Substrate Heater
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Equipment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-17-2003, 03:23 PM   #1
Fyre
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Alaska USA (home) and Portland OR USA (college)
Posts: 34
Send a message via AIM to Fyre Send a message via Yahoo to Fyre
Default

Where can I buy one?
Fyre is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-17-2003, 05:05 PM   #2
Raul-7
Wannabe Guru
 
Raul-7's Avatar
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Lomita, CA
Posts: 1,691
Default

You can buy one off http://www.floridadriftwood.com/store...they're pretty expensive, and you have to reconsider if you really need one after all?
Raul-7 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-17-2003, 05:12 PM   #3
Wasserpest
Are these real?
 
Wasserpest's Avatar
 
PTrader: (176/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Monterey, CA
Posts: 15,139
Default

I bought a 300W cable heater at M3 for $60. I connected it to a regular $5 light dimmer, which lets me control the heat output in a continuous fashion. Also, I have it on a timer, so it kicks in only at night, when the lights don't heat the water. I didn't use it much yet, but Winter is coming.
Wasserpest is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-18-2003, 02:17 AM   #4
Fyre
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Alaska USA (home) and Portland OR USA (college)
Posts: 34
Send a message via AIM to Fyre Send a message via Yahoo to Fyre
Default

Well everything I've read seems to indicate that a substrate heater is a good thing to have. Do I need one to have a nice planted tank?
Fyre is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-18-2003, 03:17 AM   #5
DLeDeaux
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
DLeDeaux's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 377
Send a message via ICQ to DLeDeaux Send a message via AIM to DLeDeaux Send a message via MSN to DLeDeaux
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fyre
Do I need one to have a nice planted tank?
Absolutely not. There are probably more people who don't have them and have nice tanks than people who do have them and have nice tanks. If that makes any sense.
__________________
--- Dave ---
DLeDeaux is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-18-2003, 03:23 AM   #6
Rex Grigg
Planted Tank Guru
 
Rex Grigg's Avatar
 
PTrader: (65/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Portland Orygun
Posts: 9,600
Send a message via ICQ to Rex Grigg Send a message via AIM to Rex Grigg
Default

Also consider what plants you are growing. If you have any sword plants or crypts you are going to have problems if you ever have to move them. The roots will get tangled up in the cable in no time.
Rex Grigg is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-18-2003, 03:28 PM   #7
Wasserpest
Are these real?
 
Wasserpest's Avatar
 
PTrader: (176/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Monterey, CA
Posts: 15,139
Default

It's a great idea... gentle nutritious currents, warm feet, and very efficient heat distribution, but I don't think there is hard proof that it actually improves plant growth, much less that it is required to have a planted tank.
I will not use mine for about 8 months of the year because I don't need a heater during that time... If I had to start over, would I use it again? I don't think so, for the very reason that Rex stated.
Wasserpest is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-18-2003, 04:40 PM   #8
GDominy
Planted Tank VIP
 
GDominy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Victoria,British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 3,363
Default

I'd have to agree with Rex here too... Any sort of heavy root feeding plant will wrap itself around the cable, so it can get pretty messy in no time.
GDominy is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-18-2003, 11:32 PM   #9
anonapersona
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,614
Default

On the other hand, if you are using a heater a lot of the time, or have to keep a warm tank, like for discus, bottom heat is something plant nurseries will use to get a jump on growth in the spring.

Will this be for a tank in Oregon or in Alaska?
anonapersona is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
In need to an inexpensive substrate solution aeternum23 Substrate 27 02-11-2010 08:44 PM
Soil Substrate review and coment request pastorww Substrate 5 05-06-2005 01:59 PM
substrate cable heater? nitsuj2k Equipment 15 02-20-2004 09:36 PM
out of tank heater mr hyde Equipment 10 08-20-2003 03:30 PM
Nutrients in Substrate aquaphish General Planted Tank Discussion 6 03-10-2003 02:48 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012