Filter Overkill
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Equipment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-23-2013, 06:59 AM   #1
King of Hyrule
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
King of Hyrule's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Posts: 487
Default Filter Overkill

I'm replacing the AC50 that currently handling the duty of cleaning the water in my 29G with a Fluval 206.

I have a 10G tank at work, lots of plants, a few fish most notable among them a quarter sized angel. I keep the water clear with a AC20, but I'll have an extra AC50 very shortly.

I'm thinking of switch the AC20 for the AC50. My thought is that it would keep the water as clean, but need less replacement media. I worry that the flow would be too much for the angel.

Is the AC50 over kill for my work 10G?

__________________
Father of the Princess Zelda.
King of Hyrule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 07:12 AM   #2
scotty b
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: denver Colorado
Posts: 926
Default

it will be fine just defuse the output with screen or look into this
http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...d.php?t=303778
scotty b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 07:20 AM   #3
gus6464
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (7/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,569
Default

If you haven't already bought the 206 I would recommend you go one higher on the 29g with a 306. I originally had a 206 in my 29g and flow was meh so I added a 305.
gus6464 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 07:48 AM   #4
mayanjungledog
Geek
 
mayanjungledog's Avatar
 
PTrader: (62/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Nor Cal
Posts: 603
Default

I'm using a 306 and an AC30 on a 20 gallon.

Sent from my Nexus S 4G using Tapatalk 2
mayanjungledog is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 12:50 PM   #5
gSTiTcH
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
gSTiTcH's Avatar
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
Posts: 838
Default

Replacement Media? I haven't replaced the media in my AC for well over a year. Why are you needing such frequent replacement?

Also... an Angel in a 10g? :-/
__________________
RAOK Club #105

Pay It Forward, Further the Community!

It's CO2. See-Oh-Two. Not C02 (see-zero-two).
gSTiTcH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 08:13 PM   #6
King of Hyrule
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
King of Hyrule's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Posts: 487
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gSTiTcH View Post
Replacement Media? I haven't replaced the media in my AC for well over a year. Why are you needing such frequent replacement?

Also... an Angel in a 10g? :-/
Let's just say I learned a lot setup my early dirt'd tanks. The filter has been compensating for my short comings setting up real dirt. I like my water clear...The sponge gets cleaned weekly, and replace when it looks icky. I replace the carbon monthly, or after any water treatment (copper). I've yet to change the bio media. I guess I'll do that maybe once or twice a year.

I like the defuser idea. I need to think about this more.
__________________
Father of the Princess Zelda.
King of Hyrule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 08:37 AM   #7
dprais1
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (12/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: mt prospect
Posts: 906
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by King of Hyrule View Post
Let's just say I learned a lot setup my early dirt'd tanks. The filter has been compensating for my short comings setting up real dirt. I like my water clear...The sponge gets cleaned weekly, and replace when it looks icky. I replace the carbon monthly, or after any water treatment (copper). I've yet to change the bio media. I guess I'll do that maybe once or twice a year.

I like the defuser idea. I need to think about this more.
those ac sponge filters are junk, after a while they get brittle and need to be replaced.

get some poret foam or similiar and it will last forever. This is what I use and it works the same or better and lasts forever.

if you clean it gently in tank water then it will also house tons of good bacteria
__________________
20L My Other Tank: OEBT Shrimp
40B Inlaws Tank: 2 goldfish
75 Main Tank w/ sump: 5 Glossolepis pseudoincisus, 5 Melanotaenia boesemani, 10 Melanotaenia praecox, 5 Melanotaenia lacustris, some cories, a bn pleco and rainbow fish fry
dprais1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 01:38 PM   #8
chocological
Planted Member
 
chocological's Avatar
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: NYC
Posts: 257
Default

I have 2 AC50s running on my 20 gallon.
You should be fine!
chocological is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 02:04 PM   #9
Coldwater King
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Coldwater King's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Illinois
Posts: 384
Default

You can do it. But for the media you should use reusable stuff (this goes to a point if it is stained brown with fish crap and you can't clean it toss it)
__________________

Last edited by Coldwater King; 07-23-2013 at 02:23 PM.. Reason: mis spell
Coldwater King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 08:27 AM   #10
scotty b
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: denver Colorado
Posts: 926
Default

you shouldn't ever need to replace bio media
scotty b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 06:56 PM   #11
talontsiawd
Planted Tank Guru
 
talontsiawd's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Concord, CA
Posts: 4,305
Send a message via AIM to talontsiawd
Default

You should be fine. The AC 50 is nice because it fits a bag of Seachem Purigen in it perfectly.

Another thing you can do is swap the impeller out of your AC 20 and put it on your 50. Actually, the whole motor assembly can just be swapped. Then you get the flow of an AC20 with the capacity of an AC50. I like that better.

Word of warning, don't do the reverse and put the AC50 impeller in the AC20. I did that and when the media started to clog, it overflowed. Putting the smaller impeller on the larger filter gave me no issues for many years, putting the bigger impeller on the smaller filter gave me issues within days.
talontsiawd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 09:14 PM   #12
dprais1
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (12/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: mt prospect
Posts: 906
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by talontsiawd View Post
You should be fine. The AC 50 is nice because it fits a bag of Seachem Purigen in it perfectly.

Another thing you can do is swap the impeller out of your AC 20 and put it on your 50. Actually, the whole motor assembly can just be swapped. Then you get the flow of an AC20 with the capacity of an AC50. I like that better.

Word of warning, don't do the reverse and put the AC50 impeller in the AC20. I did that and when the media started to clog, it overflowed. Putting the smaller impeller on the larger filter gave me no issues for many years, putting the bigger impeller on the smaller filter gave me issues within days.
I have never heard of that but that is a genius idea
__________________
20L My Other Tank: OEBT Shrimp
40B Inlaws Tank: 2 goldfish
75 Main Tank w/ sump: 5 Glossolepis pseudoincisus, 5 Melanotaenia boesemani, 10 Melanotaenia praecox, 5 Melanotaenia lacustris, some cories, a bn pleco and rainbow fish fry
dprais1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2013, 07:23 AM   #13
King of Hyrule
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
King of Hyrule's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Posts: 487
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by talontsiawd View Post

Another thing you can do is swap the impeller out of your AC 20 and put it on your 50. Actually, the whole motor assembly can just be swapped. Then you get the flow of an AC20 with the capacity of an AC50.
Right on!

Monday I expect the 206 for the big tank at home; Tuesday I'll swap in AC50 into the 10G work tank , and downgrade the motor from, the AC50 to the AC20.

side note: I've installed my second AC20 on my work 10G, to see how the angel handles it. She seems fine, but I run it off the same timer that does the light.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gSTiTcH View Post

Also... an Angel in a 10g? :-/

I bought the angel at the local PetCo, for under $5, she was smaller then a dime at the time and white as snow. She spent the first few days hiding. I need/wanted a center piece for the tank. The dwarf puffer was too shy for that roll, and the Draft Albino Cory Cats, where not very exciting during the day time.

The angel is now about the size of a quarter, and orange. She follows me around the tank, and seem to enjoy the attention she gets (no longer hides). When she gets bigger I'll take her home to my 29G tank. (I'm thinking of evicting the current residence - that's another story.

Last edited by King of Hyrule; 07-25-2013 at 10:34 AM.. Reason: adding pictures and text
King of Hyrule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2013, 01:39 AM   #14
King of Hyrule
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
King of Hyrule's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Posts: 487
Default Update: July 26th 2013

The Fluval came early...

Today, I installed the AC50, on to my work 10gal work tank. I switched the impeller from the AC20 into the AC50. The motors are the same for both units only the impeller size is smaller in the AC20.

(I think the AC20, AC30 & AC50 use the same motors, with increasing larger impeller sizes, The AC70 & AC110 use a larger unit, with different sized impellers.)

The water moves slower through the AC50 media than it does the AC20. This might be good thing as my water is calmer. My Angel likes it. There may be a draw back in that the water isn't 'stirred' enough to keep water healthy.

So far so good. I let it run for a while and report back with anything that happens.
__________________
Father of the Princess Zelda.

Last edited by King of Hyrule; 07-27-2013 at 01:40 AM.. Reason: spelling and stuff
King of Hyrule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 08:25 PM   #15
gSTiTcH
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
gSTiTcH's Avatar
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
Posts: 838
Default

You really shouldn't replace the filter media until it's falling apart and can't be cleaned.
__________________
RAOK Club #105

Pay It Forward, Further the Community!

It's CO2. See-Oh-Two. Not C02 (see-zero-two).
gSTiTcH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012