How do you control Ammonia Spikes on a Rescape
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Algae


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-14-2013, 10:33 PM   #1
binbin9
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (22/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Seattle
Posts: 449
Default How do you control Ammonia Spikes on a Rescape

My recent rescape has come at a cost of a handful of shrimps (I should have removed them 1st) and a small out break GSA due to ammonia spikes from pulling out plants.

Can anyone share how you control/minimize ammonia spikes during rescapes?
binbin9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 11:23 PM   #2
Kathyy
Planted Tank Guru
 
Kathyy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (33/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Newbury Park, CA
Posts: 3,096
Default

Rescape, then do a water change vacuuming up debris that came up with the plants? If I remove the hardscape the fish come out of the tank and go into a tub with a heater and my spare filter and I monitor the water until there isn't any ammonia present.
__________________
Kathyy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2013, 01:11 AM   #3
Diana
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Contra Costa CA
Posts: 6,961
Default

1) Remove livestock.
2) Drain the tank.
3) Rescape, misting the plants often.
4) put a plate over the substrate, partially refill, making the water run over the edge of the plate and seep slowly into the substrate. A plastic bag will also work.
5) Drain this, vacuuming the surface substrate.
6) Put a plate over the substrate... ...and fill the tank. Don't forget the dechlor.
7) Turn on the equipment when the water is high enough.
8) Add the livestock back.
Diana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2013, 05:21 PM   #4
HD Blazingwolf
Planted Tank Guru
 
HD Blazingwolf's Avatar
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,907
Default

when i rescape, i do it with tank full of water, then when done i do an 80% change while everything is still floating. if its not still floating i fluff everything with my hands and let the water change do the removal for me.
this is also a prominent time for me to change sump filter pads etc.
__________________
HD Blazingwolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2013, 09:32 PM   #5
binbin9
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (22/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Seattle
Posts: 449
Default

How long would you say it takes for the ammonia levels to subside before adding livestock back in?
binbin9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2013, 02:09 AM   #6
stealthypotatoes
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
stealthypotatoes's Avatar
 
PTrader: (22/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Queens, New York
Posts: 748
Default

I always have marimo balls at hand. When ever I re-scape I always put like 6-7 in them for a couple of months to get it settled.
stealthypotatoes is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ammonia

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012