Canister filter or just a penguin biowheel for a 20 gal long
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Equipment

Old 11-13-2003, 03:21 AM   #1
Gyo
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)

I am new to the aquarium hobby and I currently have a 15 gallon eclipse tank and hood. I really like the look of a 20 gallon long tank and I am wondering if it is necessary to run a canister filter or will a penguin biowheel be plenty for this size tank. This is going to be a heavily planted tank with a JBJ Formosa SS-JD2 65 watt light and a pressurized CO2 system.
If a canister filter would be best please give me your recommendations. The following is a list of the ones I have read about on this forum:
1) FilStar XP1
2) Fluval MSF 104
3) Eheim ECCO 2231
Thanks for taking the time to answer my questions.
Gyo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2003, 03:36 AM   #2
Rex Grigg
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (65/100%)
Send a message via ICQ to Rex Grigg Send a message via AIM to Rex Grigg

Hmm.... skip the Bio-Wheel because it will out-gas the CO2 as fast as you inject it. If you want a HOB filter get a Aqua Clear 150 or 200. But If it were me I would get a Rena XP-2. Why a 2 and not a 1? Well the 2 has twice as much media capacity and will run a CO2 reactor quite well.
Rex Grigg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2003, 12:08 PM   #3
m.lemay
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (9/100%)

I'll second Rexs' reccomendation.

Marcel
FILSTAR Pimp #2

75 gal heavily planted,50/50 Black beauty,Eco-complete substrate, Pressurised CO2 with solenoid, ph controller, AB Reactor 1000, 330 watts 9325K GE PC lighting,Ehiem Liquidoser, 2-Filstar xp3 canisters.
m.lemay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2003, 12:53 PM   #4
GulfCoastAquarian
Planted Tank VIP

PTrader: (6/100%)