What's the best HOB for a nano?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > Planted Nano Tanks


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-02-2013, 11:54 PM   #1
assasin6547
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
assasin6547's Avatar
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Broomfield, CO
Posts: 726
Default What's the best HOB for a nano?

The filter that came with my 5 gallon acrylic sucks... I need a new one. What do you guys/gals recommend?
__________________
How I feel about non-planted aquariums.
assasin6547 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 12:00 AM   #2
chris.rivera3
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (134/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Glendale, CA
Posts: 966
Default

What are the dimensions of the tank?

Cube - AquaClear 20 (AC20)
Rectangular - AquaClear 30 (AC30)
chris.rivera3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 12:08 AM   #3
bankruptjojo
Planted Member
 
bankruptjojo's Avatar
 
PTrader: (10/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: KCMO
Posts: 244
Default

for tanks that size i usually use sponge filters. i do have a 8 gallon betta tank that i use a zoomed canister filter on... just a suggestion, if not id get the smallest aquaclear filter.

keep in mind if this is for small fish or shrimp they can get sucked into the filter if there is no pre filter sponge on the intake.
__________________
8g Fluval 1M CT Betta
125g 5 Blood parrots, 1 Green Severum, 8 Dension Barbs, 10 Yoyo Loaches, 1 RTS
75g Angelfish, 3 EBGR, 4 Siames Alage Eaters, 12 Harlequin Rasboars, 1 BN Pleco, 1 Swordtail
33g long cherry shrimp, 8 pygmy corys, 5 ottos
15g 2 GBR
bankruptjojo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 12:17 AM   #4
assasin6547
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
assasin6547's Avatar
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Broomfield, CO
Posts: 726
Default

It's a bowfront, about 16" long, 8 deep and 8 high something like that. I feel that an AC30 is a little too big, and some reviewers say the 20 isn't as good as the 30. Maybe I'll just do a sponge filter, after all it isn't meant to be a show tank.
__________________
How I feel about non-planted aquariums.
assasin6547 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 12:19 AM   #5
somewhatshocked
Obsessed? Maybe
 
somewhatshocked's Avatar
 
PTrader: (426/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 11,353
Default

If you go with Aquaclear, get the 30. You can cut the intake pipe down to the appropriate size.

I'm running them on most of my 5gal tanks and think they're perfect. Media area is larger than the AC20, so you can more easily fit a bag of Purigen in there (or extra media of your choice).
somewhatshocked is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 12:55 AM   #6
discuspaul
Planted Tank Guru
 
discuspaul's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 2,145
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by somewhatshocked View Post
If you go with Aquaclear, get the 30. You can cut the intake pipe down to the appropriate size.

I'm running them on most of my 5gal tanks and think they're perfect. Media area is larger than the AC20, so you can more easily fit a bag of Purigen in there (or extra media of your choice).
Agree.
discuspaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 12:26 AM   #7
bankruptjojo
Planted Member
 
bankruptjojo's Avatar
 
PTrader: (10/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: KCMO
Posts: 244
Default

if you think the 30 is to strong get the 20. my shrimp tank has a 20 on it and its fine. i guess the 30 will give you more room for media but i always use 2 sponges and some bio media...
__________________
8g Fluval 1M CT Betta
125g 5 Blood parrots, 1 Green Severum, 8 Dension Barbs, 10 Yoyo Loaches, 1 RTS
75g Angelfish, 3 EBGR, 4 Siames Alage Eaters, 12 Harlequin Rasboars, 1 BN Pleco, 1 Swordtail
33g long cherry shrimp, 8 pygmy corys, 5 ottos
15g 2 GBR
bankruptjojo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 12:29 AM   #8
sayurasem
SCAPEr
 
sayurasem's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Loma Linda, CA
Posts: 2,558
Default

AC 30 would be perfect. Much more space for media and you can lower the gph output.
sayurasem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 12:32 AM   #9
Green_Flash
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (7/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 1,733
Default

Ac20
Green_Flash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 01:08 AM   #10
bankruptjojo
Planted Member
 
bankruptjojo's Avatar
 
PTrader: (10/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: KCMO
Posts: 244
Default

this is a 5 gallon tank how much media does it really need? a AC 20 is over kill... he is worried about the flow being to strong.... yes you can adjust it but only so much.
__________________
8g Fluval 1M CT Betta
125g 5 Blood parrots, 1 Green Severum, 8 Dension Barbs, 10 Yoyo Loaches, 1 RTS
75g Angelfish, 3 EBGR, 4 Siames Alage Eaters, 12 Harlequin Rasboars, 1 BN Pleco, 1 Swordtail
33g long cherry shrimp, 8 pygmy corys, 5 ottos
15g 2 GBR
bankruptjojo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 02:37 AM   #11
somewhatshocked
Obsessed? Maybe
 
somewhatshocked's Avatar
 
PTrader: (426/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 11,353
Default

Flow turned all the way down on an AC30 is so low that you could run it on a tank only six inches tall with no problem at all.

It's also not about the amount of filter media you have but the kind you have - more room gives you more options. Purigen comes in a 100ml pillow that's tough to fit in an AC20 without removing existing media. The AC30 is also much more quiet than the AC20... and you can use an AC20 impeller if you so desire - further cutting flow.
somewhatshocked is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 02:52 AM   #12
discuspaul
Planted Tank Guru
 
discuspaul's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 2,145
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by somewhatshocked View Post
Flow turned all the way down on an AC30 is so low that you could run it on a tank only six inches tall with no problem at all.

It's also not about the amount of filter media you have but the kind you have - more room gives you more options. Purigen comes in a 100ml pillow that's tough to fit in an AC20 without removing existing media. The AC30 is also much more quiet than the AC20... and you can use an AC20 impeller if you so desire - further cutting flow.
Once again, I have to agree.
discuspaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 03:03 AM   #13
bankruptjojo
Planted Member
 
bankruptjojo's Avatar
 
PTrader: (10/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: KCMO
Posts: 244
Default Re: What's the best HOB for a nano?

Quote:
Originally Posted by somewhatshocked View Post
Flow turned all the way down on an AC30 is so low that you could run it on a tank only six inches tall with no problem at all.

It's also not about the amount of filter media you have but the kind you have - more room gives you more options. Purigen comes in a 100ml pillow that's tough to fit in an AC20 without removing existing media. The AC30 is also much more quiet than the AC20... and you can use an AC20 impeller if you so desire - further cutting flow.
Is the flow from the 20 smaller then the 30? Yes... His concern was flow not adding purgen. Im going to make a broad statement, most people Dont use purgen.

Switching the impeller is a neat idea but why... He doesn't have a spare impeller laying around. If you have to buy the filter who wants to buy a new impeller also?

I have a 20 & 30 and there is no noise diff in mine. My ac110 is the loudest...

flow seems to be his biggest concern. So I recommend the ac20. It is good to note that you need a ac30 if u want purgen.
__________________
8g Fluval 1M CT Betta
125g 5 Blood parrots, 1 Green Severum, 8 Dension Barbs, 10 Yoyo Loaches, 1 RTS
75g Angelfish, 3 EBGR, 4 Siames Alage Eaters, 12 Harlequin Rasboars, 1 BN Pleco, 1 Swordtail
33g long cherry shrimp, 8 pygmy corys, 5 ottos
15g 2 GBR
bankruptjojo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 02:06 PM   #14
somewhatshocked
Obsessed? Maybe
 
somewhatshocked's Avatar
 
PTrader: (426/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 11,353
Default

This isn't an argument. Merely pointing out the pros/cons.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bankruptjojo View Post
Is the flow from the 20 smaller then the 30? Yes... His concern was flow not adding purgen. Im going to make a broad statement, most people Dont use purgen.

Switching the impeller is a neat idea but why... He doesn't have a spare impeller laying around. If you have to buy the filter who wants to buy a new impeller also?

I have a 20 & 30 and there is no noise diff in mine. My ac110 is the loudest...

flow seems to be his biggest concern. So I recommend the ac20. It is good to note that you need a ac30 if u want purgen.
somewhatshocked is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 02:52 AM   #15
Neatfish
Wannabe Guru
 
Neatfish's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: TX
Posts: 1,402
Default

I use a AC70 on my 3g picotope but it's pretty high flow. maybe try AC50?
Neatfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012