM   #6
Knotyoureality
Wannabe Guru
 
Knotyoureality's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,049
Default

If you have a sunny window available to you, it's pretty easy to set up an algae farm. I did this for my otocinclus with a 2.5g tank. Filled it with tank water, tossed in about an inch of polished gravel seeded with a bit of substrate from one of my active tanks, added a half dozen relatively flat river rocks (as many as would fit without shading each other) and put it in direct sunlight.

Took a couple weeks to get much algae growth, but once the rocks started turning green on top, I'd pull one out every couple of days to add to the main tank. When possible, I'd pull the rock out before they'd grazed it entirely clean as the algae regrew much faster if there was still a bit left on the surface when it went back.
Knotyoureality is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 05:36 PM   #7
Flear
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Chilliwack, Canada
Posts: 90
Default

silica sand can increase silicates, ... it's something i would honestly prefer to avoid for health reasons.

Edit:
at least i think silica sand would be high in silicates, ... talking about the fine dust that is causing problems
Flear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 09:41 PM   #8
jpappy789
Wannabe Guru
 
jpappy789's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Gainesville, FL
Posts: 1,045
Default

I disagree about silica sand...silicon dioxide is inert for the most part. I've used PFS and play sand in plenty of tanks without seeing any lasting diatom bloom.
__________________
jpappy789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 11:09 PM   #9
puopg
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (14/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 759
Default

Yea lots of light will probably do it. But be warned, you may not get the diatoms you want. Probably will get hair algae and such.
puopg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2013, 10:56 AM   #10
dzega
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Latvia, EU
Posts: 422
Default

i got diatoms when i turned lights off for a few weeks. i believe lots of light will trigger all kind of green algae
dzega is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2013, 12:13 PM   #11
mnemenoi
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
mnemenoi's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Spring, Tx.
Posts: 364
Default

I know a few keepers that have dedicated species tanks for a variety of the hillstream fish and something they have done that I thought was a creative solution to needing biofilm was to buy a kiddy pool from Wal-Mart and leave in the backyard under full sun and just keep swapping large rocks as they cleaned them for a renewable food source. They get covered in biofilm/algae in no time. I'd just suggest putting a few guppies or mosquitofish to eat the mosquito larvae. and maybe a powerhead for water movement.
__________________
"In the land of the blind, the one-eyed man is king" Desiderius Erasmus
mnemenoi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2013, 09:21 PM   #12
Flear
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Chilliwack, Canada
Posts: 90
Default

if you want algae, there is also another way to go about it.

do a ton of research to find out what kind of algae you want, as specific as you can.

search either boreal.com or carolina.com for the algae your looking for, ...

you can find something that agrees with your hillstream loaches diet and preferences and work to culture that for your fish so you'll have a long-lasting solution to your needs
Flear is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012